We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 35 Herald Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 35 Herald Square to your Saves list
Hotel 35 Herald Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2201 (Formerly Comfort Inn Manhattan) (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #282 of 461 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have just returned from my 3rd stay at this hotel. It is situated in an ideal location in midtown near Macys and Empire state building. Metro is only a few short steps away. All the hotel staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Special praise and thanks go to Matt & Brian who were always ready to be helpful and prepared for any request large or small & were full of very helpful information.It is in the middle of a renovation but that did not make any difference to our fabulous stay. I am already booked to return in November when I look forward to see the revamped hotel.The breakfast was a great start to the day and the rooms were clean and large enough. Clean towels and toiletries were provided daily and there was always plenty of hot water. Altogether well worth staying there.

Room Tip: rooms at rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    71
    32
    7
    7
See reviews for
53
57
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I am still staying at Hotel 35 and will be for a couple more days. The staff are pleasant and helpful and the location is great, but that is about the only thing going for it.

The rooms are not a bad size, but the bathroom is so tiny it is borderline unusable. The toilet backed up on the first night, but it eventually resolved itself. The hot water is hit and miss, and the radiator makes the most awful clanging noise. I wouldn't be able to sleep if it weren't for earplugs.

The free breakfast is not great, stale bread, bad coffee and overcooked eggs. Brendan's bar next door was good, excellent service from Andrew the barman and the food was acceptable.

Maybe once the renovations are done it will be better, but until then don't bother.

Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked the hotel back in September when it was a Comfort Inn. We were made aware of the refurb work before we arrived, but to be honest this didn't cause us any problems.
We were instantly made to feel welcome, the reception staff were friendly and always on hand to help when we needed any advice.
The room was fine, clean towels and hot shower. A little dark and dated, but then we didn't go to NYC to look at a hotel room.
The breakfast was good, just enough to start the day and a welcome relief from the huge portions at every other mealtime!
The main plus point is the location. As first time visitors to the city, we wanted to be central to all the main tourist attractions and I don't think we could've been any closer. There is subway at the end of the street which we also used every day.
A special mention must go to Matt (bag storer, subway expert and weather forecaster amongst other jobs!).
Looking forward to seeing the results of the refurbishment

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidia G, Manager at Hotel 35 Herald Square, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hello,

Thank you for having chosen to stay at Hotel35 during your visit to New York City; we appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience. Weare delighted to hear that we met your standards during your stay and I will be sure to tell Matt of your kind praise.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel 35 in the very near future.

Best Regards,
Lidia Garibaldo
Guest Service Manager
Hotel35
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, 1/2 block from Macy's and just around the corner from the Empire State Building. The staff were courteous and the adjacent pub was awesome! The rooms are kind of small, but manageable, very clean, the only complaint would be the shower's water pressure, it was awful. I would definitely stay here again

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidia G, Manager at Hotel 35 Herald Square, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello,

Thank you for having chosen to stay at Hotel35 during your visit to New York City; we appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience. As we are in the process of renovating to upgrade our accomodations, your comments are assisting us in making the necessary improvements to our facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel 35 very soon.

Best Regards,
Lidia Garibaldo
Guest Service Manager
Hotel35
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent location and good sized rooms.
Staff are pleasant, friendly and helpful and working under very difficult conditions.

The hotel is a building site with floors 7 to 12 being renovated - more like rebuilt - and this affects the entire building as every single nail, bag of cement, sheet of plaster board or bucket of rubble has to be carried through the foyer and up or down in the two small lifts which also serve the guests and cleaning staff.
It is impossible to avoid the dirt and dust which is carried throughout the hotel. The pressure on the lifts is immense and there are significant delays at breakfast time as workmen are constantly going up or down, cleaners need to convey the housekeeping carts from the basement to the bedrooms and guests need to reach the breakfast room or need to escape the chaos. The stairs are not an option for those of us with limited mobility!

As been said, the room are dark and are over heated - temperature control has to be via the air-con as the windows do not open. Beds are comfortable but the bedding is frustrating as they use a duvet and sheet system that does not work as the top sheet is too small and you end up tangled in the sheet or sleeping in an uncovered duvet. Toiletries are provided. An ice bucket is also supplied - why, I don't know as there are no longer any ice machines or drinks machines on the half landings.

