We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally located and lives up to its name ... very comfy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Manhattan

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Manhattan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Manhattan
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2201 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #203 of 446 hotels in New York City
Chelmsford
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ideally located and lives up to its name ... very comfy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Me and my daughter stayed here for 4 nights and got back this morning. I have to agree with another 'reviewer' - really comfy beds, lives up to the hotel name. This is a very comfortable, friendly hotel in an ideal location for sightseeing: Less than 3 minutes walk to Macys and around 15 mins walk to Times Square. Matt on reception made our stay extra special. ..... so helpful, kind and great humoured! Breakfast is more than adequate and again all the staff helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay there again and recommend this hotel to our family and friends. Real value for money. It wasn't even that noisy at nights.

Lisa, Chelmsford

Room Tip: Non smoking, separate bed rooms facing out at the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    419
    587
    231
    91
    34
See reviews for
408
404
40
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

In regards to location it couldn't be better, with Macy's Time Square and Empire State Building within minutes walking distance could not flat at all.
Now with regards to the hotel you must remember this is a budget hotel, no frills just honest accommodation.
Staff thought out are welcoming and helpful the breakfast is acceptable as long as you like bagels or toast (hot breakfast is available at a cost) and there is free coffee or tea available however you have to get it from a machine in the lobby.

Bad bits.
Rooms are basic and beds are small. Through out the corridors there is a smell of tobacco however once in your room the smell sees to disappear. Shower is ok but tends to fluctuate between hot and cold whilst having a shower and toilet seems to get blocked easily (opps)

All in all I think you could sum up by saying that the hotel is old and could do with a little updating but as I said at the beginning this is a budget hotel and if you want posh then pay a little more and don't stay here.
All in all perfect stay for the time we were here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Manhattan, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Your comments strike the same chord over and over again in regard to our location.

Well thought out comments are always appreciated and we strive to listen and act as we hear from our guests. As a vintage hotel, we strive to keep our property to the highest level.

Thank you for staying with us at the Comfort Inn Manhattan and look forward to your next visit with us. Best regards, Harold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Comfort Inn Manhattan for my 30th birthday in May 2011. We chose it as it was reasonably priced and in an excellent location near to The Empire State Building, Macy's and right off 5th Avenue. The hotel was basic and dated with noisy air conditioning units that kept us awake especially when it rained. The breakfast was fair with bagels, toast, waffles, cereal and muffins. The lifts were very old and slow and it was easier to walk the stairs rather than wait for the 1 lift!! The staff were ok, the bar staff pretty rude but you expect that in ny! We did not spend alot of time in the room so it did not ruin my holiday but with no tea and coffee facilities, out dated decor, rude staff and the odd mouse we will not be choosing this hotel again!! Great location though!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Manhattan, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you for your taking the time to comment on the Trip Advisor.

I, as the general manager apologize for the issues you experienced in our hotel regarding the noise in your room as well as issue with the breakfast. We take these comments seriously and I will take every step to ensure that this does not occur again. I can personally add that this is an isolated incident and again, apologize for any inconvenience this caused you during your stay at the Comfort Inn Hotel.

At this time we are conducting a study using sound machines in order to muffle the noices in the rooms. If proven successful we will be equipping all our rooms with these devices.

In regard to our breakfast presentation we have been making changes and will continue to listen to our guests feedback. We hope to see you again in the near future, best wishes, Harold

Please feel free to contact me via email if you would like to discuss this matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

The hotel was in a great location and staff friendly, especially Matthew. I was staying with my husband and 16year old son (and paid for 3 adults). We were given a small dark corner room with a view of a brick wall. We requested a change of room and was offered another corner room with a slightly better view of a brick wall and fire exit, this did however have slightly more light. The only other room offered had one queen bed and a pull out sofa bed (which we had been told are very uncomfortable). With little choice we accepted the 2nd corner room and tried to make the most of our 4 night break. However we were woken at midnight from the noise in the next room which was due to an adjoining door, we could hear everything from that room, talking, laughing etc. The second night we had to bang on the wall for them to be quiet so that we could get some sleep. The beds were quite comfortable but sleep quality due to noise was poor. I did mention this to the Virgin rep whose answer was to speak to reception. Bathroom was also very cold in the mornings.
Overall the hotel is adequate if you do not have high expectations and rooms are clean enough. Breakfast is sufficient but they do run out of certain food if you are a little late down. Free coffee is good. Food at Brendans was good, didn't think food at Playwright Irish Bar was that good even with 20% discount.

