We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High AKA Standards - Excellent Stay - Avoid rooms below Floor 10” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AKA Sutton Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added AKA Sutton Place to your Saves list
AKA Sutton Place
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 East 56th St, New York City, NY 10022 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #243 of 459 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“High AKA Standards - Excellent Stay - Avoid rooms below Floor 10”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at the AKA Sutton place for 30 days after having stayed at AKA UN for 15 days at an earlier trip.

AKA Sutton Place adheres to the same high standards as AKA - UN. The kitchenette though really tiny is well provided for. The only hitch is a mini - dishwasher instead of the normal sized one. The rooms are pretty much furnished the same way, and house-keeping is fantastic too. Not a thing out of place once house-keeping has done its job. Excellent! There is a nice indoor pool - it was great for the summer!

Location is in a quiet street just off 1st avenue, so from a tourist point of view it may be a little out of the way. Having said that nothing is too far away in Manhattan...you can always hop into a cab! AKA Sutton Place offers accommodation that is really value for money, a nice quiet neighbourhood in mid-town Manhattan. This is not a typical tourist hotel at Times Square, its the feel of staying in the real Manhattan, and Manhattan does exist beyond Times Square :))

The staff is the nicest that one can come across - always with a smile and ready to help! Rarely have I come across a house-keeping staff so diligent and a front desk so pleasing.

The reason this property gets a 4 and not a 5 is because our room had absolutely no view (we were on floor 9) and our window overlooked the adjoining building which was less than a few meters away) - that was the only unfavourable factor...its alright to look into the streets but to overlook a brickwall - that is totally unacceptable.


Would I stay here again? Most definitely! (But ask for a room above Floor 10). Would I recommend it to a friend? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Take a room above Floor 10 to avoid looking into a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

We were fortunate to stay in a 2 bedroom apartment at the AKA Sutton place for 7 nights in early April. As first timers visitors to NYC we loved that the end of each busy day we could retreat to this quiet haven. The staff are wonderful and the service was excellent, close to everything it simply is wonderful place to base yourself in NYC, do yourself a favour stay at the AKA Sutton Place

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

We spent a week in an apartment at AKA Sutton. New York it was so much better than any hotel room, the welcome was superb, it was so nice to relax after a busy day site seeing in an excellent comfortable apartment, it had everything we needed and more, there was loads of storage and a very comfy huge bed, we would certainly recommend it and would definatly stay in an AKA property again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I just spent the week in NYC and I am so thankful that I stayed at AKA Sutton Place! From the call prior to my visit to see if I had any questions or requests. To the warm friendly greeting when we walked in the door. And, the gracious manner the staff accommodates every request, THIS PLACE KNOWS HOSPITALITY!
I stayed in the one bedroom apartment along with my teen daughter and it was very spacious and extremely well appointed. The kitchen is small but very gourmet and well stocked. Bosch, Sub Zero, Granite Countertops all nice touches! The king size bed was very comfortable and the Frette linens were another luxurious, nice touch. We had plenty of closet space and the bathroom was perfect for the two of us. We felt we had such a nice oasis to come home to after a day of touring and shopping in the big city!
The bar, lounge and pool were wonderful amenities and make for sort of a hotel feel but with the plus of apartment living! SO PERFECT!! If you are just wanting "room service" they offer a full list of GOOD restaurants that deliver, very convenient as it can be daunting to find a good restaurant when in a new place. I forgot to mention that I was able to send a grocery list to AKA Sutton Place and they had my groceries delivered and put away in the kitchen(free of charge,) I just had to pay for the groceries of course, but what a great service! AKA Sutton Place provides many offerings from haircuts to yoga, and they provide an incredible menu to choose from when at check in.
The neighborhood is very nice, extremely safe(we felt comfortable to walk home at midnight, no problem) and close to all the famous shopping, museums and restaurants. The subway line is 3 blocks away also.
I feel so fortunate to have found this place and I am so excited to share how wonderful it is!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed here for christmas week with three little kids and two adults. We chose the AKA Sutton Place for the rooms and indoor pool, but the staff really made us feel special with their friendly suggestions, great knowledge of the area, and sense of fun. The hotel and the apartments (we had a 2 bedroom) were pretty nice quality and well appointed, with a mini kitchen with all modern conveniences and new appliances, two baths, and a good sized living room. It felt a bit more like an apartment than a hotel (eg, it was not up to the four seasons standards) but the lobby, business center, cafe were all really stylish and beautiful. My only complaint was that our room was on a lower floor, so we got the NYC street noise. The pool is fantastic and it served to get the kids a way to blow off some steam, and we felt good about the lifeguard who was on duty. The hallways did seem like they could use a refresh and the fittings in the apartments were one notch down from luxury, but totally serviceable. And the location was very convenient to all of the christmas and shopping activities. In all, a great stay for a family.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We were at AKA Sutton Place for 5 nights. Very happy with the accommodation - the apartment is clean and well maintained. It is of good size and we enjoy having the spacious living room and the kitchen is well equipped with a large Sub-zero, microwave and oven. The location is close to the main shopping avenues and restaurants within walking distance - we tried French, Italian, Chinese, Japanese. We want to commend the excellent service provided by all the staff manning the reception. They were very helpful and informative, especially Finn Beveridge, Jeremy and even John who helped with our bags and the parcels we had pre-ordered. We highly recommend this accommodation to those who prefer a personalised service, need space and quiet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monalcino
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed here for a long stay of three weeks. If you are in NYC for an extended period this place is perfect. Great amenities (indoor pool) quiet street but centrally located. Could probably use a little more maintenance in apartments. The staff is friendly and helpful, it's basically like renting a condo with hotel service

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AKA Sutton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Sutton Place

Address: 330 East 56th St, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in New York City
#135 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — AKA Sutton Place 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your AKA Sutton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Sutton Place Hotel New York City
Sutton New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKA Sutton Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.