We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location in Meatpacking area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rooms to Let

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rooms to Let
Save
You added Rooms to Let to your Saves list
83 Horatio Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 96 New York City B&B and Inns
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Location in Meatpacking area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

When we were looking for a room in NYC, location was very important to us. Because we go out at night and party late. Then we found Rooms to Let by chance and I am glad we did. The location is perfect - so close to the clubs, restaurants, yet not in the middle of all the noise. If you are looking for all luxury that other hotels provide, maybe this place is not for you, there are some disadvantages like no elevator, no housekeeping everyday, but it is a lovely home and the owner Marge lives in the same house. She was very nice to us, helped when she can. We left very happy and will be back next time in NYC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    8
    1
    6
    4
See reviews for
7
27
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Unfriendly host. Should not be in hospitality business. I inquired about a lock for the room door (hello, its New York) and she acted as if that were a ridiculous question. The location is great but I would DEFINITELY not return to repeat the unpleasant experience of being an unwanted guest.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We have been staying at Rooms to Let for 3 nights in the West Village. Spectacular location, very clean and tidy, cosy and easy and Marjorie the owner epitomizes the best of NYC. There is a lovely garden in the back of the house. We were delightfully surprised to find the Meat Packing area around the corner with wonder restaurants, shops, Chelsea Market and the HighLine( the old railroad walking trail) The area is very safe and their are lots of people moving around this trendy area. We would like to bring our family back and stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor. Low ceiling but charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Ok.... there you are walking through Greenwich Village caught in a hurricane, pretty much everything is closed..... so it's going to be crackers and cheese tonight at the B&B. First thing through the door you are greeted with a smile and you hear those lovely words " There is nothing open, why don't I make you all some dinner" It's difficult to convey atmosphere, warmth and hospitality with photos and words. None are lacking with Marg and Rooms To Let. We sat out Hurricane Sandy at Marg's place, you should stay at her place too. Marg is very accommodating, knows the area very well and you will get all the insider info on Greenwich Village and the surrounding area. Both thumbs, way WAY UP!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with the 2 double beds....... very nice, just as it shows in the photos. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molnlycke, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A lovely place to stay at. The room was nice and clean. We spent much time walking, so this was a perfect place to stay at. Lots of nice restaurangs in the area. I recommend this lovely bed and breakfast. I will definetely stay here next time (if I come back to New York :)).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here for a week in September 2012 and could not recommend it more. The brownstone is just amazing inside. Very clean, comfortable and very beautifully decorated. We felt very at home here and it was great to relax in such a nice house after a long day site seeing. The area itself is incredible. Its right in the centre of greenwich village with all the shops, restaurants and bars at your doorstep. We had the best week and almost regret not spending more time in the house! Well definitely be back. Thank you for having me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed more than 3 weeks with my daughter .It was like we are at home. Location is great. So many restaurants,cafes and shops around. The house and the garden is wonderfull. Silent and relaxıng. Everybody at the house were so friendly an lovely. Kiss you all girls. I will be at Horatio 83 again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rooms to Let? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms to Let

Address: 83 Horatio Street, New York City, NY 10014
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Rooms To Let Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rooms to Let, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.