We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wyndham New Yorker Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Garment District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #216 of 452 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Elmwood Park, New Jersey
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I had originally booked 2 rooms at the Hotel Pennsylvania for myself and friends from Scotland. When we arrived at the hotel they acknowledged we had booked but said they were oversold and would not honor my reservation.They were extremely rude. They did not offer to walk us over or a cab. We had to walk the 2 very long blocks with our luggage. They told us to go to the New Yorker. When we got to the New Yorker the people could not have been nicer. They immediately got us 2 rooms and let us check in at 10:30 in the morning. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The diner attached to the hotel was wonderful. All in all in was a great experience and I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,751 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,876
    2,585
    896
    242
    152
See reviews for
1415
2121
301
620
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Nice hotel, clean, well serviced. We changed one room as it was so small and it was no bother. Good diner and restraint attached, diner is 24hr. Good service all round. Would go back. Great position for Maddison sq garden and subways.

Room Tip: If room is small just ask for another
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ewen, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was a great experience from valet parking with











This was a great experience from valet parking our car with
Hector,to the front desk check in with Onelia Green to the beautiful suite with a view of everything! The room was beautiful,decorated in art deco(a personal favorite of mine) and the facilities were terrific. I agree the beds were super comfortable and the choices in the breakfast room were varied and delicious. All in all,a brief business trip became a mini vacation! I would choose this hotel for location,price and great value.

Room Tip: Corner suites are luxurious and the views can't be beaten
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We decided on a long weekend in NY to see a Broadway show and chose the New Yorker because of location. Unfortunately we were not that impressed with the room itself. It was very small and cramped and the bathroom was equally small. We did have a nice view of the Hudson River but would have rather had a room where we had some place to sit other than the bed. True there was a chair at a desk but there was no room to pull the chair.
The lobby, shop, bar and restaurant we nice and we used the business center as well. All were very well maintained. I can't say the reception folks were that friendly to us upon arrival but the bar and sundry shop staff made up for them.
If you are looking for a place with a fantastic location and don't care about room size then this is a good hotel - although even the location didn't make it a value in my opinion.
We had two small complaints - someone was hammering and drilling in the room next to us and we had to call the front desk so we could take a nap. I believe they were rehabbing the room. And the hair dryer kept over heating after only 30 seconds - but we called the front desk and they brought us another one.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of room before you commit - make sure you're okay with it. It's nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We chose this based on value for money and location and reviews on Tripadvisor. The hotel is centrally located near Penn Station and the subway and a few blocks from Time Square and close to numerous stores. It is an older style hotel but has character and is immaculate. The entire staff - from the Front Desk, to the luggage handlers including the Transportation and Concierge were all friendly and helpful. We had a small issue with our room but Mohammed the manager insisted that we move and we got upgraded to a suite overlooking the entire Manhattan skyline with the Empire State Building in full view - what a treat. The beds are super comfy. This is a hotel I would definitely recommend to others. Both our rooms were quiet so no issues there. The New Yorker embraces the feel of New York!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view - it might cost a few dollars more but is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Arrived late in the evening and initially we were given a room overlooking the river. We particularly wanted a room with a view of the Empire State Building and the next morning a member of the check in staff very kindly changed our room. Although the room was smaller, the fabulous view more than compensated.
We had prebooked hop on hop off bus tours. However we found, due to heavy traffic, it was quicker to walk to some attractions in midtown.
I would particularly recommend the boat trip around lower Manhatten which was one attraction included in our bus tour deal.
There was a diner and a restaurant in the hotel.The restaurant was very pleasant although a little too expensive for us. We thought the Tick Tock Diner was ideal. It was open 24/7, reasonably priced, had a varied menu and was very popular with residents and non-residents alike. Our only criticism was the portions were enormous, way too much for the normal appetite.
Would definately recommend this hotel, it was clean, comfortable and the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: I would recommend the rooms on the higher floors with a view to the east
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Address: 481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#26 Green Hotel in New York City
#124 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#138 Family Hotel in New York City
#189 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#201 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.