We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4-star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham New Yorker Hotel to your Saves list
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #235 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not a 4-star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location, but it should not be listed as a 4-star hotel. The rooms were tiny (a bed and dresser took up most of the space) but tidy. The location was excellent; there was a tasty 24 hr diner next door. The value and location were great, but this hotel should be listed as a 3-star hotel.

Room Tip: Try the diner next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,042
    2,827
    1,023
    283
    180
See reviews for
1,565
2,297
345
711
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at The New Yorker many times because it is within walking distance to the Javits and the rates are reasonable. It is also close to Times Square and Madison Square Gardens, and there is a Duane Reade right across the street for the forgotten toiletries! I'm not a hotel snob so I think the hotel is fine, but if you're use to hotel luxury, this is not the hotel for you. It's clean and the staff is friendly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We got to the hotel about two hours early and they let us check in as soon as we got there. I had emailed them before I went requesting a high room, when I got there we were upgraded to City View room, which was absolutely massive. The beds were comfortable, you could get free wifi in the room, and the shower was very powerful but took ages to get to the right temperature. The views from the room were absolutely amazing.

It is in a great location. Easy walking distance to the Empire state building and Times Square. It is a great base to discover NY.

We ate the breakfast at the Tick Tock Diner every morning, we really liked it in there but the standards of food did seem to vary each day. All the waiters were very friendly.

Will defiantly be recommending this hotel to others!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed in a premier suite, which had a separate bedroom, a balcony, a kitchenette, and two bathrooms. The furnishings were fine, although the entire room gave the impression that the carpets and bathrooms might use a little updating. The balcony was huge and lovely. There was a strange odor in the hall that I couldn't put my finger on. Exceptional value for what we paid--we went on a special deal. Great location between Penn Station and Times square. Be careful about valet parking, though--when you retrieve your car they park it on the other side of the bike lane. Look to make sure no bikes are coming when you cross and watch out for speeding bikers who aren't paying attention. Good option to stay in NYC.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was amazing! Perfect location- 1/2block from Penn Station, and convenient to everything. Tons of restraunts and shopping all around the hotel. Easy to catch subways to anywhere steps from hotel, easy walk to Times Square area, cheap to taxi to anywhere in Manhatten, since it's so centrally located. The attached Tic Tock Diner is open 24 hrs a day with a great menu selection. The hotel was very nice - with great views from our room of the city. The staff was absolutely Amazing! The best I've ever encountered... Everyone we met, from front desk, to bell hops, to concierge and doormen was so friendly and helpful. Loved it! Will definitely be back! Special Kudos to Rayvonne at front desk!

Room Tip: Pay the additional for an upgrade to a suite if able. The first room was fairly small, as would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The New Yorker Hotel for 9 nights last December for our long anticipated honeymoon. The staff were extremely welcoming and it was perfectly situated for everything in New York. It is particular conveniently placed for Penn Station (which can take you anywhere you fancy!), 'Best Bagel...And Coffee' (THE best bagel place EVER but sadly the WORST coffee) and the incredible lights of Times Square (close enough to be convenient but far away enough to enjoy your slumber!). I would also like to recommend the Hotel shop which sells all the typical NYC souveniers at a reasonable price; we bought most of our gifts for friends and family from here!

The hotel is a perfect base to explore New York and has a certain charm about it, in a kind of Art Deco dated way! Perhaps not to everyone's taste!

We would like to give special thanks to the hospitality of the hotel concierge who was kind enough to upgrade us to the suite for our stay; it made an already very special trip unforgettable and we cannot thank you enough for this extra touch,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Address: 481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in New York City
#31 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#133 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#158 Family Hotel in New York City
#194 Business Hotel in New York City
#201 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1024
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.