We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wyndham New Yorker Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Garment District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #207 of 449 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

After reading the numerous reviews about this hotel prior to our visit, I was slightly worried and apprehensive about our choice of accommodation having read about poor cleaning standards, miserable staff etc. Take no notice of these reviews as our stay here was brilliant! There were 4 of us (2 couples) in the party and from arriving and checking in to departing the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. The rooms were spotless, very comfortable beds and the bathrooms too were very clean with ample towels, toiletries etc. Yes, the rooms are small but why do you need a huge room?? If like us you are visiting New York to see the sights and shop then you will literally use your room to sleep and shower any further time spent in the room then you are wasting time in getting out and about. The rooms seemed fairly newly renovated as did the bathroom, there was a flat screen TV which we used to catch weather forecasts and nothing else. The view wasn't magnificent but again why do you need to be sitting at the window when you can be out and about and the Empire State Building is minutes away if you want to see a magnificent view of the City. We had a great time in New York and we wouldn't hesitate to come back and stay at the New Yorker. It's location is fantastic, very central for getting about and if you don't want to use the Tick Tock Diner (we didn't) there is a Macdonalds across the road or a small but very nice deli a couple of minutes away where you can grab a good coffee before setting out for the day. This hotel was a very pleasant surprise for a City centre hotel, we've stayed in four star hotels in Central London which weren't a patch on the New Yorker. Yes there is a security guy as you enter to return to your room but who wants just anyone off the streets wandering in and around the hotel, this made us feel safe and something we haven't experienced before and we've stayed in some big hotels all over the USA including LA and Vegas. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I wouldn't be worrying about standards. If you are polite and nice to the staff then they will be polite etc in return, as guests we are not better than the staff who work there and sadly we witnessed folks who thought it right and proper to speak to the staff in a rude and degrading manner as if they were beneath them. If you have that kind of disrespectful attitude then you don't deserve politeness or kindness from anyone. Anyway enough said the New Yorker was clean, friendly, central and good value for the amount of money we had paid.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 24th floor and it was quite quiet up there away from the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,115
    2,860
    952
    272
    150
See reviews for
1322
2054
285
597
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,097)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I traveled from DC, so took the Northeast Regional to Penn Station and the New Yorker is right across the street so very convenient with no need on taking a cab or subway after departing the train. It's an older hotel so has a dated feeling to it and definitely shows up in the bathrooms. The furnishings are all updated so rooms for the most part are nice. The hotel rooms might actually be on a big size (of course for New York) due to the age of the building. I stayed in newer hotel in NYC and rooms/hallways a lot smaller. The Staff was friendily and had no issues with the hotel. The price and location is very good value for $200 or under per night. Walking distance to the Empire State Building/Macy's/Fifth Ave/Times Square/Broadway. Subway is at the corner of the building that can take you to lower Manhattan or up to Central Park. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

For some reason the New Yorker Hotel always said to me...I'm on a bus trip and don't know where else to stay. What it should have said was...hey, I'm the perfect location, a fair price (by NY standards) and nicely appointed rooms. We were a party of 5 and stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. It met our needs with flying colors. You could not ask for a better location! Macy's was 1 block away, the Times Square area was viewable out the front door, Penn Station basically across the street and we had a view of the Empire State Building!! It was great. The Tick Tock Diner had a great breakfast and I can only assume dinner would be good as well. The diner also had good prices. I will absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wicklow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Went in November to try out New York shopping, what a great time. The hotel was central to all the shops and sites, staff were very helpful and great diner for all those lovely treats.

Looking forward to booking next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Really impressed. Stayed in a renovated Metro room, free wifi, free safe box, nowhere near as small as reviews have indicated, clean, comfortable, bathroom fine. Staff very good. Great location, next to Penn Station subway, close to Macy's, few minutes on the subway to Times Square. Tick Tock diner next door very good.

Room Tip: Probably best to go as high as possible to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Staff were verry helpful. Moved us to a larger room immediately as first room was very very small and I am very pregnant. Be warned, the rooms with views of the Empire State Building are small as they are maximising the number of rooms with access to this view.
Our second room had view of 8th Ave and Hudson river. It had a fridge, which was handy, and a walk in wardrobe. The AC was a bit noisy, and the bathroom was chilly.
There is no room service, but the room has an information folder and you can order from local restaurants, who will deliver. There is also a mini supermarket on the corner opposite which sells snacks, toiletries, alcohol and has a pharmacy.
The location is good. Opposite Penn station, close to Macy's good shopping and walking distance to Times Square and the restaurants of Hells Kitchen.
The staff were always polite, helpful and friendly, and the maid was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011 via mobile

The room was not over sized but you do not go to The Big Apple to sit in your room. The bath room was in good order and the maids kept it topped up with soaps and shampoo etc. The bar was average price with excelant food on sale. Tick tock diner was great value.
From the hotel you can walk to central park in 30 mins, Macy's in under 10 mins if you get moving. You can also go to Bowling Green within an hour. All in all great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Address: 481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#18 Green Hotel in New York City
#117 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#117 Family Hotel in New York City
#188 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#195 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.