We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sub-par” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelling International - New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostelling International - New York to your Saves list
Hostelling International - New York
891 Amsterdam Ave., New York City, NY 10025   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sub-par”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The staff here really let down what could otherwise be a decent hostel. I understand that they are busy, but if not employing more staff sacrifices their overall efficiency and effectiveness then what a waste of everyone's time. At no point did I feel like anyone was genuinely interested in helping me when I made inquiries at the front desk. The rooms are musty and cramped, with beds that squeak at the slightest movement. The (single) elevator takes about 10 minutes for any given movement between floors, so much so that staying on the third floor for two weeks I think I only used it twice. I was charged extra to store my bicycle in a luggage room - $5 per day which was ridiculously steep. It is a long way from the trendy areas downtown, so $60/night to share a stuffy dorm with seven other people is robbery. I will never stay here again and I will urge others to avoid it at all opportunities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    395
    111
    34
    26
See reviews for
32
23
475
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed here for six nights and had such a good time! It's definitely the best hostel i've ever stayed at!!! Everything feels so clean and organized. We stayed in a 10 bed female dorm, the room was big and there was lots of space, every bed got it's own locker as well.. There's a café on the ground floor that serves sandwiches, paninis, bagels, soup.. You name it and the prices are reasonable. They also got a nice kitchen if you'd like to cook your own food, we never used it but from what u could see it looked nice!
The bathrooms are amazingly clean and i'm pretty sure they are newly renovated as well.. Even though this hostel sleeps A LOT of people i never had to wait in line for a shower..

The hostel is only a block away from the red subway line and about three blocks away from the orange line, both take you downtown in no time.. The staff is veeeery friendly and helpful, they'll help you out with pretty much anything..

We had a great stay, would go back and stay here again when i go back to New York!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

we stayed here while in new york, it is very close to the subway so the city is easily accessed from here. We also walked from the empire state building back to the hostel, waking by the side of central park, although it took a while it was a nice walk and cheaper than the subway ;)
The hostel is also right next to a section of central park and has good corner shops outside hostel for bits and pieces.
The area felt safe, there was internet/pc to use for a fee ,which was cheaper than other places.
Good service and lots going on and fun things being arranged for travellers, so if you were travelling alone you wouldnt feel 'alone'. We didnt get involved with this, we just wanted somewhere safe and clean to wash and sleep and thats what we got :)
The showers were perfect, i loved them, clean and private, with lots of space so all your clothes dont get wet!
The rooms were clean and we slept well every night.
Would stay again, although i would have liked the location to be a bit closer to sights, but 2 min subway ride isnt alot ot complain about!
They have a room for storing bags on day of check out for free which was good and they appeared safe and we got them back no problem in the evening when we were ready.
All other travelers were polite, respectful and friendly, felt relaxed here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lleida, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Spent 3 nights here during August in a 10bed dorm for females - was great! Each bed has a locker in which you can put your valuables in. It's also less than a block from a main line subway which has all the prefect stops on - times square etc and the atmosphere was amazing. Met people from australia, newzealand, diferent parts of america. The hostel even host tours and put on quiz nights and movie nights etc - I would go again!

Room Tip: bring a lock for the locker!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I only spent a night there. The location is less than a block from the subway. They offer everything you can think of from a coffee shop, a kitchen, movie night, library, tours, transportation etc. Very helpful staff and very active hub in general. Feels a lot like a dorm so if you are looking for a charming small spot this is not your place. It's was too busy for my taste and lacked personal attention. Very affordable. But it's not your mom and pop shop.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here during October 2012 and this was our third visit. We stayed as a family of four (including 2 teenagers 13 and 15) for 10 nights. We had an overnight flight from Las Vegas and arrived very early. We could leave our bags for the day and return later for check in. We had a private room which had a private bathroom. Our room had a queen size bed and a set of bunks, a small refrigerator, a coffee maker and a chest of drawers, together with hanging space. Since our last visit they have included a flat screen tv on the wall! Bathroom was spotless and fresh towels every day.

Subway close by (2 stations) and does not take long to get where you want to go. Supermarket right near the subway station, so could stock up to eat at the hostel (breakfast and dinner). Fantastic kitchen facilities. Wi-fi available throughout hostel.

We went on a lot of the tours that are offered by the hostel - Bronx, Greenwich Village, Harlem Gospel tour and Brooklyn. Fantastic value - $10.00 per person and the guides were full of information and if you did not know how to use/by a metrocard for the subway, they helped with this. Greenwich village your was supposed to be from 10.00am to 1.00pm but we did not finish until 4.00pm. Great day (lots of walking!). I would definitely recommend this hostel for families and the area feels safe with children.

I would stay here again. Absolutely love the hostel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eningen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed here with some friends from uni during a trip in February 2011 but wasn't able to select this date. I really loved the place I have to say. Everything was clean, very spacious yet cozy and staff was extremely friendly. The hostel is situated close to grocery stores, bakeries and coffee shops. It is also just around 2 blocks from Central Park which gives you the chance of a nice walk if the weather is on your side. The only drawback is that it is quite far away from the main tourist attractions (except Central Park) and the city centre. However, there is a Metro Station very close by and most things can be reached without difficulties, it just takes a while. I'd def recommend the place!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostelling International - New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - New York

Address: 891 Amsterdam Ave., New York City, NY 10025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 186 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-New York is located in a landmark building on the Upper West Side.One block from Broadway and a main subway line. Minutes from glorious Central Park. Situated near Central Park and Columbia University, the hostel is in a historic Victorian Gothic-style building on the Upper West Side. It organizes walking tours, sporting events, group outings to concerts and more. There is capacity for 672 guests, and facilities include internet access, kitchen and laundry. From an all-day walking tour to a viewing of a New York movie in our cozy TV room to a quiet cup of coffee in our cafe, Hostelling International New York has everything you need to make your group happy. Play the latest games on Play Station 2. Check your email without leaving the hostel. Wash and dry your clothes in our new laundry room on the second floor. Pick up subway/bus MetroCards, sundries, NY souvenirs, calling cards, and more. The hostel is located steps from the subways and minutes from Times Square and other major NYC attractions. Ask our friendly staff what they can do for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hostelling International - New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - New York Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International - New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.