We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wyndham New Yorker Hotel to your Saves list
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Garment District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #226 of 455 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Room was spacious, but the remodeling stopped there. Bathroom was old with painted tile which was peeling. Toilet was an antique, stained and grungy. Had to request a coffee maker and the hairdryer didn't work. No mini bar or refrigerator. Impossible to call front desk as the line was always busy.Lots of street noise even though we were on the 32nd floor.Tick-tock diner was conveniently located in the hotel and it came in handy as we were there during the Nor-easter and the weather was nasty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,938
    2,675
    949
    262
    162
See reviews for
1,473
2,194
316
657
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
risca gwent
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great place to stay in New York stayed here in August 2012. Very clean and comfortable hotel close to Empire State Building, Penn Station and Times Square. Staff very friendly, rooms cleaned every day and two restaurants 'Tick Tock Diner and Coopers Tavern were excellent and good value for money. Even though New York is the city that never sleeps we always had a good night sleep in the comfy beds!! Would definitely go back to this hotel and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great place to stay in New York. Art Deco style rooms. Very clean and comfortable. Rooms not over large but perfectly adequate. Tick Tock diner attached to the hotel serves great food all day. Great location-worth paying the extra few dollars a night for a room with a view of the Empire State Building or the Hudson River.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at the New Yorker from the 09th - 12th November 2012. The hotel is a 20 min car journey from Newark Airport and a ten minutes walking distance from the Empire State Building, Macy's and Times Square.

Upon arrival check in was quick and requests for coffee & tea making facilties for our group of six in each room was honoured. We also asked for a room upgrade for one of our of party as it was a special occasion. The room was upgraded to a larger room with a view of the Hudson plus a small box of chocolates were presented, a nice touch!

The rooms are small, to be expected as it is New York and space is a premium! However the rooms were clean, newly refurbished and the bed was very comfortable. My room upon entering had a strong smell of smoke. I reported this to reception who were surprised as it is a non smoking hotel. However they changed my room no questions asked and the next room was fine.

Attached to the hotel is a small diner caled Tick Tock and we had breakfast there every morning. It was clean, the food was delicious and the staff excellent. It is very busy so try and turn up early in order to get a table. The concierge sorted out our New York Pass and assisted us with where to get tickets for the hop on and off buses that tour the city - a must to see everything! They also sorted out out thearte tickets. We saw Mamma Mia and the tickets start at around $140 -200. We booked our tickets and got them for $99 each, a bargin. The concierge - Susie was a lovely lady, very knowledgeable and extremely helpful.

We organised an SUV to take us back to the airport and this was $145, so around $25 each. It was quick and easy to organise at the Transportation desk in the hotel and the driver was excellent. I had also organised a limo to pick us up at the airport which I had ordered from the hotel via email prior to our trip. They kept in contact prior to the flight and were waiting for us at the airport as we exited the arrival lounge. On our last day we placed our bags with the bell boys as we had chekced out of our rooms. For a couple of dollars they place them in a secure room which allowed us to go shopping without having to cart our luggage around.

I cannot pick fault with the hotel or the experience we had during our stay. The the hotel is old and full of character. It is well maintained and the traditional art decor style is consistent throughout every floor. There is a gift shop downstairs and seemed competitive. Even though the rooms are small we spent so little time in them, all that mattered is that the bed was comfortable and it was!

##Be advised the Statue of Liberty is closed due to storm damage to the piers so boats cannot dock but you can still visit water taxi/ferry and get close enough for photos##

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade when you check in - if they have anything available you will get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Any hotel that's only steps from the subway is alright in my book. Room was typical size for NY. Nice bed & bedding. Good AC/heat controls. Nice TV. Good lighting for reading in bed. Bath was small but adequate. All very clean. Elevators were quick. Requested mini-fridge at check-in & it was quickly delivered. Used the gym (better than most hotels) every day. This is our 3rd stay at the New Yorker & we'll book again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here during our visit to NYC last month. We booked a metro room and when we checked-in, we asked if we could get a view room instead and didn't mind to pay extra. We were told it was our lucky day - we got upgraded to a tower suite with a terrace overlooking the Hudson river. The hotel is old but the room was clean. Service was good. The hotel is located near to Penn Station, Times Square and The Empire State Building.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Address: 481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in New York City
#34 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#128 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#147 Family Hotel in New York City
#195 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#199 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1024
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Agoda, BookIt.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.