We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in NYC - family of 3” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marmara Manhattan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marmara Manhattan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marmara Manhattan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 East 94th Street, New York City, NY 10128 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 452 hotels in New York City
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“First time in NYC - family of 3”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Positives: large, spacious rooms; big white fluffy towels; comfortable queen and sofa bed; full kitchen; laundry facilities; gym facilities; friendly service.

Negatives: noisy construction outside the hotel (not the hotel's fault)

Laundry is $1.50 per washing and drying load. You supply your own washing detergent. Laundry card can be purchased from the machine in the laundry room for $5 or you can use the one at front desk if they haven't lent it out to somebody else.

Friendly, superb and super-fast service. If you are staying longer than a week your room will only be serviced once. That wasn't a problem for us at all.

Nearest subway is uphill (not steep, more like a gradual incline) 96th street, only an 8-10 minutes walk, depending on how mobile you are. There is another subway on 86th street, but it is a bit of a walk. We didn't mind going to the 86th street station - we had a good look at the shops on the way.

Few convenience stores nearby: Rite Aid on corner of 2nd Ave and 96th street, Gristedes on 96th street. Ray's Pizza around the corner and Nick's (Italian restaurant)right across the road. There is also Nick's Bagels around the corner on 2nd Ave, worth checking out. Starbucks is nearby on 1st Ave (I think?) and 96th street opp. the subway.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It is a short walk to Central Park and to Museum Mile. Make sure you have a map on hand to get your bearings. It is a little far from the midtown/downtown district but once you're on the subway you'll be at your destination in no time. If you are staying for more than 7 days, a metrocard is the way to go. You can purchase these at the station.

A great hotel, nice and warm. Air conditioning in our apartment, windows open a little to let in some fresh air. It'll be great once the 2nd Ave subway station is complete (in 2016?), then access to and from the hotel will be super, super easy.

Thank you to all the staff and especially the doorman (who was interested in NZ hip hop music), for your kindness and hospitality. We didn't even get to know your names but we are truly grateful. A great stay thanks to your hotel. We would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Due to the construction noise outside the hotel, ask for a room higher up. We were on the 16th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at Marmara Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We really enjoyed your kind review. Thank you for emphasizing our unique housekeeping service options, having selected one of our customized plans. Once a week service was a great option, not only does this this increase the economic value, it is also a great help to our ecosystem in general. However, we offer an array of options, and of course customary daily service is offered for our traditionalist. “All the staff and especially the doorman” greatly appreciate your wonderful feedback, and “most definitely” will be eager to see you again.

Best,
The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    189
    38
    14
    8
See reviews for
203
131
23
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Clean, service very good, people gentle and kind. All that you need during a stay you can find close by to the hotel.
The apartments are spacious, light and with great views.
It's a very good to stay when you are staying in New York for over a week.
I recommend! It's my third time here.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at Marmara Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Third time is definitely a charm, thank you for coming back time and time again, it is always a joy. Rarely , when referring to New Yorkers do you find the words “gentle and kind”, you must bring the best out of us, thank you for your greatly prized loyalty.

Best,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed 5 nights beginning of April. First thing, hotel suites are spacious, clean, room service is friendly and front desk staff are very helpful, especially Vanessa. We loved the hotel and Nicks Italian food across the street is amazing! Only thing for us was we found we were a bit far from the city we came to see, bit of a trek to nearest subway and then it took about 30 minutes to Times Square area. Other than that if you want to stay in the upper east side this is a great place, plus not so noisy at night and you actually get some sleep.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at Marmara Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
“First thing” 2 girls is, we love your wonderful feedback. “spacious, clean, friendly and helpful” is hard to top, thank you. We are happy you highlighted the attributes of the Upper East Side, just far enough away from Times Square for a peaceful nights rest after an “amazing” neighborhood restaurant. Hope to see you soon.

Best,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed early march in this Hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The housekeeping was extraordinary and the room very comfortable. I recommend this hotel for a stay in New York.

The location is also very convenient. There are restaurants and convenience stores in walking distance.