The hotel misrepresents itself on TA. Click on the 'Amenities' link under the main picture at the top of the TA page and you will find the statement:
"This New York City hotel offers the ambiance of a small European hotel. Superior amenities and features include free breakfast with hot waffles, free coffee and free weekday newspaper."
Yes, breakfast is 'free' (ie included in the room rate) as nobody would pay much, if anything, for it, but there are NO waffles (stale sliced bread is hardly a substitute), the free coffee in the foyer was withdrawn weeks ago and the rooms do not have a kettle. There are no newspapers at all.
The in-room booklet refers to room service from attached Anesis café - as this is now another building site, forget it! Brendan's Bar is still going, but does not supply room service.

The toilet backed up the first night, the water was cut off for over 14 hours - drinking water was eventually provided late evening - on the next and on occasions the room was not serviced until late afternoon. The booklet states "housekeeping is available until 4pm" so ask to have your room serviced early if you need to rest after a busy day as there is very limited space in the foyer since it was partitioned.

As the negative aspects of this hotel so outweigh the positive aspects it was impossible to ignore the effect this had on our holiday. We had stayed in the Comfort Inn on several occasions in the past and enjoyed its quirky character. If we had been made fully aware of the current circumstances at the hotel we would have gone elsewhere.

Room Tip: Wait until work is fully completed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidia G, Manager at Hotel 35 Herald Square, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. We are truly sorry to hear of your experience at our hotel. As we strive to make our guests have the very best possible experience during their visit, we are upgrading our hotel. However, I am sorry to hear that your stay was affected so dramatically during our transition.

Our wish is that you will return once again and give us another chance!

Once again, thank you for your feedback!

Regards,
Lidia Garibaldo
Guest Service Manager
Hotel 35
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here for two nights with my wife and kids. From the get-go, Matt was there to help us with anything from luggage to directions to issues with our room. He made our stay a great one! We reserved a room on the Empire State Building side (rm 606), and we were disappointed with our view. If we looked out our small window and adjusted our heads just right, we could see a part of the building. The room itself looked a little tired as well. Another concern I had was for those with very young and curious kids. Our closet had a wire along the wall connecting the closet light to the wall switch. While there was a conduit along the wall, there was a section right at the floor that had two wires connected with a cap. My only thoughts as that hopefully some child won't decide to unscrew that cap while the light is on, since that could be quite shocking....
Besides that, the beds were very comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was alright -- I had my coffee! Not a bad hotel given its great location and relatively reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidia G, Manager at Hotel 35 Herald Square, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello,

Thank you for having chosen to stay at Hotel35 during your visit to New York City; we appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience. As we have began our renovation to upgrade our accomodations, your comments will assist us in making the necessary improvements [and adjustments] to our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel 35 in the very near future.

Best Regards,
Lidia Garibaldo
Guest Service Manager
Hotel35
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here with some family who was also celebrating their honeymoon as well, in Downtown New York this was our 1st time to the Big Apple. Staff was awesome loved there service and yes the hotel had some things that could have been better but we choose to notice the positive and not focus on just the negative. The water being shut off longer than expected was difficult but didn't dampen the great time we had. Look forward to coming back and staying at the updated Gregory's. Thanks again from your friends from Salt Lake City, UT.

Big Matt and Family!!!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidia G, Manager at Hotel 35 Herald Square, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi Matt,

Thank you for having chosen to stay at Hotel35 during your visit to New York City; we appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience. Thank you for your high praises of our staff members [ expecially Matt and Diana] and our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back to Hotel35 in the very near future.

Best Regards,
Lidia Garibaldo
Guest Service Manager
Hotel35
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 35 Herald Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 35 Herald Square

Address: 42 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2201 (Formerly Comfort Inn Manhattan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#200 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 35 Herald Square 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City hotel offers the ambiance of a small European hotel. Superior amenities and features include free breakfast with hot waffles, free coffee and free weekday newspaper.Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms and access to fax services.All spacious guest rooms have irons, ironing boards, voice mail, safes, hair dryers and cable television. In addition, many rooms come equipped with sofa sleepers, microwaves and refrigerators. This hotel is a non-smoking facility.Accessibility and value are just two of the many reasons to select the Hotel 35 Herald Square. Our guests will experience personalized service from our attentive and friendly staff. Hotel 35 Herald Square is affordably elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 35 Herald Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn New York City
New York City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 35 Herald Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.