We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape for the hectic NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rooms to Let

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rooms to Let
83 Horatio Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 96 New York City B&B and Inns
Orange, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great escape for the hectic NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Great location and a beautiful home. Marjorie was a welcoming host. Our room was excellent and over looked the garden. Very quiet. Close to all the little cafés, markets and highline. Walking distance to most things. Even though we shared a bathroom there was no inconvenience. Washing machine and dryer were available. We enjoyed having wine and cheese in the back garden. Beautiful street with the cobble stones and trees. So much better than staying in a hotel which we did for 3 nights beforehand we stayed here 6 nights. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    8
    1
    6
    4
See reviews for
7
27
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Umea, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is a great place to stay. You'll feel much more at home than if you live in a regular hotel. The rooms are very nice and clean. It's a lovely neighbourhood with walking distance to a lot of restaurants and sights. The Highline is only one or two blocks away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed her for a couple of weeks and it was just great. So much better than a hotell - its like having your own little home in the very best part of Manhattan. Love it!

Sten Hellevig

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aalborg denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Beautiful garden and a lovely owner Marjorie -cat and dog - my wife and I both feel we was a welcome guest in her beautiful old house and we enjoy our breakfast in the garden surrounded by flowers and trees
Quiet - peaceful and still in the middle of everything - lost of good restaurant just around the corner - especial "The Spotted Pig" - "Corsica" and Meatpacking District - 15 minutes´ walk to Broadway - 5 minutes` walk to Hudson River
If I ever come back to New York on holiday, I will stay on "Rooms to Let" again - really a B&B to recommend

Room Tip: Sylvia`s Room is situate to the garden - less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Marjorie's beautiful heritage home is that incredible combination of charm, comfort and quiet, all in the walkable neighborhood of Greenwich Village, and right at one end of the High Line. We loved the room, even though we had to learn to walk with our heads held sideways, as the ceiling is quite low in some places and we're both tall. The room is full of furniture and art treasures (I especially liked the cow pictures), the bed is comfortable, the claw-foot tub a real treat, the little kitchen corner perfect for morning coffee, the vouchers for breakfast at Bus Stop Cafe were much appreciated. Animal lovers will like the friendly cat and dog who live here. We couldn't enjoy the garden because of rain, but I could see it would be a nice place for afternoon wine before going out. I would recommend this place to anyone who loves old houses.

Room Tip: If you prefer a private bath, the upstairs room is the only one. The shared bath for the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

A peaceful oasis in the middle of bustling New York life - comfortable and charming house, absolutely lovely garden, two sweet pets (cat and dog), the perfect home-away-from-home for those travelers wishing for a more personal experience than a hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Mi girlfriend surprised me with a tremendous gift. She had planned a whole weekend in NYC (we live in Boston) and she had found this lovely place for us to stay in.

I really can't understand the negative reviews this place has been given. Marjorie was welcoming and friendly and the house was just great. Period. We were given Alex's room (so we were sharing the second floor bathroom) but luckily for us there were no other guests at the moment in our floor so we had the bathroom all to ourselves.

After walking miles and miles (we like to walk everywhere, yes also in NYC) we returned each day to find Marjorie in the kitchen cooking herself some dinner (which smelled great) and were offered a glass of wine and a comforting smile. There's a pantry you can use to make coffee or tea and we made good use of it. I like to read so I stayed in the living room downstairs and enjoyed some conversation with Marjorie and a friend of hers while sipping at my tea.

Overall I have to say this place is great. The house is clean, the location is AMAZING (seconds away from Pastis, the High Line... in the heart of the Meatpacking) and Marjorie is welcoming and friendly. My girlfriend mentioned this a couple of times and she was spot-on: "it feels like home in NYC"

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rooms to Let? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms to Let

Address: 83 Horatio Street, New York City, NY 10014
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Rooms To Let Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rooms to Let, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rooms to Let to your Saves list