The only temporary problem of this hotel is the subway construction, but this will end. So ask for a room in a higher floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a higher floor because of the subway construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at Marmara Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
The backbone and unsung heroes of every great hotel is embodied within housekeeping, thank you for pointing out their “extraordinary” efforts, each and every one are deserving of such high praise. Many thanks for sparing valuable time for this great review, and we hope for many, many return visits.
Best,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston Lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Our first over night stay in New York, staying for four nights. The deal we had appeared to be good value for money and was not sure quite what to expect in this part of New York. Situated on 3rd and 94th Street it is only 10 minutes to walk the two blocks to 96th Street for the Subway and another 10 minutes for a further two blocks to the wonderful Central Park. Near to the Marmara there are several good eating places offering exceptional food at value prices.
The accommodation more than fulfilled our expectations, having a large double bedroom with flat screen tv, a comfortable spacious lounge area and a fully equipped kitchen with all the necessary utensils, crockery, microwave, dishwasher and full oven. (Who needs to cook when in NYC). the bathroom was adequate but a little dated. Complimentary tea and coffee provided on a daily basis.
The staff at the Marmara were outstanding. Front desk were helpful with all our enquiries and nothing was too much trouble. Would certainly stay there again!

Room Tip: New subway being built outside but not too intrusive. visually a mess, but not much noise. (We slept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at Marmara Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We took a vote, and have positively found our new catch phrase, “New York New York- the Marmara Way” our talented staff are now working on the song, hey you never know. Earnestly we are delighted by your review touting everything from “value and location” to “outstanding” staff, however not worry we will give full credit for the title. We hope to have the first draft ready for your approval when you return.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This was our first time ever in New York City and we really didn't know what to expect. We booked the Marmara Manhattan with WestJet Vacations mostly because of the price and positive reviews here on Trip Advisor. We were definitely NOT disappointed. On the first night, we were in a decent one bedroom suite on the 5th floor. Although it was fine overall, it was too close to the noisy street below so I asked the front desk staff the next morning if there was another room available on a higher floor. Dennis was extremely accommodating and promptly moved us up to the 18th floor where we were thrilled to find ourselves in what was actually a two-bedroom suite with the second bedroom and bathroom locked off. We had a magnificent view of the city through the wrap around windows and large balcony. There was a spacious living/dining room and fully-equipped kitchen (dishwasher too!) and the bedroom had a comfy king-size bed, double dresser, huge closet and lovely ensuite bathroom. The location is very convenient as well with a Bagel Express and 24 hr grocery store right across the street. The subway station is an easy 10 minute walk away and the neighbourhood seemed very safe with lots of other shops and restaurants/bars nearby. The front desk staff was always helpful, especially Dennis! Thanks for a marvellous time in the Big Apple. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at Marmara Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
It is the greatest of pleasures to see our city through the eyes of first time visitors to our boundless city. We are exceptionally happy that we were able to host your first ever New York City experience and immensely flattered we were able to exceed the expectations of our new friends with no expectations. We hope you cherish your memories as much as we do, hurry back.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We have over the last 5 years stayed at the hotel. It is very good value for money with very nice rooms and wonderful views. Only negative is something that hotel has no control over and that is the building of a new subway so sometimes the roads around the hotel are closed. Staff are very welcoming and pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at Marmara Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
You are the dream of every Hotel, unfailingly and enthusiastically loyal. There are simply no words to express our gratitude, thank you.

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marmara Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmara Manhattan Hotel

Address: 301 East 94th Street, New York City, NY 10128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in New York City
#135 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#144 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marmara Manhattan Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marmara Manhattan offers a variety of accommodations for your travel needs; whether it is for a few days of vacation or a few months of stay in the exclusive Upper East Side neighborhood. You will only be a short distance away from famous New York City attractions like the Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue boutiques. Our suites provide for all your comfort needs during a stay at your 'home-away-home.' Hotel featues: Complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour concierge, 24-hour exercise room, art gallery, pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marmara Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Manhattan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marmara Manhattan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.