We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel for a great city.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelling International - New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostelling International - New York to your Saves list
Hostelling International - New York
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   891 Amsterdam Ave., New York City, NY 10025 (Upper West Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy 3 Nights Get 1 Free
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great hostel for a great city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed here for a Mother daughter trip over Memorial Day weekend. Great neighborhood next to the subway station. Across the street you can get a slice and a coke for a great price too. If you are on a budget this is a great place to stay. Plus, I met some amazing people from all over the world.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    429
    120
    36
    26
See reviews for
33
29
535
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The place is conveniently located near the subway which meant it was easy to get downtown since where this place is pretty far away from downtown. Wifi was average had to reconnect every time you arrived back and it's pretty slow. Breakfast not included but cafe is located downstairs and is pricey. The rooms and showers are great really good their. Only other thing is if your not a member of this hostel chain you have to pay extra which is annoying but all in all it was a great stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Hostelling International New York is nothing but an experience.Unlike the Boston HI,Its not the cleanest or the most modern hostel you'd come across, but there sure is a great charm about this hostel.It starts from the fact that its in New York,the city that never sleeps.

Unlike other HI in US,they don't offer free breakfast for basic dorms and understandably the most expensive hostel in US because of its location in Manhattan but what it does offer is the outstanding social atmosphere.
Since i was traveling solo, i was looking to meet new people and i really met a LOT of people,thanks to the social events they have throughout the day..be it a central park tour,Marathon NY tour,pub crawl or a club night at Pacha for 5$,can you believe that??..entering Pacha on a saturday just for 5 bucks,we got through only because we were staying at HI...and on top of that the hostel folks were so nice to have organized a hummer limousine for us to get there just for 10$ per person.
Overall,i would highly recommend HI New York ,whether traveling solo or with a group of friends. Stay there and enjoy the parallel universe called New York.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I only stayed here one night but I will definitely book a bed here the next time I visit New York. The hostel is really big, clean and feels recently renovated. The staff was nice, the bed fairly comfortable and there were a lot of clean showers and toilets. Breakfast was not included but you could buy (good!) sandwiches and salads in the cafeteria downstairs. Also I really appreciate that they'd built in electrical holes (I can't come up with the word right now!) in the lamps so that you can charge your phone by the bed over night. Free but superslow wi-fi. It was quite expensive but I still think it was worth the money. Overall I am very satisfied!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed here with 25 5th graders and 11 chaperones for two nights. The rooms were clean and lockers available in each room. The bathrooms were clean. Although two shower stalls were unavailable in the ladies bathroom on our floor. The only drawback was that the elevator was out of order and that someone had taken all our cereal and crackers. The hostel gave us each a voucher for breakfast as compensation. Our students stay here every year and we have good experiences. The staff is very friendly!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I only stayed here for one night, but for a big hostel it does pretty well.
Great info desk, 24/7 reception, loads of activities on offer.
It doesn't have complimentary breakfast, but the cafe downstairs has pretty much everything you could want for brekkie. The rooms are relatively large, although don't get room 112 -- apparently every other room each bunk has a light and a powerpoint and there's none of that to be seen in 112.
That said, New York is an interesting place for a solo traveller. I think if you don't participate in group activities, it's more difficult to meet someone. New York has so much to offer, and everyone has their own agenda of what they want to do.
The communal areas are great, but the location is average. It's close to the subway, but it would be more convenient to stay a little further downtown.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I've been there 2 times. The first time I was travelling alone. I loved this place. There are so many free activities. For example you can visit Central Park with a guide or go on a new yorker pub crawl at night. The second time I went there, I was travalling with my a friend and my brother. We stayed three nights in this hostel. We were in a 6 bed dorm which was very clean ans silent at night. We had such a good time in this hostel! The staff was very friendly and always kean to help with anything! The location is perfect, in a safe area and only 10 minutes away from Times Square. It's also a great place to make friends from all over the world! On our first night the hostel organized a bbq and a jazz concert! Great way to experience the american life!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostelling International - New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - New York

Address: 891 Amsterdam Ave., New York City, NY 10025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International - New York 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-New York is located in a landmark building on the Upper West Side.One block from Broadway and a main subway line. Minutes from glorious Central Park. Situated near Central Park and Columbia University, the hostel is in a historic Victorian Gothic-style building on the Upper West Side. It organizes walking tours, sporting events, group outings to concerts and more. There is capacity for 672 guests, and facilities include internet access, kitchen and laundry. From an all-day walking tour to a viewing of a New York movie in our cozy TV room to a quiet cup of coffee in our cafe, Hostelling International New York has everything you need to make your group happy. Play the latest games on Play Station 2. Check your email without leaving the hostel. Wash and dry your clothes in our new laundry room on the second floor. Pick up subway/bus MetroCards, sundries, NY souvenirs, calling cards, and more. The hostel is located steps from the subways and minutes from Times Square and other major NYC attractions. Ask our friendly staff what they can do for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostelling International - New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - New York Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International - New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.