We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebration Trip to New York” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marmara Manhattan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Marmara Manhattan to your Saves list
The Marmara Manhattan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 East 94th Street, New York City, NY 10128 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Sussex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Celebration Trip to New York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

After much searching and discussion we settled on The Marmara Manhattan as the base for the five of us (Wife, me + 3 sons - 16, 25 & 29). What a great decision, our 2 bed-roomed apartment was fantastic, brilliantly equipped, well presented and a view of the Empire State building from our bedroom and the lounge. The Marmara is out of the city but a 10 minute walk gets you to the subway and 20 minutes gets you to Central Park. It was great to feel you were in a neighbourhood full of Americans rather than all tourists. A meal at Nicks (just over the road) is essential both for the great food but also to mix with the locals. Yes, there is work outside the hotel until 2016 but it wasn't that bad - work starts at 7 but isn't that bad (we like to sleep with the window open and didn't find it too bad). Anyway, you only have a few days so get up and make the most of this fantastic city. Thank you New York and thank you Marmara - you gave us a fantastic time. Get a New York pass, worth every cent as long as you use it as much as you can.

Room Tip: We were on the 21st floor - less noise from the road and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
“Fantastic, fantastic,…fantastic” it is impossible to ever tire of hearing such a description of your first stay here at the Marmara, Thank you, thank you, thank you! Now that you have made that decision, there is only one more family discussion needed---- which is the date of your return trip. It would be fantastic if it were soon.

Best,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    213
    42
    14
    11
See reviews for
222
147
24
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I needed accommodation for myself and my husband, son and daughter-in-law and two grand-children: a boy 10 and girl 5. The Marmara solved all my problems by providing a twin room for the children, with bathroom just outside the bedroom door; king-size room with walk-in-robe and en-suite for my son and daughter-in-law (next to the children's bedroom), and a room with a queen-size bed and en-suite for my husband and me. The beds were very comfortable. The children's room was the least spacious but there was plenty of room in the apartment as a whole and the six of us were comfortable the whole time we were there. The kitchen could be better equipped; we had to borrow a kitchen knife from our NY son. The location is more remote than we are used to for our stays in New York. The walk to the subway at 96th and Lexington was something you only wanted to do once a day, but then we never took advantage of the 2nd Avenue bus. The roadworks for the 2nd Avenue subway didn't create a noise problem at all, and there are several supermarkets within easy reach - two on the way back from the subway. When we complained that the air-conditioning in the children's bedroom was not working, it was fixed the same day. Unfortunately, as soon as we walked in, my grandson opened the floor-to-ceiling wardrobe door in their bedroom and it fell on top of him, frightening all of us and bruising him. It took a couple of hours for it to be fixed - it wasn't a simple job - and no-one actually apologised, which would have been nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed our huge Three Bedroom accommodations, they are rare find in New York. Many praise the “remote” location here on the Upper East Side as just far enough away from the craziness of midtown, yet a short subway ride to all the excitement, so pleased you were able to enjoy both worlds. I want to take a moment to offer my sincere heartfelt regret concerning the wardrobe, I am confident that was a grave oversight and truly not our intent, I apologize. Please keep coming back, we will keep a light on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The welcome was very professional. The staff were very helpful. The apartment was great - clean, spacious and very comfortable. Facilities in the apartment were also excellent. But the outside noise (we were on the 8th floor) was something nothing could have prepared me for - between the 24 hour traffic and the construction work there was no escaping it. I needed ear plugs to sleep. I strongly recommend using ear plugs if staying here to ensure restful sleep.

Room Tip: Go as high as possible to avoid the noise of the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We will never be able to divert the traffic, but each day of construction brings us closer to our very own greatly anticipated Subway stop. So sorry you were in need of the earplugs, but thank you for your greatly appreciated accolades. Looking forward to seeing you again when you will be getting off at the Marmara Manhattan stop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I would mainly recommend it for a long term place, not very fancy but still fancy enough. very cosy. the booking was very smooth, the apartments are good,some of them are better. and it's not overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
“cozy, smooth and good”!... oh, plus at a great value. Straight to the point, we like that, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atl, ga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

From the beginning, the booking agents were very helpful and friendly. I called several times to ask further questions, they were always willing to assist. We needed a three bedroom, 3 bath in a good location, the Marmara was wonderful. Rooms were spacious, beds comfortable and when we requested additional amenities, they were provided. The staff was well informed and helpful, especially Dennis Young, Concierge. He always has a smile on his face, professional and really made a difference. What is not to like!!

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
“What is not to like”?... that your “Excellent Stay” at the Marmara was not long enough! Thank you so much for being in residence here at the Marmara and taking full advantage of our “well informed and helpful” staff, they are thankful for your wonderful accolades. We will be waiting with anticipation for your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed here for a week and for the price, it was amazing, the apartment was spacious, high ceilings, amazing views of the city. I was on the 12th floor. The location was perfect for me, a short walk from the subway, local shops. The staff are great and always on hand to give you tips and advice should you ask for it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your direct approach, “great apartment” “great staff” and “amazing price”. Our work is done here except, to extend an open ended invitation to enjoy more of the same whenever you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed at the Marmara Manhattan with my husband for 4 nights at the end of September. Our 18th floor apartment was beautiful with a view of the empire state building. It had everything we could hope for and the bed was so comfortable. The location of the hotel was perfect, only a short walk to the nearest subway station. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The construction work outside didn't disturb us during our stay. Would love to stay again if we are lucky enough to return to New York.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmaramanhattan, Public Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
This great review will be hard to top! “Beautiful Manhattan Apartment” with a “beautiful Empire State Building view” in a “perfect location”, that will be tough to beat , but we will keep trying. Our “incredibly friendly” staff will be lucky ones, when you return to New York and choose the Marmara. Thank you for your kind words of encouragement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marmara Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Manhattan

Address: 301 East 94th Street, New York City, NY 10128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Family Hotel in New York City
#160 Business Hotel in New York City
#160 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marmara Manhattan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marmara Manhattan offers a combination of studio, one, two and three bedroom suites for your travel needs; whether it is for a few days of vacation or a few months of stay in the exclusive Upper East Side neighborhood. You will only be a short distance away from famous New York City attractions like the Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue boutiques. Our suites provide for all your comfort needs during a stay at your 'home-away-home' with fully equipped kitchens and plenty of sunlight. Hotel featues: Complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour concierge, 24-hour exercise room, art gallery, pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Marmara Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Manhattan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marmara Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.