We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very clean, comfy beds - overall a great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham New Yorker Hotel to your Saves list
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #254 of 463 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Great location, very clean, comfy beds - overall a great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We booked this hotel at the recommendation of a friend. We arrived at Penn station by train which was very conveniently located directly across the street. Before arriving, I emailed the concierge telling them that this was our first trip to NYC and that we were travelling with our children (6 and 7 years). They emailed me back the following day saying they'd upgraded us to a 35th floor room with a view of the Empire State building. When we checked in, we weren't disappointed. The staff was very polite and helpful. The room was small as expected in Manhattan but very clean. The bathroom could use a little facelift, but it had character and overall our living quarters were very quaint. Again, everything was very clean, which is paramount!! The view was splendid and every night, the Empire State Building was lit up with different colour lights (green on St. Paddy's Day!) Our room was located in a little alcove with only 3 other rooms which made it very quiet - perfect for tired children (and parents too).

We walked everywhere and on days where we had to cover more territory, we took the train which was conveniently located across the street. The concierge was very helpful when we asked her about area restaurants and local attractions.

Since it was our first time in NYC, we saw as much as we could but we are already planning another trip there to take in some of what we missed. We will definitely stay at the New Yorker again - we were very pleased!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestResponse, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
We certainly appreciate you review, Canadian Girl. Thank you for the 5-star ratings and for being willing to recommend us to your friends!


Eric Bryant, E-Commerce Manager
The New Yorker Hotel
ebryant@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,218
    3,048
    1,131
    317
    199
See reviews for
1,723
2,463
371
789
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

I don't think you could get a better hotel in New York for the money. It's an old building, the rooms and bathrooms aren't big, and the plumbing is VERY noisy. But the location is great (easy to get to and from JFK via Penn Station over the road), you can walk to all the Midtown tourism sites, and a cab from the Times Square area is only about $5 when you want to get back quickly at night. Very safe, comfortable and clean, staff were all helpful, courteous and efficient (I rang down one night when some kids were making a lot of noise, security were on it within minutes). Both the Tick Tock diner and hotel bar are great for food and drinks and just downstairs - though you're not short of places to eat round here. After checking out on the last day you can store your bags for just $1 each. There's an amazing cinema round the corner if you want to go out but your feet have given up on you. Not the Plaza, but amazing value for money. I'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Came to New York this past weekend with my daughter for conference, as well as some shopping in the mix.
THE BAD:
Ok, so here's the story. We got there early in the morning and no rooms were available. We were allowed to check our bags, and see the city before checking in later that afternoon. Upon check-in, the guy at the front desk told us that he had given us a "great" room. What a complete lie! First off, the room was incredibly small (#2341). Not a big deal as it is expected in New York City. However, there was no shower head on the shower, and water sprayed everywhere all over the bathroom. When one tried to shut off the water it would continue to drip. Our room was located right beside the electrical room and across from one of the housekeeping storage areas. Therefore sleeping, was not a feasible possibility. We called down to the front to ask for a room change but they assured us that the noise would quiet down and there would be no problem. ANOTHER LIE! Not only were doors slamming all evening long but the noise from the staff yelling and talking to each other was also loud and annoying. Our room was also apparently right beside the external piping of the building as every 15-20min we would hear water rushing through the pipes (right by our heads). Both my daughter and I could not sleep the entire night. Having to be at a conference early the next morning we were exhausted and frustrated, which ruined a good portion of our day that day. I have absolutely no idea how anyone could sleep in that room, or how the hotel staff could even consider placing paying guests there. (Also forgot to mention the periodic scratching noises we heard throughout the night...mice anyone?)

THE GOOD: So after enduring our night from hell, we finally called the front desk again and asked to speak to the manager. The woman we spoke to (Erica) was great. After listening to all our complaints she set us up with a Deluxe room (apparently only 2 of these on a floor) that was NO COMPARISON to our first. This one was located in a corner on the floor. Lots of space, large windows, and quiet with a great view of the Empire State Building as well. Just wish we didn't have to go through hell to get it.

