We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Seton Hotel to your Saves list
Seton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 East 40th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was a little hesitant about booking a room with a bathroom down the hall, but it was not a problem at all. The staff here are all extremely pleasant, the bathrooms are kept spotless and alhough the rooms are on the small size, it was a great place to sleep between adventures in The Big Apple. There are bathrobes and slippers in every room for those trips down the hall, and there's free coffee available (with real half and half) 24 hours.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    163
    35
    9
    11
See reviews for
62
164
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Seton. It's a good base in Midtown, a short walk to Grand Central and Pershings (amazing breakfast).

Great sized room for all your bags of shopping, nice shower and comfy bed. The only thing we would say is the room was quite cold. We had two windows in the room which let out a lot if heat and only 1 radiator!

Would defo recommend to friends and family!!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We travelled as a family of four and this was our first trip to New York, we arrived at the hotel we were early but our room was ready for us, we had a superior double which had its own bathroom and two lovely big beds, the rooms was really spacious with lots of room to put our clothes and suitcases, the staff were really friendly and any request we made was sorted within minutes, the rooms were clean and bathroom stocked daily with towels and other vanity items. The hotel is situated in a great part of town close to Grand Central Station and the Chrysler building. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

After much deliberation of whether to stay in an apartment or a hotel, my mother and I settled on staying at The Seton Hotel and were not disappointed. This was our first stay in NYC and we stayed 7 nights.

We booked a Premium Room with two double beds. The room was a decent size and very clean and although the bathroom was small, everything worked well. My only complaint was the very noisy window AC. Even though the hotel has been renovated, the AC's weren't upgraded. The AC was so noisy that we had to turn it off at night so we could sleep.

We loved the location of the hotel because we were far enough away from the noise and bright lights of Times Square, but close enough to walk there. When our feet were too tired to walk back to the hotel from Times Square, we caught the subway. Super easy!

The hotel does not have a restaurant, but there are 2 x 24 hr diners and a 24hr deli within a few minutes walk. Grand Central is also just a few minutes walk from the hotel providing more quick and easy dining options.

The free WiFi in the hotel worked fairly well, although sometimes I had go downstairs to reboot. The hotel also has 2 computers downstairs that guests can access. There is tea and coffee making facilities located on the same level as reception along with a vending machine and guest lounge.

The reception staff were very pleasant. Special mention to Da'ryl and the Irish gentleman (sorry I forgot your name). You were both very helpful, welcoming and made our stay even more memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Seton Hotel was the perfect spot for our quick NYC trip. We selected the Seton for its value and location and would definitely return. The front desk staff, Da'ryl and Maurice were so incredibly helpful and friendly. The rooms are small, but very clean with good showers and beds. There are plenty of great restaurants nearby and its a quick 15 minute walk to many popular attractions. Kudos to whomever designed the "guest lounge"...its adorable! Fantastic stay - thank you!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in October, four friends travelling from Scotland and Belgium. Every aspect of our stay was perfect. The rooms well thought out and spotlessly clean. I am amazed by some of the reviews I have read here, the one complaining that there were was no film choices flabbergasted me. Who goes to New York to sit in their hotel room and watch a film?!
Every member of staff we had dealings with was charming, polite, helpful and most importantly made us all feel special. Personal service is what all Hotel chains lack. Mostly now you check in are given a card to get in and out of your room and that,s the extent of the contact. Here, reception staff even remembered our room numbers when we collected our keys. Always a friendly chat on hand too. If you want to be nothing but a number go to one of the many chain hotels in New York. Want to feel special? Look no further than the Seton.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This Hotel is well located within easy reach of most tourist places. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but had everything you need. Free internet & coffee, house keeping was good, but what would make me come back was the service. Darlyn was tops when it came to making you feel welcomed, she went above what you would expect to help. Thank you, you made our stay a great one.

Room Tip: We stayed 1st floor, easy access to lobby, though there are lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seton Hotel

Address: 144 East 40th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#132 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#146 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seton Hotel offers a variety of rooms catering to international, value concerned travelers. We offer beautifully restored accommodations at affordable prices, making us an ideal Midtown East hotel choice. We have brought unique style and comfort to each accommodation. A few Budget Sandard rooms remain available. The new lobby, fresh and unique in its design, presents a striking arrival experience. And our new guest lounge is perfect for enjoying complimentary beverages, reading, relaxing in comfort. Be close to the city's major shopping and entertainment, as well as Grand Central Terminal, the United Nations, Park Avenue's corporate headquarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seton Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.