We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a grand old dame” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wyndham New Yorker Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Garment District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #194 of 446 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“a grand old dame”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Long line at check in, but most of the staff was very nice and helpful. Our suite was pretty tiny but clean. The beds were comfortable, but the towels were small and thin. Nice view. Didnt appreciate the duct tape holding up the wall paper in our hall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny Y, Manager at Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. I was concerned to hear about your experience with our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs, and I was disappointed to hear about the problems you encountered. For quality control purposes and to prevent a future possible lapse in service, I would like to please request more information regarding your experience. I know that does not change your experience but I hope that you can feel confident that we heard your concern and are definitely doing something about it.

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,967 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,013
    2,695
    866
    253
    140
See reviews for
1232
1932
261
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
parker, co
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We checked in the day before Thanksgiving and were fortunate enough to have Mohammed at the front desk. My husband mentioned it being our daughter's first time in New York City. We had requested a roll-away for her prior to arrival. Mohammed upgraded our room so we had additional space for her and wanted our trip to be "special and memorable." In addition, he helped with directions, restaurant suggestions and helpful parade information. I haven't seen customer service like this in a long time. Mohammed went above and beyond. We have recommended this hotel to friends and family and hope to stay there again. We had a fantastic trip.

Room Tip: 40th floor was quiet and the views speak for themselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny Y, Manager at Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy that our staff was able to make your stay with your family special. Mohammed is a great leader on our front desk team and always do whatever he can to make each stay special. Thank you so much for the kind words on our staff and service, great feedback like yours gives us even more motivation to strive for the best. We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great hotel in the heart of mid-town.

Hotel has character and style of the 1960's, I slipped back into the world of Mad-Men.

Staff are very friendly

Clean and tidy rooms, and mine had an amazing view of the city

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny Y, Manager at Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. There is nothing better than getting great guest feedback. Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff, we look forward to passing on the positive feedback to them! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NASHVILLE
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I booked this hotel on Priceline. It was listed as a 4* hotel and with taxes & fees it was $296/nt. (It was pre-Christmas and a very expensive time in NYC. The hotel was sold-out.)

The lobby was 5*. Wow! I figured this place was going to be fabulous.

The desk clerk was rude and surly.

The room was terribly disappointing. It was tiny--which I would expect for NYC--but it was closer to a 2* room than 4*. Simply nothing attractive or upscale. No coffee or tea in the room. The bathroom was claustrophobic and had no place to put my toiletries.

I'm guessing I gotten one of the worst rooms because of it being through Priceline.

I did like the location & the diner attached to the lobby. But would not stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have stayed at the New Yorker twice in the last couple of years. The first time we had a perfectly framed view of the Empire State Building. The second time we had a suite that was spacious and comfortable. The staff went out of their way to be accommodating. The man serving the Continental Breakfast served us before he was fully open and the night bellman made special effort to ensure we had a ride to the airport when we left very early in the morning. We expected a taxi, but were pleasantly surprised to find a town car waiting. The front desk and house keeping staff were friendly and helpful also. We loved the diner that is attached to the hotel. The location is convenient. The New Yorker is a good value in an expensive city. Staying there enhanced our trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in a New Yorker suite sleeping 5 people. After a jumpy start we had a lovely stay. Upon check in the lady there wanted $24 extra plus taxes per night because there were 5 adults in our party. When I booked our room I liaised with the person who runs their facebook page and he told me when booking to input 4 people into the reservation page and I could put a comment on the reservation explaining that there were 5 people in our party and he said that the rooms were charged by night not by how many were in the party so there would be no charge. The lady named Ana just grunted when I explained this to her. We found her rude! Needless to say we did not pay extra.
Our room was lovely and clean if a little small but thankfully had 2 bathrooms which was a godsend while trying to get ready each morning. We ate at the tick tock diner only once and found it nice. The saving grace for this hotel is the location 1 block from macys and directly across the street from penn station. It's such a good base for exploring New York City.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

went for 5 days, lovely hotel was automatically upgarded to a room with a view of the empire state, very clean and tidy room, friendly staff, the only thing wrong is all the tipping everyone expects, really gets on your nerves....nice place to visit would be better in the summer...

Room Tip: ask for a view of the empire state you may get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Also Known As:
New Yorker Hotel
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New Yorker
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New York
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York
Address: 481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in New York City
#108 Family Hotel in New York City
#109 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#186 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Priceline, Wyndham, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.