We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marmara Manhattan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Marmara Manhattan to your Saves list
The Marmara Manhattan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 East 94th Street, New York City, NY 10128 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The place was very clean and the service was excellent. The maids were quick in and out. The staff were more than accommodating and I would definitely recommend the Marmara Manhattan. There was a bit of construction but not at all noisy or bothersome.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kivanc O, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
It was great to get your feedback, “excellent service”, efficient maids” and “very clean” coupled with your promised recommendation makes you high on our list of people we can’t wait to see come back through our doors.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    196
    40
    14
    8
See reviews for
211
140
23
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed four nights at the Marmara Hotel New York City. It is an apartment style hotel with kitchen facilities and free internet. It is located in the suburban Upper East Side of Manhattan, on the corner of 2nd Avenue and 94E Street.

Our room was tired and small, clearly in need of renovation. The air conditioning was very noisy, but it worked well for which we were truly grateful given the hot summer of New York. The corridors are dark by design. It doesn't work. The lifts very slow.

I looked into the unit next to ours and it was spacious, with lounge area and clearly refurbished. There are one, two and three bedroom suites so be sure to specify your requirements. Higher floors offer a view. I didn't do my homework.

We found the kitchen a benefit in terms of breakfasting and can see if you are traveling with children, on a budget, or staying an extended period, how useful the kitchen would be.

The room was serviced well each day.

There is a subway development running along 2nd Avenue. It is messy. The closest subway is a short walk, two streets along to 96E and two Avenues up to Lexington Ave. Subway travel is the fastest way to negotiate the congestion of New York, it is efficient and cheap. Cheaper still if you purchase a transport package.

The staff of the Hotel were friendly, professional and helpful. There is a good gym in the basement and laundry services if needed.

There are supermarkets and restaurants within a close walk and it is five blocks from Central Park.

The significant down side is that this is a suburban area with major subway construction, 3-4km from mid town. Again not a problem for a family or if you are fortunate enough to be enjoying a longer stay in New York. As a short stay tourist you can't just 'pop' back to the hotel for a shower or a change of clothes to head elsewhere. We found this a limitation.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Marmara, it is less expensive than many other options and would recommend the hotel for families or long stays rather than the short tourist trip. Make sure you specify a renovated room and a higher floor, ask for details of the room configuration.

Enjoy New York.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kivanc O, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for the thoroughness of your generous response, we appreciate your candor and recommendations. We are constantly and diligently upgrading and improving our wonderful property, and have great things in store for your future visits. New York is really a mass of small “villages” that together create our magnificent city, all with their specific appeal. The Upper East Side has a predominately upper scale residential feel that so many of our loyal guest cherish. Our new and exciting offering, opening soon, Marmara Park Avenue will be in midtown where you can “pop” in and out of the “touristy” Times Square area by foot on your next stay. We look forward to seeing you then.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Just got back from a wonderful 7day stay here.
We chose to go with a 3 bedroom apartment as we were a family travelling with parents & kids so wanted that extra bit of space & separate bedrooms that you wouldn't get in a normal hotel in NY & I'm so glad we did!!!
The apartment was actually bigger than our home! 3 spacious bedrooms with plenty of storage, including a walk-in closet in the master bedroom, with a tv in every room & ensuite to all too. We'd requested a cot for our toddler too & just expected the usual fold-up travel cot thing but was pleasantly surprised that it was a full size proper cot.
The kitchen was enough for what you need when away, cooker, hob, microwave, dishwasher, fridge/freezer & all the utensils you would need. Also a washer/dryer was hidden away in one of the cupboards in the hallway of the apartment.
The living/dining room was huge!!!!! Lovely big windows which helped you appreciate the view (on 28th floor helped too). From ours we could see downtown to the Empire State Building. Even managed to watch some of the 4th July fireworks!
Everywhere was clean, the apartment, reception area & foyer.
All staff we spoke to were very friendly & so very helpful (even sending up the maintenance guy when my parents couldn't get their suitcase padlock open!)
Subway station is a 5-10 minute walk away (they're building one which will be a 1minute walk!) & yes, it is an uphill walk to it but its not mount everest! There's a kids park right by the subway station too, which was great for our toddler to run off steam at the end of the day.
Supermarket, restaurants & bars near by too (Nicks right over the road do super Italian food.... big portions; The District, one avenue over, lovely food & family friendly; Barking Dog Luncheonette, great for a meal all times of the day)
I would agree with other comments that the hallways are a little dark............but that's just being very picky.
I'm sure we'll be staying there in the future.......thanks Marmara for making it a great visit to NY!

