We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where in New York is there an island of tranquility, peace and beauty where I can be quiet and restful to process and reflect on” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rooms to Let

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rooms to Let
Save
You added Rooms to Let to your Saves list
83 Horatio Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 96 New York City B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Where in New York is there an island of tranquility, peace and beauty where I can be quiet and restful to process and reflect on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We two sisters enjoyed the privilege of a seven night stay with Marge, Sophie and Lorraine in this beautifully appointed and decorated home in the heart of the exciting district of Greenwich Village. This week came at the end of a hectic two week stay in the US so rest and relaxation was needed.
Greenwich Village and it's treats and treasures did not allow us to spend much time during the day to be resting and relaxing, however , so to come home at the end of the day and sink into the garden greenness with a lovely bottle of wine was an absolute delight ! It helped us to gather the energy to saunter off to one of the neighborhood restaurants in the evening for delicious dinners and to wander home to comfy beds and peaceful sleeps.
Marge, her sweet doggie, Sophie and Lorraine made us very welcome and were happy to allow us to share their home space, beautiful sitting room, guests pantry and of course the garden, always fresh and cool on warm evenings.
We were attracted before we went to the US to 83 Horatio by Marge's quote on the website " I love New York, I love Greenwich Village, I love my house " We did too !!! Heaps and heaps we loved it ! You will love it too !!
Many thanks to Marge, Lorraine, Eliza, Sophie and Cat ! Hope we can come back one day !
Paula and Suzanne from Australia

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    8
    1
    6
    4
See reviews for
7
27
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful house in a fantastic location. It was nice to find a private backyard, one block from the Hudson and close to many great restaurants and unique shops. The subway is close by so getting around town was easy.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Great location and a beautiful home. Marjorie was a welcoming host. Our room was excellent and over looked the garden. Very quiet. Close to all the little cafés, markets and highline. Walking distance to most things. Even though we shared a bathroom there was no inconvenience. Washing machine and dryer were available. We enjoyed having wine and cheese in the back garden. Beautiful street with the cobble stones and trees. So much better than staying in a hotel which we did for 3 nights beforehand we stayed here 6 nights. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is a great place to stay. You'll feel much more at home than if you live in a regular hotel. The rooms are very nice and clean. It's a lovely neighbourhood with walking distance to a lot of restaurants and sights. The Highline is only one or two blocks away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed her for a couple of weeks and it was just great. So much better than a hotell - its like having your own little home in the very best part of Manhattan. Love it!

Sten Hellevig

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aalborg denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Beautiful garden and a lovely owner Marjorie -cat and dog - my wife and I both feel we was a welcome guest in her beautiful old house and we enjoy our breakfast in the garden surrounded by flowers and trees
Quiet - peaceful and still in the middle of everything - lost of good restaurant just around the corner - especial "The Spotted Pig" - "Corsica" and Meatpacking District - 15 minutes´ walk to Broadway - 5 minutes` walk to Hudson River
If I ever come back to New York on holiday, I will stay on "Rooms to Let" again - really a B&B to recommend

Room Tip: Sylvia`s Room is situate to the garden - less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Marjorie's beautiful heritage home is that incredible combination of charm, comfort and quiet, all in the walkable neighborhood of Greenwich Village, and right at one end of the High Line. We loved the room, even though we had to learn to walk with our heads held sideways, as the ceiling is quite low in some places and we're both tall. The room is full of furniture and art treasures (I especially liked the cow pictures), the bed is comfortable, the claw-foot tub a real treat, the little kitchen corner perfect for morning coffee, the vouchers for breakfast at Bus Stop Cafe were much appreciated. Animal lovers will like the friendly cat and dog who live here. We couldn't enjoy the garden because of rain, but I could see it would be a nice place for afternoon wine before going out. I would recommend this place to anyone who loves old houses.

Room Tip: If you prefer a private bath, the upstairs room is the only one. The shared bath for the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rooms to Let? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms to Let

Address: 83 Horatio Street, New York City, NY 10014
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Rooms To Let Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rooms to Let, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.