We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better only after complaining but could of been bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham New Yorker Hotel to your Saves list
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #265 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Better only after complaining but could of been bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We heard From the reviews that rooms could be a problem here some being very small but thought this wont happen to us as We picked this hotel for the panoramic views on offer from a suite room. We arrived early to get a good room and were given a room with one view of a brick wall . It took three hours to eventually get changed to another room , they acknowledged this was still not the right room , the toilet was so small even our average sizes could sit there ...though the next night we were given a much better room which we loved. It's such a shame when the first night went so wrong and we lost so much time on our limited visit to NY to sort it out. I wonder if we will stay here again, we would like to , when its right it is good here but are unsure what would happen as the reviews show we are not alone with this problem and in reception when we came back to complain we were not alone.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny Y, Manager at Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We do value all feedback from our guests, both positive and negative, as this is the only way to ensure we continue to grow and evolve as a business.
I hope you can take the opportunity to contact me at your convenience so I may address your comments. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,448
    3,393
    1,264
    360
    227
See reviews for
1,997
2,712
398
866
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel is nothing special but perfectly adequate for what we wanted. The only real problem we had was the reception staff seem unable to tell people to stop pushing in the queue. It is very frustrating to have travelled for hours and for rude people to push in and not be told to get to the back of the queue.
Rooms: Small, but ok. They are not that well soundproofed but adequate if people dont have yelled conversations down the corridors when coming back drunk.
Location is great: close to Empire State Building, Penn Station and Times Square

Room Tip: You can ask for a quiet room, this will mean you don't get a good view so it's your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We booked this hotel through Travelzoo, getting a great deal on a suite. I requested as high up as possible and was given a room on the top 40th floor with great river and city views. The room had fridge with water and cokes and drinks machine for tea/coffee making, extras availble via the maid service. The room and sitting room were warm, clean, pleasently furnished and comfortable, a real sanctuary for the hustle and bustle of the city. The staff in the hotel, diner and bar were friendly, polite and helpful, throughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend booking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Excellent hotel, nice big rooms. Very clean and tidy and situated in great spot. Just down the road from Madison square garden. And just a short walk from Empire State. The staff are very helpful and polite. The foods very good in the restaurant and Also a great
Bar

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The New Yorker Hotel aka Ramada-Plaza, is part of the Wyndham chain.
I recently had the opportunity to stay at the historic New Yorker while attending a conference at the nearby Javits Convention Center. The New Yorker is very convenient to a number of attractions and venues in mid-town Manhattan, located as it is at 34th and 8th. Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, Macy’s, Herald Square and the aforementioned Javits Center just to name a few. In addition, there are a plethora of nearby restaurants, easily 50+ places to eat within a two block radius around the hotel. These restaurants include the Tick Tock Diner and Cooper’s, both on the hotel grounds adjacent to the main lobby, as well as the Stage Door deli within less than a block. One of the main attractions of the New Yorker is simply its history, of which almost all the staff seem to be blissfully unaware, and the hotel misses the boat on an excellent marketing opportunity if they would include a short blurb in the in-room notebooks (sorry, English only despite English speakers being apparently a minority of the guests) or in a pamphlet available at the front desk. There’s a lot of history with the New Yorker, once one of the best hotels in Manhattan. Visitors can find a Wikipedia history entry at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Yorker_Hotel. The hotel was built in 1928 and interestingly among the many facts, it was the home of the genius Nikola Tesla for the last 10 years of his life, 1933 - 1943. He lived in Room 3327 and used adjacent 3328 as his study. Both rooms are still available for occupancy. The hotel is considered mid-level to be moderately priced by New York standards and is very comfortable, with large rooms, and an unfailingly friendly staff. Numerous renovations over the years have kept the hotel up to modern standards. A well-equipped fitness center is included for the athletic types, there’s free wi-fi (an absolute must in today’s world), and a small and well-equipped business center. I found The New Yorker a delight and despite modernization still has remnants of its past, art-deco glory. The New Yorker is highly recommended, centrally located, reasonably priced, and comfortable.

Room Tip: New York can be a noisy place. If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room that might be blocked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Room was spacious, but the remodeling stopped there. Bathroom was old with painted tile which was peeling. Toilet was an antique, stained and grungy. Had to request a coffee maker and the hairdryer didn't work. No mini bar or refrigerator. Impossible to call front desk as the line was always busy.Lots of street noise even though we were on the 32nd floor.Tick-tock diner was conveniently located in the hotel and it came in handy as we were there during the Nor-easter and the weather was nasty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#284 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 5,395 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#208 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#96 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,162 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#332 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 4,928 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#176 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 6,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Address: 481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Green Hotel in New York City
#160 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#170 Family Hotel in New York City
#219 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#224 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Hotwire, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.