Room Tip: Check don't have adjoining room if not needed. Noisy!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Staying in NYC for the first time can be a bit intimidating, but the Comfort Inn Manhattan helped us feel right at home. The folks at the front desk were always very accomodating, and eager to assist us with all of our 'touristy' questions. We walked everywhere or took the metro. My only negative was the breakfast, which is the usual, starchy, carbo loaded choices.

Room Tip: Yes, you can have a view of the empire state building, which is almost nextdoor- but you are looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Manhattan, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Dear Tammy!

We at the Comfort Inn strive to make our guests feel welcome and appreciate your complimentary review. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide outstanding service to all our guests!

Your review made my day!!!!!!

On behalf of myself and the staff at the Comfort Inn Manhattan we thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your next visit! Best Wishes, Harol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Another superb 5 day break in New York, we stayed at the Comfort Inn again, we definitely still recommend this hotel, superb quality, excellent size room, very clean, really good bathroom facilities, just all round value for money. The staff and management provide excellent customer service. Breakfast is good and sufficient for a start to the day. There is nothing at all negative about the hotel and staff. We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Manhattan, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
We at the Comfort Inn strive to make our guests feel welcome and appreciate your complimentary review. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide outstanding service to all our guests. We are delighted you enjoyed all NYC has to offer!

On behalf of myself and the staff at the Comfort Inn Manhattan we thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your next visit! Best Wishes, Harold




Your Comments:
This was our first trip to New York and we wanted to be close to all of the attractions of this great city. We chose this hotel for its location, just around the corner from the Empire State building and Macy's, a subway ride to Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, and short walks to the UN building, Grand Central Station, Broadway, Times Square, Central Park and the Museums, and because in the last year we have stayed at a number of hotels in the Choice Hotel Group and all have given us great value for money. This hotel did not let us down. It has provided the best levels of service we have experienced to date from within the Choice Hotel Group,and also the continental breakfast really set us up for the day. All of the staff went out of their way to be helpful and ensure our stay New York was memorable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

This was our first trip to New York and we wanted to be close to all of the attractions of this great city. We chose this hotel for its location, just around the corner from the Empire State building and Macy's, a subway ride to Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, and short walks to the UN building, Grand Central Station, Broadway, Times Square, Central Park and the Museums, and because in the last year we have stayed at a number of hotels in the Choice Hotel Group and all have given us great value for money. This hotel did not let us down. It has provided the best levels of service we have experienced to date from within the Choice Hotel Group,and also the continental breakfast really set us up for the day. All of the staff went out of their way to be helpful and ensure our stay New York was memorable

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Manhattan, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
First let me and my staff welcome your comments!

It is exciting to hear about NYC from guests who visit the city for the first time!

You certainly experienced all New York City has to offer and your stay at the Comfort Inn Manhattan (42 West 35th Street), met your expectations.

From myself and my staff at the Comfort Inn Manhattan many thanks, and look forward to seeing you in the near future..Best wishes, Harold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Manhattan

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Manhattan Hotel
Comfort Inn Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn New York City
New York City Comfort Inn
Address: 42 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#179 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Manhattan 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This New York City, NY hotel offers the ambiance of a small European hotel. Superior amenities and features include free breakfast with hot waffles, free coffee and free weekday newspaper.Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms and access to fax services.All spacious guest rooms have irons, ironing boards, voice mail, safes, hair dryers and cable television. In addition, many rooms come equipped with sofa sleepers, microwaves and refrigerators. Non-smoking rooms are offered.Accessibility and value are just two of the many reasons to select the Comfort Inn Manhattan. Our guests will experience personalized service from our attentive and friendly staff. The Comfort Inn Manhattan is affordably elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Tingo, EasyToBook, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.