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up to get great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kivanc O, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Ultimately you take away memories; it’s our business to make them great ones--“thanks Marmara for making it great” is the business we love to do! We want to thank you for such a detailed and flattering feedback. The 3 bedroom accommodations, as you so clearly describe, must be seen to be believed. With the greatest promoter, you—“I’m so glad I did!!!!” will only make them all the more beloved. We can’t wait to see you again, as you say “we’ll be seeing you in the future”.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

I booked a two bedroom apartment for a five day stay which was an 80th birthday present for my mother. The apartment was spotlessly clean and had great facilities. So much nicer than hotel rooms when different members of a family are meeting up. The staff were very helpful and polite and we had no complaints whatsoever.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kivanc O, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
What a pleasure to share such a momentous occasion, we are always happy to oblige. Only 10 years to book the next milestone, our only complaint is we’re still awaiting the reservation. Happy Birthday to mom from all the staff, and many many more.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

I booked the superior room, (which is a one bedroom) through Expedia. To my own stupidity I booked a room I did not want. I also booked a non-refundable purchase,which I made 4 months in head of time due to a surprise for my fiance.
At this point Im upset at myself cause the room I wanted was listed for a two bedroom, and didn't want to spend anymore money to upgrade. So I emailed the Hotel a couple weeks before coming, asking them if I could upgrade for free. They responded that they could give me a deal but I didnt want a deal.But once we got there they gave us our key and to my suprise I actually got the upgraded 2 bedroom I wanted for free. They not only made my fiance ecstatic about what he saw but me as well. The room is so beautiful and clean! Our first trip to New York was 95% the best due to The Marmara Manhattan! Thank you I already vowed to go there and only there every trip!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kivanc O, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Unexpected circumstances and difficulties are part of life and often come about by surprise. Our aim is to view them as only opportunities we strive to overcome with mutual benefit to all parties. Bold words to live by, yet rarely insurmountable by the dedicated staff eager to meet every challenge. Congratulations on your forthcoming nuptials, we will be expecting to have another opportunity soon when you book your Honeymoon. Thank you for allowing us to overcome those obstacles, as we are 100% happy you were here with us at the Marmara Manhattan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have always loved this hotel and we were reminded of that again recently. The staff are over the top in service and attention. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. We loved staying here and we will always come back.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kivanc O, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Personalized service and “over the top” attention is our motto, we cherish that you have “always loved” us, which truly makes our day. Thank you sincerely, and expect more of the same when we have the honor of your presence, as we now know you will “always come back”.
The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed at the Marmara for the fourth time last week. The apartments are clean and spacious, the location is terrific. Short walk to museums, local restaurants, shopping and subway. The staff is the best, knowledgeable, friendly and so accommodating. We would never stay anywhere else in the city.

HappyCamper0930

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kivanc O, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
The greatest testament and highest compliment is without doubt satisfied clients who return time and time again to enjoy New York from our home and yours here at the Marmara Manhattan. Many many thanks, we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marmara Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Manhattan

Address: 301 East 94th Street, New York City, NY 10128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#131 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#152 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marmara Manhattan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marmara Manhattan offers a combination of studio, one, two and three bedroom suites for your travel needs; whether it is for a few days of vacation or a few months of stay in the exclusive Upper East Side neighborhood. You will only be a short distance away from famous New York City attractions like the Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue boutiques. Our suites provide for all your comfort needs during a stay at your 'home-away-home' with fully equipped kitchens and plenty of sunlight. Hotel featues: Complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour concierge, 24-hour exercise room, art gallery, pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Marmara Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Manhattan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marmara Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;