Other good points: staff were great, and the location is very good being right across from Penn Station and walking distance to lots of great shopping and sights.

There are too many other great hotels in the city that I can't say I'd ever come back here, even though they made up for the horrible first night we had. Either make sure you book a deluxe room, or save yourself the worry and book elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Stayed at the New Yorker for 5 days. Location for theatres and shopping was excellent. The hotel and staff were great. We had reserved a double deluxe room with a view but got a double without a view. When we pointed this out, they asked us to stay in the room for one night and then upgraded us to a suite with a view. We faced the Empire State building. The room and the view were great. Free WiFi was a great bonus.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Stayed at this hotel in March for 5 nights. Got a free upgrade to a corner room on 35th floor with great views of city, Empire State, Chrysler and Hudson River by e-mailling request before we travelled.
Hotel is in a great location right next to Penn Station. We got the Air Train from JFK then subway from Jamaica to Penn on the E line for 7 dollars total.
Staff at the hotel are all pleasant and helpful and rooms are clean. Beds are comfortable.
Only bad comment about the bedroom and bathroom is the size. We have been to NY lots of times but this room was the smallest we have had. It was really cramped.
Tick-tock diner next to the hotel is very reasonable and food was excellent although service one day was bad.
Just up the road on 37th/8th Avenue is a great pub called The Houndstooth. Staff are really friendly, food is good (especially the fish and chips) and drinks are reasonable with good choice of beers and wines and Happy Hour. Caters to lots of different age groups.
Please DO NOT visit the Ginger Man pub. It has some good reviews but we found it to be crowded and full of pretentious yuppies. Bar staff were unfriendly and unhelpful and not up to the job. Saw one barmaid pour 4 pints of froth before managing to pour a pint.! They advertise that they sell real ales. They had 3 on when we visited but the barman did not know what they were without referring to a printed sheet and then they only served them in halves even though they were not strong beers. This means that a pint costs 15 dollars!
As we have been to NY lots of times before we did a few different things we can recommend. We took the subway to Coney Island and had a good hot dog in a famous fast food place and then walked to Brighton Beach which has to be seen. The place has been taken over by Russians and all the shops in the high street only have Russian signage.
We also took a 3 hour Circle Line boat trip around Manhattan Island. This was a good trip for 35 dollars and the north of the island is surprising.
We walked the High Line and then into Greenwich and Chelsea Market. and we also took the subway to 110th street and walked the entire length of Central Park.
Went to a big band jazz concert at Birdland which was good.
Also did a Comedy Club on 53rd Street which turned out to be OK in the end but be warned-do not get your tickets from vendors in the Times Square area as they lie and tell you that you can turn up at any time to see a show. We turned up on a Saturday for the 9pm show and although we arrived in plenty of time at 8pm we couldn't get in as we hadn't booked. We complained and they eventually let us in to the 8.30 show which was packed and had already started. It was a good show however just make sure you book direct with the club before you go and don't listen to the touts in Times Square.
Macys had an incredible sale while we were there. Just visit the Visitor Centre and you get a free 10 percent discount card off all purchases, even those in the sale.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestResponse, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Thank you for the compliment, AlanandTracey! We hope that you had an enjoyable stay, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Eric Bryant, E-Commerce Manager
The New Yorker Hotel
ebryant@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

