We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location a bit away from the hustle & still convenient!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phillips Club

Phillips Club
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phillips Club
Save
You added Phillips Club to your Saves list
155 West 66th Street, New York City, NY 10023-6501 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 459 Hotels in New York City
west Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice location a bit away from the hustle & still convenient!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Phillips Club. We rented a 1 bedroom, with a small kitchen, living room and king size bedroom. A subway stop was right there and a cute little store right on the same street. It was a quick subway hope to Times Square. There are cheaper options, but, this is in a more quiet location and just a few blocks to Central Park.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
10
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Ideal place to stay, especially if you have kids. Location was perfect with easy access to subway/bus and within walking distance to Central Park. Great restaurants all within walking distance. Our 2 bedroom suite was absolutely amazing. It was so nice having a kitchen in the room so we didn't have to immediately run out for every meal (which can be difficult with 2 small children). The staff was so nice and helpful. Multiple TVs came in very handy with the kids. The suite was clean and well appointed. Really can't say enough great things about this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

In June we stayed at the Phillips Club for the second time. The location and service are wonderful. It is so easy to go anywhere in Manhattan from this spot plus within the building there is a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. There are some excellent restaurants in the neighborhood and the subway is a one minute walk away.

Room Tip: Higher floors are probably to be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Someone I knew let me use his place so I have no complaints about the price. I will say that the room was so dark and out of date. It could have been cleaner too. The location is the best! This place is a time share. The doorman and front desk were very helpful!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Phillips Club is an ideal place for us in New York. My wife and I have stayed there three times in the past few years. Since our activities are focused on art and music, the location couldn't be better. Lincoln Center is literally around the corner from the hotel and the Juilliard Store is right across the street. One-bedroom suites are spacious, full of light, and adequately (if not lavishly) furnished. There are flat-screen televisions in both the living and bedroom, and free wi-fi. There is maid service and the staff in general are courteous and helpful. The rooms and the public space are impeccably clean if a bit austere. Overall, a wonderful place. We intend to continue to use this hotel on our future visits to New York.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was searching for a location in New York that had a kitchenette available, and stumbled upon the Phillips Club. It is a partial ownership apartment/hotel combination with a fantastic location right across the street from Lincoln Center.

My husband, 16 year old daughter and I stayed in a 1 bedroom unit. It was spacious, with a full kitchen, dining table, living room with fold out couch, and a bedroom with king size bed. The room was comfortable and well stocked, but it didn't have much pizazz -- modern and in grays and tans. Since we were there over Christmas, I was able to buy the cutest little 2 foot tall predecorated Christmas tree down the street and that livened things up!

There is a laundry room right down the hall, with full size washer/dryers that you can use for free. Well....I suppose not free, given that the hotel is not cheap! But, it was an added convenience for sure.

While there isn't a restaurant in the hotel, they have a full room service menu that is done in collaboration with nearby restaurants. You can also order groceries and have them delivered to your room. We opted to go to the little grocery store that was literally right next door (the Gourmet Garage), but did consider the other option. The store next door is small, but had a fine selection of the basics, and a huge selection of pre-made/deli type foods. Only beer though - so if you want wine or alcohol, you'll need to look elsewhere.

The front desk staff and bellman were "relatively" friendly - but not as proactive and warm as I would have expected for that price. But, that said, they got the job done, and we didn't travel there to make new best friends, so it was fine with us. The subway was less than a block away, which made our travels very convenient.

This place is relatively unknown, it seems, as not a single cabbie or anyone else we talked with seemed to have heard of it. It is a great option if you are looking to make use of the more "apartment" style approach -- a much better value than hotels of a similar caliber. It is very quiet and subdued though (because of the ownership concept), so don't expect the hustle bustle of a typical New York hotel lobby. I would definitely return and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a street facing 1 bedroom unit. They are brighter and there is no issue with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Visited Philips Club in May 2012!
Don't be Confused by the Name
The Philips Club, is a Hotel & Apartment Hotel In NYC

Though Not the Least Expensive Place too Visit, it is well worth it if Travelling with a Family or Friends to share the cost.

The Facilities Are Fantastic!

The Location is Perfect Right at the Lincoln Centre.
Metropolitan Opera Very Close By.
As is Juilliard School for the Performing Arts

The Apartments are a Real Home from Home, though Even More Luxurious!
The Staff Are Very Friendly & Transport Links Around New York Are Literally on the Doorstep

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phillips Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phillips Club

Address: 155 West 66th Street, New York City, NY 10023-6501
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential-style hotel in the heart of Lincoln Square - 1 block from Lincoln Center, 2 blocks from Central Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phillips Club Hotel New York City
Phillips Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phillips Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.