We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base for Mid-Town NYC operations.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 35 Herald Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 35 Herald Square to your Saves list
Hotel 35 Herald Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2201 (Formerly Comfort Inn Manhattan) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #246 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Ideal base for Mid-Town NYC operations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I booked on line and was motivated by its great location and price. I was pleased with my choice, it's an ideal base from which you can walk and experience Mid-Town. The hotel is located between Broadway and 5th Ave., 5 minutes walk from the Empire State Building, 5 minutes from Macy's, JCP and great shopping. It is about 10-12 minutes from Rockefeller Center. These walks are based upon a marked lack of lingering and staring at the other sights. The hotel staff were great; helpful, friendly and went out of their way to assist if asked. My room was spotless, if anything, the bathroom was a little small but for a single guest it was fine. I plan to book a Spring visit with them and have no hesitation. It's a good place to stay.

Room Tip: I would ask for anything above 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    39
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Based on Tripadvisor reviews I read I had a sense of what to expect from Hotel 35. The Herald Square location was perfect for a two-night trip to NYC for a show and the Christmas decorations, and we got an-under-$200 price online. Besides the location, the pros were a fairly large room with a walk-in closet, new basic furnishings, good bedding, flatscreen TV, a working safe, and a surprisingly good breakfast included--not extensive, but good options. We also found the staff to be friendly and helpful. To go with this, you also are in an older hotel that shows its age. The bathroom looks retiled and upgraded but still has cracked paint. The carpet looked clean but dark from age. The room has the look of having been repainted, but repainted dozens of times. We had a corner room--1009--that was larger and had more windows than others we saw. This is not a luxury stay. But, having stayed at new and old small hotels in Manhattan, this is a good choice and we would stay at Hotel 35 again.

Room Tip: Higher floors for a little view. Room 1009 was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very nice, no frills, very clean rooms. The staff was accommodating and the location was excellent, really liked this place and will stay again. Check in and out was a breeze and the breakfast was adequate.

Room Tip: Get a high floor with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here for 4 nights and we couldn't fault this lovely small hotel.
The location was perfect for us for what we wanted to see and most of the staff were very friendly.
A special thanks to Michelle in reservations, What a lovely lady..it was a pleasure to meet you.. The breakfast was a great start to our busy days, the hotel was warm and inviting with lots of lovely features.
we would recommend this hotel and would definitely use this hotel again if we are lucky enough to visit NYC again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I will start with the pros. As other reviews have posted, this is in a great location of Herald Square. The doorman was extremely cordial and pleasant. Unfortunately, that was it. The rooms were a "decently" small size for NYC, which is quite understandable. However, the bathrooms looked like an old public school bathroom with tiny, draft window, poorly painted walls, and a door that had so many finger prints on it which only added to the "less-than-fresh" appeal that the rest of the room had. The bed was OK, but the room was extremely cold, and a call to the front desk was not very helpful, as the front desk attendant simply said "there's no way to control the heat, it is determined by the temperature outside." I found that interesting as outside's temperature was less than 30 degrees, you'd think that'd trigger the heat to kick up. No one was overly hospitable, other than the doorman as previously stated. I think this hotel needs to get its act together. The Travelzoo promo price was not the price I was originally charged, and luckily I asked to see my receipt, which caught that $60 error. They eventually credited my card back the extra charge, but it was annoying that the price wasn't verified before my card was run. The "free" breakfast had the worst paper cups (the small thin ones that burn your fingers and force you to use two), the worst plastic utensils (that couldn't smear cream cheese over a bagel), and nothing was very memorable. My room was on a higher floor as I had requested, but the noise from the street below was so loud that I was literally awake every hour by either boisterous passersby down below, or garbage trucks picking up trash from the street.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

just returned from 4 day break in N.Y. Due to hotel location we were able to see all of the' main tourist sights' with ease!!!! Hotel 35 is a jewel to be shared!!! On entry we were greeted by friendly staff and given 2 rooms on the twelfth floor, one with a view of the Empire State Building, an unexpected bonus!!!! Both rooms were totally spotless, beds comfortable with good quality linen. The hotel bar and restaurant had a great atmosphere serving meals of a high standard!!! Breakfast provided a good selection of hot and cold food.
Every one of the staff we met treated us well,but special recognition must be given to Matthew, the attention he gave us was 'five star' any queries we had he answered and helped make our stay so special.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You can't beat the location with Hotel 35, especially around the holidays. It's a few blocks away from Macy's (you have to stop by Wafels and Dinges just outside) and right across from the Empire State Building (ask for a rear room). It's also near Koreatown with tons of great restaurants; I was excited to find a Bonchon just around the corner. Hotels are really expensive around this time because of the holidays and I'm really glad I came across this hotel after finding a good deal online. Our room was a little tight for three people, but we were only here for one night. And the free breakfast was definitely a bonus, with scrambled eggs, waffles, ham and pastries. It wasn't the best breakfast, but more than enough to get you started on your day. What I really liked about the hotel is all the old city charm, like the restaurant's lovely stained glass windows, and the staff. They were all very helpful, especially Matthew, who welcomed us and then did his best to secure my whole family a cab to the train station while standing in the cold.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 35 Herald Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 35 Herald Square

Address: 42 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2201 (Formerly Comfort Inn Manhattan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#162 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 35 Herald Square 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City hotel offers the ambiance of a small European hotel. Superior amenities and features include free breakfast with hot waffles, free coffee and free weekday newspaper.Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms and access to fax services.All spacious guest rooms have irons, ironing boards, voice mail, safes, hair dryers and cable television. In addition, many rooms come equipped with sofa sleepers, microwaves and refrigerators. This hotel is a non-smoking facility.Accessibility and value are just two of the many reasons to select the Hotel 35 Herald Square. Our guests will experience personalized service from our attentive and friendly staff. Hotel 35 Herald Square is affordably elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 35 Herald Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn New York City
New York City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 35 Herald Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.