We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for large group” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelling International - New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostelling International - New York to your Saves list
Hostelling International - New York
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   891 Amsterdam Ave., New York City, NY 10025 (Upper West Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy 3 Nights Get 1 Free
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Huntersville, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great stay for large group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We brought 16 teenagers through NYC on our way to Maine. The staff was easy to work with, rooms were clean, bathrooms more than adequate, and the cafe inside was great! Loved having common areas to hang out in. Parking 15-passenger vans late at night was awful, but that had nothing to do with HI..just be warned!

Room Tip: A large group can have a room to themselves and not have to share
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    429
    120
    35
    26
See reviews for
33
29
536
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Staff was very helpful and the rooms were kept clean, but with such a huge complex, a large number of school kids staying on the premise, too many common rooms and alcohol banned it is next to impossible to meet other travellers on site.
Definitely not worth it for the price you pay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I love this hostel. It is my go-to hostel for NYC. I have stayed at another one before and it does not compare. For the price and the fact that it is a hostel, it is the best. The location is good enough to take transit everywhere. Tje rooms and washrooms are very clean. The eating area and kitcken is big enough. It worked really well for my weekend shopping trips to NYC from Ithaca.

The breakfast bar has awesome food for cheap prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I travel with my family to New York and we decided to stay in this hostel. At the beginning we were aware of everything, because it was the very first time we stayed in this kind of place but everthing was great.
First of all the rooms were very clean and with an incredible view. Second of all its very close from subway station and very quiet and nice neighborhood,
Hope to back soon.

Room Tip: Private Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Everything went perfectly well during my 3 nights (July 20-23) of stay here. I booked the premium ladies dorm. It comes with a breakfast which I think is sufficient for my appetite. The room is spacious compared to hostels I've been to (mostly in Asia). We're four in the room. The sleep quality really depends on your roommates. Luckily for me, my roommates are respectful of our spaces. The rooms and shared bathrooms are very clean. There are various activities like bbq, bands and free tour you sign up. It's also a good venue to meet new friends of various nationality. The staffs are very friendly and attentive to our needs. Room rates are affordable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stopped in HI NYC for 10 days in August 2012 - I loved every second of it!
Beds were comfy, rooms clean, bathrooms tidy!

The staff are very helpful, they organize daily trips/outings - I only participated in a Saturday night out, which was good, but the host got a tad too drunk and the setup wasn't the best.

The location for me was perfect, 2 min walk to two subway stations, a 15 min ride into the centre of manhattan.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hostel was fine, clean, lots of facilities etc. But the price was just TOO expensive for the location. You can walk to Central Park, but any of the other sights in Manhattan are a good 20 subway journey away. And getting to/from the airport is a bit of a trek too. There is lots going on in this hostel, comedy nights etc and lots of communal space and a cafe to buy breakfast. The kitchens were well equipped but the dorms were extremely hot and there wasn't really enough space. I would only suggest staying here to see the northern parts of Manhattan and not as your main accommodation.

Room Tip: I would choose a smaller dorm as we stayed in a 10-12 dorm which was way too crowded and hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelD_13, Manager at Hostelling International - New York, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feedback on your most recent stay. We hope your advice will help other travelers like yourself. Sorry to hear that our price and location did not cooperate with your budget and travel plans. Please let us know if you ever need to stay in NYC again and we are always willing to help you have the best time possible. Take care and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostelling International - New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - New York

Address: 891 Amsterdam Ave., New York City, NY 10025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International - New York 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-New York is located in a landmark building on the Upper West Side.One block from Broadway and a main subway line. Minutes from glorious Central Park. Situated near Central Park and Columbia University, the hostel is in a historic Victorian Gothic-style building on the Upper West Side. It organizes walking tours, sporting events, group outings to concerts and more. There is capacity for 672 guests, and facilities include internet access, kitchen and laundry. From an all-day walking tour to a viewing of a New York movie in our cozy TV room to a quiet cup of coffee in our cafe, Hostelling International New York has everything you need to make your group happy. Play the latest games on Play Station 2. Check your email without leaving the hostel. Wash and dry your clothes in our new laundry room on the second floor. Pick up subway/bus MetroCards, sundries, NY souvenirs, calling cards, and more. The hostel is located steps from the subways and minutes from Times Square and other major NYC attractions. Ask our friendly staff what they can do for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostelling International - New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - New York Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International - New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.