We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelling International - New York

Save Saved
You added Hostelling International - New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostelling International - New York
891 Amsterdam Ave., New York City, NY 10025   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Fun 10% discount
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here during October 2012 and this was our third visit. We stayed as a family of four (including 2 teenagers 13 and 15) for 10 nights. We had an overnight flight from Las Vegas and arrived very early. We could leave our bags for the day and return later for check in. We had a private room which had a private bathroom. Our room had a queen size bed and a set of bunks, a small refrigerator, a coffee maker and a chest of drawers, together with hanging space. Since our last visit they have included a flat screen tv on the wall! Bathroom was spotless and fresh towels every day.

Subway close by (2 stations) and does not take long to get where you want to go. Supermarket right near the subway station, so could stock up to eat at the hostel (breakfast and dinner). Fantastic kitchen facilities. Wi-fi available throughout hostel.

We went on a lot of the tours that are offered by the hostel - Bronx, Greenwich Village, Harlem Gospel tour and Brooklyn. Fantastic value - $10.00 per person and the guides were full of information and if you did not know how to use/by a metrocard for the subway, they helped with this. Greenwich village your was supposed to be from 10.00am to 1.00pm but we did not finish until 4.00pm. Great day (lots of walking!). I would definitely recommend this hostel for families and the area feels safe with children.

I would stay here again. Absolutely love the hostel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    316
    104
    32
    25
See reviews for
28
22
379
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eningen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed here with some friends from uni during a trip in February 2011 but wasn't able to select this date. I really loved the place I have to say. Everything was clean, very spacious yet cozy and staff was extremely friendly. The hostel is situated close to grocery stores, bakeries and coffee shops. It is also just around 2 blocks from Central Park which gives you the chance of a nice walk if the weather is on your side. The only drawback is that it is quite far away from the main tourist attractions (except Central Park) and the city centre. However, there is a Metro Station very close by and most things can be reached without difficulties, it just takes a while. I'd def recommend the place!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights in a mixed 6 bed dorm.The rooms were clean.The bathrooms were clean as well.Loved the bagels in the morning.The location could have been better.The wireless was good as well.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I recently spent 11 nights here and it was fantastic. I was paying $59 per night to stay in a 'superior' room, a 6 bed (3 sets of bunks) room. The price included a breakfast - choice of cereal/bagel, choice of tea/coffee and choice of a piece of fruit (generally a banana or an apple). You could also purchase many other things - muffins, fruit juices, rolls, sandwiches etc.

The room was spacious, on arrival each bed has two pillows (hurrah!) a sheet, a blanket and a towel. You are also provided with a large locker in the room - but you need to either provide your own lock (medium or small sized would be best) or buy one from the hostel for a few dollars. The room was clean on arrival and must have been cleaned each day - I didn't actually see the cleaners as I was out each day.

Hot powerful showers (and toilets) are generally only a few doors away - soap dispensers are provided in showers and at sinks. Again these bathrooms are kept very clean.

Free wifi is provided throughout the building.

A well provided large kitchen is in the basement area with plenty of storage - cupboards, fridges and freezers. Also in the basement is the 'theatre' - used as a lounge/TV room but also for Stand Up nights and other events. There is also a locker storage area here - large and very large lockers which cost $5 per 24 hour period.

On the ground floor beside the cafe (which seemed to be open pretty much 24 hours a day - at least any time I passed it night or day) is an internet room with another lounge area with a pool table. Round the corner is the 'New York Room' another large lounge area which is used for welcome nights.

A laundry is on the 2nd floor (beside the lift) - $1 for a box of washing powder, $1.75 for the washing machine and $1.75 for the drier (one go on the drier dried things like jeans and fleece for me) - all in quarters (of course). Reception are happy to give you change.

The staff are fantastic - extremely helpful - and well used to answering the most obscure questions! A large number of activities/walks/visits are organised - I had my own plans and didn't actually participate, but feedback from room mates indicate these are very good.

Directly across the road on Amsterdam Avenue is a Pizza Parlour and a Chinese - both excellent. Round the corner between Amsterdam and Broadway on 104th Street is the amazing Malaysian Grill. On Broadway, roughly half way between 103rd and 104th Streets is a very comprehensive supermarket.

The hostel is well situated in the Upper West Side - within easy walking distance are Tom's Restaurant (the Seinfeld restaurant), Cathedral of St John the Divine (absolutely magnificant), and the northern half of Central Park. It's also a block away from the subway stop at 103rd Street/Broadway.

