We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff; hotel in desperate need of a revamp” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 35 Herald Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 35 Herald Square to your Saves list
Hotel 35 Herald Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2201 (Formerly Comfort Inn Manhattan) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #237 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great staff; hotel in desperate need of a revamp”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had not been to NYC so we're so excited to be staying in such a great location on west 35th. This turned out to be true! However,the room we were shown to initially was unbelievable. Although there was s non smoking sign on the door, the room had emphysema- the walls, carpets and dingy bedspread stank of stale smoke. My partner broke out in a sweat carrying the bags in as the thermostat was stuck on raging hot with no possibility of turning it down except from the basement. We quickly ran to the window to get our first 'glimpse of NYC from hotel window' and found that we overlooked a brick wall. The hotel was very accommodating
about our disappointment and dismay and Milady at the reception found us another room overlooking the street. It was better and we could control the temperature a bit by using the air conditioner. This window mounted A/C had a
loud hum but it drowned out the city noise. The bed was comfortable and the room adequate (but for the need of a facelift) for a ten day stay. Breakfast was limited and we ate and drank from paper cups and plates. The main waiter did not speak to anyone and seemed irritated by the clients. He shambled around looking grumpy while other people did all the work .. Our first morning, there was a bowl of scrambled eggs upturned in a corner and no one had made any attempt to clean it up. The waiter shook the crumbs from a table cloth onto the floor next to me, turned the cloth upside down and reset. Mr personality ticked at me when I didn't know where to put a used tea bag and left it in a paper cup. He plonked a small bin in front of me and made a tremendous display of pulling the teabag out and putting it into the bin. I wondered if we were on a reality set for a remake of Fawlty Towers! Although there were these issues, the staff were amazing and the cleaners were outstanding. We loved Chabra who thoroughly cleaned our room each day and was pleasant and friendly. The owners are fortunate to have exemplary staff working for them. It is hoped that they upgrade and improve the looks of this former good-looker .

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    39
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel 30mins after arriving into NYC. For $99 on hotel tonight this hotel was amazing. Comfortable beds, clean linen, ample space, and free wifi and hot breakfast. What more could you ask for? I would definitely stay at this hotel again especially at that price.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked on line and was motivated by its great location and price. I was pleased with my choice, it's an ideal base from which you can walk and experience Mid-Town. The hotel is located between Broadway and 5th Ave., 5 minutes walk from the Empire State Building, 5 minutes from Macy's, JCP and great shopping. It is about 10-12 minutes from Rockefeller Center. These walks are based upon a marked lack of lingering and staring at the other sights. The hotel staff were great; helpful, friendly and went out of their way to assist if asked. My room was spotless, if anything, the bathroom was a little small but for a single guest it was fine. I plan to book a Spring visit with them and have no hesitation. It's a good place to stay.

Room Tip: I would ask for anything above 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Based on Tripadvisor reviews I read I had a sense of what to expect from Hotel 35. The Herald Square location was perfect for a two-night trip to NYC for a show and the Christmas decorations, and we got an-under-$200 price online. Besides the location, the pros were a fairly large room with a walk-in closet, new basic furnishings, good bedding, flatscreen TV, a working safe, and a surprisingly good breakfast included--not extensive, but good options. We also found the staff to be friendly and helpful. To go with this, you also are in an older hotel that shows its age. The bathroom looks retiled and upgraded but still has cracked paint. The carpet looked clean but dark from age. The room has the look of having been repainted, but repainted dozens of times. We had a corner room--1009--that was larger and had more windows than others we saw. This is not a luxury stay. But, having stayed at new and old small hotels in Manhattan, this is a good choice and we would stay at Hotel 35 again.

Room Tip: Higher floors for a little view. Room 1009 was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice, no frills, very clean rooms. The staff was accommodating and the location was excellent, really liked this place and will stay again. Check in and out was a breeze and the breakfast was adequate.

Room Tip: Get a high floor with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 4 nights and we couldn't fault this lovely small hotel.
The location was perfect for us for what we wanted to see and most of the staff were very friendly.
A special thanks to Michelle in reservations, What a lovely lady..it was a pleasure to meet you.. The breakfast was a great start to our busy days, the hotel was warm and inviting with lots of lovely features.
we would recommend this hotel and would definitely use this hotel again if we are lucky enough to visit NYC again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I will start with the pros. As other reviews have posted, this is in a great location of Herald Square. The doorman was extremely cordial and pleasant. Unfortunately, that was it. The rooms were a "decently" small size for NYC, which is quite understandable. However, the bathrooms looked like an old public school bathroom with tiny, draft window, poorly painted walls, and a door that had so many finger prints on it which only added to the "less-than-fresh" appeal that the rest of the room had. The bed was OK, but the room was extremely cold, and a call to the front desk was not very helpful, as the front desk attendant simply said "there's no way to control the heat, it is determined by the temperature outside." I found that interesting as outside's temperature was less than 30 degrees, you'd think that'd trigger the heat to kick up. No one was overly hospitable, other than the doorman as previously stated. I think this hotel needs to get its act together. The Travelzoo promo price was not the price I was originally charged, and luckily I asked to see my receipt, which caught that $60 error. They eventually credited my card back the extra charge, but it was annoying that the price wasn't verified before my card was run. The "free" breakfast had the worst paper cups (the small thin ones that burn your fingers and force you to use two), the worst plastic utensils (that couldn't smear cream cheese over a bagel), and nothing was very memorable. My room was on a higher floor as I had requested, but the noise from the street below was so loud that I was literally awake every hour by either boisterous passersby down below, or garbage trucks picking up trash from the street.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 35 Herald Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 35 Herald Square

Address: 42 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2201 (Formerly Comfort Inn Manhattan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#150 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 35 Herald Square 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City hotel offers the ambiance of a small European hotel. Superior amenities and features include free breakfast with hot waffles, free coffee and free weekday newspaper.Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms and access to fax services.All spacious guest rooms have irons, ironing boards, voice mail, safes, hair dryers and cable television. In addition, many rooms come equipped with sofa sleepers, microwaves and refrigerators. This hotel is a non-smoking facility.Accessibility and value are just two of the many reasons to select the Hotel 35 Herald Square. Our guests will experience personalized service from our attentive and friendly staff. Hotel 35 Herald Square is affordably elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 35 Herald Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn New York City
New York City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 35 Herald Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.