We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No need to look elsewhere cause this is the best hotel x” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham New Yorker Hotel to your Saves list
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #233 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“No need to look elsewhere cause this is the best hotel x”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I was looked after from start to finish! The rooms were immaculate and quite spacious, the bath is amazing as was the view of the empire state building! It dont get much better, the staff were very very helpful and friendly.
Honestly it really is worth staying in :-)
I hope to go back one day and would definitely stay at the new yorker as well as recommend it xxxx

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,041
    2,825
    1,022
    283
    180
See reviews for
1,564
2,295
345
710
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Visiting New York then you need only to look at one hotel...The New Yorker. Excellent midtown location. 2 Blocks from Macy's & the Empire State Building. 1 Block from MSG & Pennsylvania Station. The hotel is as Iconic as the rest of the city. Retro chic design the lobby is a hive of activity. You would expect to see Marilyn Monroe & Joe DiMaggio checking in. The place is steeped in 20th Century History. JFK, Muhammad Ali, Nikolai Tesla, The Clinton's & FDR among it's many celebrity former guests.Look out of your Bedroom window and see first hand the city that never sleeps. Visit the most exciting city in the world by staying in the Hotel that captures the spirit of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for an Empire State view where possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnl
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The New Yorker Hotel was a great hotel, the rooms were clean and lovely and the beds were dead comfortable. The food in the adjacent Tick Tock diner was just so so but the service was good and nothing was too much trouble. There was another bar and more upmarket restaurant where we ate and the food was great, we had no complaints at all.
I travelled alone with my young daughter and we both found the hotel, restaurant and New York experience to be first class, the hotel staff were very knowledgable and went out of their way to help. Travelling to New York may be a bit of a daunting experience for a first timer as the pace is super fast but this hotel was an oasis in a storm. There was no pool to review.

Room Tip: We were upgraded on arrival to a room with a better view free of charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Loved the hotel, stayed in a suite and it was fantastic. The location is excellent, and if you are into historic travelling this is the place to stay. The building itself is full of history, imagine Tesla stayed there in the 30's. The rooms are old (this is an historical building) but comfortable, the view from the balcony breathtaking, and the service is good. I recommend eating breakfast at the Tick Tock Diner, it's good and affordable, plus it's open 24/7, which is nice after coming back tired and famished.

Room Tip: Be extra nice, it might get you an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights as the 1st part of our honeymoon. We chose this hotel due to its location and reviews on trip advisor and were not disappointed. The location was fab!! within in walking distance of pretty much everything (empire state building, times square, centarl park, rockafeller building etc). The room was very clean and we had an excellant view of the empire state building (room 1940), the only down side is the rooms are on the small side and the bathroom is very squashed (definately not enough room for 2 in there). Other than that cannot fault the hotel. Oh and the diner attached to the hotel (tic tock diner) is afab place for breakfast.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My reservation was for a suite. I could not get 2 beds in a regular room. All of them were booked. When I checked in, I asked if there was a 2 bed in a regular window available. Instead of a regular room with 2 beds, they upgraded us to a suite (no additional charge) that had a balcony with view, bedroom with 2 queen beds, a full bath, walk in closet and flat screen TV. The suite also had a den with a refrigerator, closet, a full bath, sofa bed, desk, and flat screen TV. Mohammed was so accommodating. Joking with him, we said the only thing we did not have was a coffee maker. Well, in about an hour, we had a coffee maker. I love this hotel. I have been staying here off and on for 15 years. Security is premium and the Tic Tock Diner has great food. I was here for 9-11, and the black out. The hotel made sure all guests were looked after and safe. Thank you New Yorker for another great week!!

Room Tip: Our room was quiet and large. Ask for a small suite. The price is right. If you upgrade the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Address: 481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in New York City
#44 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#132 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#154 Family Hotel in New York City
#194 Business Hotel in New York City
#198 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1024
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, BookIt.com, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.