I know what it's like to arrive in the middle of the night, exhausted after a long flight, suffering from jetlag, nervous about being in New York, not having a clue about which way is east or north, not wanting to look a stupid tourist ready to be ripped off, I add the following directions!

On arrival on the 1 subway (the only one which stops here) on 103rd Street, when you get off, look for and take the 103rd Street/Broadway exit in the middle of the platform. There is also an exit which takes you out to 104th Street.

When you go up the steps and go through the exit gates, turn left.

You will now have to chose between two sets of stairs, one to the left and one to the right. Take the stairs to the right.

At street level (you are now on the north west corner of the 103rd Street/Broadway junction), on your left you should see a bank - Soverign/Santander, mainly branded in red. Keep this bank to your left as you walk down 103rd Street. After about 50m you should walk under a building awning which just has the number 2700 on it.

Now in front of you will be Amsterdam Avenue (one way traffic coming from your right). Cross at the crossing - and the hostel is the large red building in front of you! Go down the ramp and in to reception - and there you are. Easy!

Room Tip: Although I didn't experience any other levels, I found Level 4 (highest level) to be far away en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in, fantastically equipped, friendly and cheap. Although being quite far up the Upper West side, there are two central subway lines 2/3 blocks away that take you right into the heart of Manhattan. The hostel is spacious and the staff are very friendly. The living room area is welcoming with lots of sofas and a pool table, the outside area is inviting, especially in the early evenings when there are lots of people around. The dorms are all that you would expect from a hostel, bunk beds in rows, but each bed is provided with a locker large enough to put a rucksack in (remember to take a padlock!). The toilets and showers were clean but we sometimes had to wait for showers at busier times of the day. The hostel run lots of great activities to get involved in (bar crawls, club nights, tours), that were all great for a group of girls who didn't know the city! Would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone travelling or backpacking through New York!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hostel is absolutely brilliant. I looked at loads of hotels in New York and they were all at least triple the price of staying at HI New York. The staff are absolutely fantastic, always happy and polite and go out of their way to help you. The hostel is 1 block away (2 mins walk) from a subway station where you can catch the #1 train straight down to Times Square and all the way down to Downtown Manhattan.

I went with a friend and we stayed in a 6 bed female dorm which was spacious enough and clean, plus our room was across the hall from the bathroom - very handy! The bathrooms were immaculate and the ones on our floor (3rd) seemed to be quite new.

The only slight problem we had was that it was really hot when we went and the air con seemed to be on a timer, so we had to have the window open in the dorm which meant that we could hear all of the traffic noise from Amsterdam Ave all night long. This wasn't a problem when the windows were closed

The people and staff were all very friendly and there is loads going on every day which is perfect for the solo traveller. My friend & I already had our week planned out so unfortunately didn't get to take part in any of the activities taking place at the hostel. The room charge included a free breakfast which you got to choose from a toasted bagel with cream cheese or cereal, with a piece of fruit and tea, coffee or hot chocolate.

Don't be fooled into thinking that hostels are just for young people. During our stay we had 2 ladies in their sixties & one in her fifties each staying a couple of nights in our dorm and they all said that they felt very comfortable at HI New York.

If you are travelling solo or with friends then this is absolutely perfect place to stay in NYC. Great value and great experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 315 (3rd floor ) and were right across the hall from 2 immaculate female bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The HI-New York Hostel is quite a good deal, considering the very high cost of living in the Big Apple. I paid $50 per night, which bought me a bottom bunk bed in a room with three bunk beds for a total of 6 gentlemen. And the room was spacious enough to feel not at all crowded. The room charge also included a continental breakfast (cereal with milk, hot chocolate and a banana). A towel and shower slippers (flip-flops) was part of the deal.

The room was clean, well lit and had a few outlets for charging batteries. There was also one medium-size locker for each guest. Free WiFi was available from anywhere within the hostel.

In the hostel lobby, I found a reception desk, an information desk, and a very nice selection of bakery items at reasonable prices. There was a large TV lounge as well as another lounge called The New York Room.

I heartily recommend this hostel which is large, but offers so many activities which would apply to many guests, young and elderly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostelling International - New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - New York

Address: 891 Amsterdam Ave., New York City, NY 10025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 182 Specialty lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foreigners and out-of-towners meet and discuss travel plans in this large hostel. Largest hostel in the United States. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Hostelling International - New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - New York Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International - New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.