We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new yorker” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham New Yorker Hotel to your Saves list
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #238 of 458 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Armagh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“new yorker”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

first time i had travelled alone and i was a bit apprehensive but based on the reviews from trip advisor i chose the new yorker hotel and when i arrived in new york i was glad that i did it was an amazing hotel in the perfect location. i would recommend anyone to stay in the new yorker hotel

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,090
    2,901
    1,058
    293
    186
See reviews for
1,615
2,351
351
733
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
worcestershire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

First off, i always search this site before i travel and find it really helpful, so i hope this will be as helpful to others. The new yorker is in a perfect location, it is within walking distance of times square, empire state buliding etc. On arrival the front desk were inpolite and seemed like they couldnt wait to get us out the way. Our room was clean and the bed was extermely comfy, the bathroom could do with an update and was really small. We had a view of a brick wall so i would defo advise to book a room with a view (my mistake). We both slept really well though. the tick-tock diner was ok, a bit pricey for waht it was, but ok for a quick breakfast and the milkshakes are delicious. We had a lovely lunch in the hotel restaurant before departure. The conceige was quite helpful although kept trying to sell thearte tickets when we were trying to book transport to the airport. We found the hotel shop really good for last minute souveniers. Overall our stay in New York was incredible and i would stay at this hotel again (if you don't mind the front desk staffs rudeness). Everything i tried to ask them, i had one word answers etc and they were talking between themselves alot, while i was stood waiting to speak to them. The hotel is lovely though and i would recommend it just for the location.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I have stayed here twice and would definitely stay again.
The location is great.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Rooms were great - first time i stayed we were in an old room but it was absolutely fine. Second trip we got a new room and this was excellent.
Tick Tock Diner is great too.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Absolutely the best hotel we've stayed in as a family of six! Finding affordable accommodations in NYC for us and our four children (two young children and two teenage boys) is a real task. If you have more than two children, then you know how hard it is to try and book a NYC hotel online (many online forms only allow for up to two children). We booked a suite at The New Yorker, and we were AMAZED at how spacious and wonderful our room was! The hotel receptionist was VERY gracious and helpful! She ordered a rollaway cot for our room so each teenager had their own bed in the livingroom of the suite (one teen had the sofa bed, the other teen used the rollaway). When the rollaway arrived, along with it came more towels and a bag filled with more shampoos/etc, as the receptionist realized we could probably use them with all of our kids. The rooms were spotless, beds very comfortable, the table and chairs were a BIG plus, we loved having a refridgerator, two TVs... and the HUGE surprise was finding we had a corner room with TWO fabulous views of the city! The area of the hotel is perfect for walking to Broadway, Times Square, Penn Station (where we took the subway to Battery Park), Empire State Building and more. Parking garage next door even accommodated our large SUV for the duration of our stay. Staff were all very friendly, and we will most definitely book here again on our next family trip! We HIGHLY recommend The New Yorker!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Love art deco, so a plus straight away. On arrival receptionist was friendly & helpful(Mohammed) REALLY looked after us. Upgraded, as we where celebrating. View of Empire State from my window was spectacular. All the staff went out of their way to be helpful.
Room was clean & tidy and location was perfect in fact , perfect base for exploring N.Y.

Room Tip: Ask for City View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Good points:
- Good location
- Pay a bit extra and get a room with a view of the Empire State (well worth it)
- Next to the excellent Tick Tock Diner (although a bit pricey)
- Lifts quite quick
- Bedrooms nicely decorated

Bad points:
- Tiny room (kind of to be expected because of the location)
- No in room coffee maker/kettle
- No in room fridge
- No in room safe. Safes available for use down in reception, however, there can sometimes be a queue of 20 people waiting to check in, so you have to wait in the same line. Extremely inconvenient when you just want to grab a bit more cash before you head out. To be fair, the staff at reception did warn us this might happen, but you're left with little choice when you want to protect your valuables. Only 10 safes big enough for laptops, and once they're gone, they're gone, and it's a big hotel so I expect it can happen often.
- Shower had an energy saving head which made it feel like you were washing under a haze of water rather than a proper shower. Tried to have a bath instead but the overflow hole was so far down the bath that the water would drain out too low down and leave only about 8 inches of water in the bath.

Overall okay, has the potential to be great, but quite a few minor things let it down.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit extra for a view of the Empire State. We booked through Expedia and then emailed th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We planned our first visit of NYC in november 11 and also booked a deluxe room in the New Yorker Hotel. About a week before departure we changed our mind and asked for an upgrade to one of their tower suites. After 4 days of waiting for a response, we got an upgrade offer for 75$ per night... pretty cheap if you compare it to the standard tower suite price.
As we heard about their slightly unfriendly personal we didn´t expect much of the check in.
Unfortunatly their was no upgrade noted in our file, so we had to discuss with the receptionist to get the upgrade for the promised 75$. It seemed that they had mistakenly told us the price of 75$ and now wanted to withdraw their error. But after 20min of talking we managed to get our upgrade.
Room was - for a suite - not too big, but for 4 days and 3 persones it´s ok. Minibar was free, but there was only 1 Coke, 1 Dietcoke and 1 water in it. We had a coffeemachine and 2 big flatscreens for each room. Beds were exeptionally good. View was also superb, as we could directly see the Empire State building from our beds. Windows were able to open for about 10 centimeters. Unfortunatly there were 2 balconys of the other suites directly unter our windows. The first 2 nights we were lucky as nobody used it, but in the third night some spanish or mexican people thought it would be a good idea to invite all their friends to have a nice party on the balcony. Unfortunatly the doors were also very loud an had a large slit so you heard everyone coming and going to the lifts. Bathroom was a bit too small and very hot. The shower was a desaster as you felt like in jail while under it. There didn´t even flow enough water to get the shampoo of your body. By the way, room was nearly top-floor (39 of 40). So liftrides at rush hour took more then 10 min.
The complementary breakfast was a joke (at least for us). Cerials, joghurt and some dry buns, muffins and crossains. Coffee was typicly american, tasted after chlorine and to feel the coffeine you had to drink about 20 cups. We went to TikTokDiner the next days.

Checkout was efficient as you just have to drop you keys in a box if your bill is ok.
All in all it was a very nice stay at this hotel, of course their is room for improvement.

Room Tip: Be careful not to be placed near an Ice-machine and in summer not over or next to a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestResponse, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
We certainly appreciate you review. We strive to offer unmatched value for the price. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and please come visit again soon.

Eric Bryant, Marketing/PR
The New Yorker Hotel
ebryant@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Address: 481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#27 Green Hotel in New York City
#134 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#161 Family Hotel in New York City
#201 Business Hotel in New York City
#204 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1024
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Priceline, BookIt.com, Wyndham, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.