We had a great time at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone staying in New York for its good location and quiet comfy rooms. The rooms were small but no smaller than any other New York hotel - this is what they are all like. The beds were gorgeous and the bathroom had a great shower. The only noise we could hear were occasional sirens in the street below but not loud enough to keep us awake. No noise from any other rooms whatsoever and the hotel was very busy.
Check in and out was hassle free and Mohammed on reception was especially welcoming and friendly. No problems with the bill or anything and we got a good room on a high floor which is what I had requested.
One of the best hotel facilities was the tick tock diner which served fantastic breakfast and desserts. They also had a full menu for 24 hours which we did not use but looked great. Service in all areas of the hotel was very efficient and all the staff wanted to chat and ask questions which we thought was really nice.
The hotel feels very safe as they check your key cards as you go into the lifts and there are 2 locks and latch on the room doors.
The hotel is located on 34th street and 8th ave which we found was a great street for shopping, on that road they had Macys, Victorias Secret, Borders, Aeropostale and numerous souvernir shops. It was also well placed for wandering out to Times Square in the evening, not too tiring at all at the end of the day!
We would definately stay here again as we really enjoyed our 5 nights and we thought the price was great value as we found other hotels at 3* rating which were much more expensive. This hotel does great deals on its own website so it is worth looking at this as well as another site like booking.com.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a 10day round trip to New York and the hotel was fantastic

Like most of you, selecting the best place to stay in New York is probably the hardest thing of all. Having been to New York before (and staying up next to Central Park West) this trip we wanted to stay near midtown but further down for the night life.

We had eight nights in the New Yorker which was only £888 for the two of us. The room had everything you required, it was very clean and the bed was very confortable, there is all the usual amenities e.g. hair dryer, ironing board and iron, climate control and a lovely en-suite.

The bed was made each day and fresh towels were provided, there was an ice-machine in the small vending area next to the lift lobby on our floor and an ice bucket in the room which was ideal for a bottle of wine before going out on an evening.

The hotel is at 34th and 8th street right next to Macy's and Madison Square Garden. It was about a 5-10minute walk to Times Square and the theatre district (which is you've been to New York before you'll know it''s best to be just outside this area instead of slap-bang in the middle of the mayhem!)

The other perks to the hotel is the Tick Tock 24hr diner and also the bar/restaurant which both served very good food if you arrive late in the day and don't have time to explore.

Being on 34th street was great as you're only a 20minute walk into Chelsea, we walked everywhere and only occasionally got a taxi late at night to get back to the hotel. Penn street station is literally over the road from the hotel (underground of-course) so you don't even know it's there, but this is great for getting down the bottom of manhattan or over to Brooklyn Heights etc. You're also only 5-10mins away from the Prt Authority Bus Terminal and the main Gray Line building (best sightseeing buses).

If you're there for longer than a couple of days definately go to the Woodbury Common outlet - it's $42 from the Port Authority Bus terminal and takes an hour but the prices for designer clothes will take your breath away!! My wife bought UGG's for £60 and I bought clothes in Ralth Lauren and North Face for less then half the price they are back in the UK - you'll probably need a full day there as there are hundreds of stores inc Gucci, Prada, etc

If you're looking for somewhere to go out on a night we went to Soho and Greenwich Village which were great for food and drink, also try the East Village (St Mark's Place and the Curry Mile (6th Street between 1st and Second Ave) the Brick CurryHouse is mega!

If you want to sightsee, buy a Gray Line 48 or 72hr pass for all loop buses you can get on and off and also includes Empire State Building tickets and you can go to Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island - think it's about $84 per poerson but well worth it as the buses go all over and you see lots more in a shorter space of time. We used them a a 'reccy' to check out areas to go back later to or to get off and then walk across town and get on another bus to another area.

Get yourself over the Brooklyn Heights and the DUMBO area if you want a nice day out and fantastic view of the Manhattan Skyline - we got the red line subway over and then walked back over the Brooklyn Bridge which is about 1.5miles but a lovely walk for a mild or sunny day.

Overall - back to the hotel - we would definaly stay here again and are aplnning another shopping trip either later on in the year or next year!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestResponse, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Thank you for the fabulous review, mackemken ! We hope that you had an enjoyable stay, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Eric Bryant, E-Commerce Manager
The New Yorker Hotel
ebryant@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham New Yorker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Address: 481 Eighth Ave, 34th St & 8th Ave, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in New York City
#148 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#170 Family Hotel in New York City
#206 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham New Yorker Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1024
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Amex, Wyndham, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham New Yorker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.