We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham New Yorker Hotel to your Saves list
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #232 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

What a fantastic hotel. Full of history and the location was just perfect! Yes the rooms are smallish but we didn't need anything else. We stayed on the 25th floor and had a wonderful view of the Empire State Building. Would recommend this hotel to everyone. We can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,041
    2,824
    1,022
    282
    179
See reviews for
1,562
2,295
345
710
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Old style hotel. The hotel is huge, the rooms are big. The location is great near broadway and the shopping area. U can shop in Macy's and leave the bags at your room in a min. If the price is ok ill recommended it. Ask for a high floor room to see the view.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Second time at this hotel, treated better than the first time. Tv was not working in the room I had reserved, we were moved to a suite with enough space and comfort to make us very happy. Front desk personnel was very helpful and courteous (Reachel) and also bellboy Luis, he took care of our luggage, after a late checkout, while we went shopping.
Location, Location, Location!! Close to everything they wanted to see and experience. Walking distance to Penn Station. Great that they also have two restaurants - the dinner open 24 hours. Also gave us good tips about getting theater tickets.
Will go back again.
Thank you to all the staff!!

Room Tip: Corner suites and higher floors - make reservations direct to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braxton, MS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great location, very nice and helpful staff. Very clean. We were suppose to get a view room but ended up getting a larger room with a very nice size bathroom, refrigerator, and sleeper chair. The view was of Madison Square Garden. The room was very very clean. The bathroom was a little dated but was clean. The decor was like old New York. Very much made the experience so much more!!! Our room upgrade was at no additional charge!! Mohammad was wonderful. Called after we got to the room to make sure we were completely satisfied. The subway was right there. We ate at Coopers Tavern and it was wonderful! Saw poor reviews for Coopers Tavern but we thought it was great. Sure a little pricey but you are in New York. No higher than anywhere else.Would definately recommend this hotel and will stay there again. Was wonderful, no complaints. Very clean [ I am a nurse and very particular about cleanliness]!!! NO BEDBUGS!! Also had a drugstore across the street which was nice for picking up items you need such as water or other items. Good location. Can go to all the main sites in just a few minutes!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I've been traveling to NYC for business the last several months and had been reserving my New Yorker reservations through a travel site other than the hotel's website. Onelia happened to check me in one evening and said, "Hey, next time, call us direct and we can find you a good room." And she was right! I now make reservations direct and Onelia always takes care of me. The whole front desk staff is great so if you can't talk to Onelia, make friends with one of the others. They will take care of you!

Room Tip: Just ask for a quieter room. If they have one available, they will likely give it to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were at the ny hotel for 5 nights in oct.-12, two adults. Asked for a room on High levels and got 37'th floor- view is amazing. Room is small- normal for nyc, but it is clean- feels safe and doesnt smell of mold:-) the location is perfect- just 50 m from penn st. Walking distance to times sq., empire state is just down the block. Food at Tick Tock diner is good- efficient staff serving hundreds for breakfast. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a clean hotel in a central location- without spending your whole budget in one night :-) be sure to go to Shake shack just down the road- gooood burgers!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Address: 481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in New York City
#45 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#132 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#153 Family Hotel in New York City
#193 Business Hotel in New York City
#198 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1024
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, BookIt.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.