We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marmara Manhattan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Marmara Manhattan to your Saves list
The Marmara Manhattan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 East 94th Street, New York City, NY 10128 (Upper East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Just got back from a wonderful 7day stay here.
We chose to go with a 3 bedroom apartment as we were a family travelling with parents & kids so wanted that extra bit of space & separate bedrooms that you wouldn't get in a normal hotel in NY & I'm so glad we did!!!
The apartment was actually bigger than our home! 3 spacious bedrooms with plenty of storage, including a walk-in closet in the master bedroom, with a tv in every room & ensuite to all too. We'd requested a cot for our toddler too & just expected the usual fold-up travel cot thing but was pleasantly surprised that it was a full size proper cot.
The kitchen was enough for what you need when away, cooker, hob, microwave, dishwasher, fridge/freezer & all the utensils you would need. Also a washer/dryer was hidden away in one of the cupboards in the hallway of the apartment.
The living/dining room was huge!!!!! Lovely big windows which helped you appreciate the view (on 28th floor helped too). From ours we could see downtown to the Empire State Building. Even managed to watch some of the 4th July fireworks!
Everywhere was clean, the apartment, reception area & foyer.
All staff we spoke to were very friendly & so very helpful (even sending up the maintenance guy when my parents couldn't get their suitcase padlock open!)
Subway station is a 5-10 minute walk away (they're building one which will be a 1minute walk!) & yes, it is an uphill walk to it but its not mount everest! There's a kids park right by the subway station too, which was great for our toddler to run off steam at the end of the day.
Supermarket, restaurants & bars near by too (Nicks right over the road do super Italian food.... big portions; The District, one avenue over, lovely food & family friendly; Barking Dog Luncheonette, great for a meal all times of the day)
I would agree with other comments that the hallways are a little dark............but that's just being very picky.
I'm sure we'll be staying there in the future.......thanks Marmara for making it a great visit to NY!

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up to get great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kivanc O, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Ultimately you take away memories; it’s our business to make them great ones--“thanks Marmara for making it great” is the business we love to do! We want to thank you for such a detailed and flattering feedback. The 3 bedroom accommodations, as you so clearly describe, must be seen to be believed. With the greatest promoter, you—“I’m so glad I did!!!!” will only make them all the more beloved. We can’t wait to see you again, as you say “we’ll be seeing you in the future”.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    243
    49
    17
    12
See reviews for
254
164
28
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

I booked a two bedroom apartment for a five day stay which was an 80th birthday present for my mother. The apartment was spotlessly clean and had great facilities. So much nicer than hotel rooms when different members of a family are meeting up. The staff were very helpful and polite and we had no complaints whatsoever.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kivanc O, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
What a pleasure to share such a momentous occasion, we are always happy to oblige. Only 10 years to book the next milestone, our only complaint is we’re still awaiting the reservation. Happy Birthday to mom from all the staff, and many many more.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I booked the superior room, (which is a one bedroom) through Expedia. To my own stupidity I booked a room I did not want. I also booked a non-refundable purchase,which I made 4 months in head of time due to a surprise for my fiance.
At this point Im upset at myself cause the room I wanted was listed for a two bedroom, and didn't want to spend anymore money to upgrade. So I emailed the Hotel a couple weeks before coming, asking them if I could upgrade for free. They responded that they could give me a deal but I didnt want a deal.But once we got there they gave us our key and to my suprise I actually got the upgraded 2 bedroom I wanted for free. They not only made my fiance ecstatic about what he saw but me as well. The room is so beautiful and clean! Our first trip to New York was 95% the best due to The Marmara Manhattan! Thank you I already vowed to go there and only there every trip!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kivanc O, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Unexpected circumstances and difficulties are part of life and often come about by surprise. Our aim is to view them as only opportunities we strive to overcome with mutual benefit to all parties. Bold words to live by, yet rarely insurmountable by the dedicated staff eager to meet every challenge. Congratulations on your forthcoming nuptials, we will be expecting to have another opportunity soon when you book your Honeymoon. Thank you for allowing us to overcome those obstacles, as we are 100% happy you were here with us at the Marmara Manhattan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have always loved this hotel and we were reminded of that again recently. The staff are over the top in service and attention. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. We loved staying here and we will always come back.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kivanc O, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Personalized service and “over the top” attention is our motto, we cherish that you have “always loved” us, which truly makes our day. Thank you sincerely, and expect more of the same when we have the honor of your presence, as we now know you will “always come back”.
The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed at the Marmara for the fourth time last week. The apartments are clean and spacious, the location is terrific. Short walk to museums, local restaurants, shopping and subway. The staff is the best, knowledgeable, friendly and so accommodating. We would never stay anywhere else in the city.

HappyCamper0930

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kivanc O, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
The greatest testament and highest compliment is without doubt satisfied clients who return time and time again to enjoy New York from our home and yours here at the Marmara Manhattan. Many many thanks, we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We recently stayed at the Marmara for a second time (the first was two years ago). Our first experience was very good, we stayed in a three bedroom/three bath apartment that was immaculately clean and well appointed. Our second stay was in a very different room. Although it was also a three bedroom unit, it felt like it was a room that was soon to be renovated. Two of the bathrooms had medicine cabinets with doors missing (open to metal shelves), kitchen counter was cracked and uneven, furniture was well worn. A couple of the closet doors were broken, and bedroom doors were difficult to open (may have expanded due to overuse of a/c?). I'm not sure why the rooms were so different. It's so difficult to find a large space like this in NYC, but I am now conflicted about whether we will stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask if the room has been recently renovated. You may need to actually see the room fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We are grateful that you remembered us so fondly and returned to enjoy the elusive and difficult to find three bedroom and three full bathroom 1500 square foot apartment style suites which are universally loved, some have been loved tougher than others, pardon us. The great news is we persistently strive to upgrade and improve our entire facility for your comfort and convenience, and have imminent plans to freshen all of our highly sought after suites. Please let us know when you are returning as we have every confidence we will be able to inspire you once again and resolve any conflict in your thoughts.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My wife Roseann and I just completed our 26 day stay at the Marmara Manhattan on E.94th Street. To say that we were pleased with our choice of accommodations in New York City is an understatement. We absolutely loved our time there; the l bedroom apartment was fabulous, spacious, with great views and tons of closets. But the best part off this place is the staff who are one-and-all absolutely awesome. Helpful, friendly, easy to talk to, patient, fun loving and just plain likable. We really felt at home from the start and it just got better day-by-day. The location is perfect for our needs. Convenient yet out of the really busy parts of midtown that from our point of view is overwhelming at times. Everything we like to do was accessible and we look forward to coming back next year. Jonathan Breault

Room Tip: We were on the 24th floor and we loved the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank You, Thank you, Thank you from the bottom of our hearts! One cannot find more appropriate words then a solemn and profound….Thank you.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Marmara Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Manhattan

Address: 301 East 94th Street, New York City, NY 10128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Family Hotel in New York City
#154 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#163 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marmara Manhattan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marmara Manhattan offers a combination of studio, one, two and three bedroom suites for your travel needs; whether it is for a few days of vacation or a few months of stay in the exclusive Upper East Side neighborhood. You will only be a short distance away from famous New York City attractions like the Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue boutiques. Our suites provide for all your comfort needs during a stay at your 'home-away-home' with fully equipped kitchens and plenty of sunlight. Hotel featues: Complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour concierge, 24-hour exercise room, art gallery, pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your The Marmara Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Manhattan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marmara Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.