We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located economic hotel in Manhattan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Seton Hotel to your Saves list
Seton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 East 40th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well located economic hotel in Manhattan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Seton Hotel for 4 nights in October 2012. The double room comfortably accommodated my family (2 adults and 2 kids), the bathroom had all the necessary commodities.
Exceptionally nice and helpful front desk, 2 blocks away from Grand Central, close to everything.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miamicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is amazing. It's not like the newer hotels, though, but it had a lot of charm! Loved the staff, and our room was great. We did have to pay extra for a private bathroom, but it was worth every penny. It was a recently remodeled, so it was very clean and sleek. Would definitely recommend to anyone that wants to stay a little out of Times Square. (It's win walking distance still!) it was also really quiet at night! No pool though!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had a group staying at the Seton Hotel and worked closely with Leslie and her team to work out the details. From the moment we arrived, everyone worked diligently to accommodate us and deal with any problems that arose. It is a unique boutique property, but all of our rooms were renovated and met our expectations. They have a small lift (sort of like an elevator) that isn't the fastest, but the property is only 6 floors and there is a staircase towards the back. We would absolutely recommend this property and stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davehr66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here from Dec 20-23 2012, and were very impressed by this hotel. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly, our room was clean and quite spacious for NYC, the bathroom was clean and well stocked, and the location was perfect for walking to Times Square and other attractions.
This hotel was so comfortable and friendly that we felt quite comfortable leaving our laptop and ipods etc out, even though there is no room safe (we placed our passports in safety deposit at front desk).
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family, and I would definitely stay here again myself!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LLCoolDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I will never book a room again with this hotel given their canellation policy. They refused to refund after I called over 24 hours in advance and told them about a medical emergency involving my toddler. I accept that their cancellation policy is 48 hours but I have never encountered a business refusing to make an exception for a child's health reason. Bad policy, Seton.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MDDCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leslee60, Owner at Seton Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
I am so sorry that your child was too ill to make the trip to New York. We do our best to create policies that provide flexibility for our guests. Generally speaking our cancellation policy is consistent with the industry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here for a small impromptu Army buddy reunion. Everything about the Seton Hotel is excellent..the staff, the rooms and of course, location, location, location! I will be returning for a getaway with my husband.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nichaa5222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great location for my annual Christmas visit to the city with my family. The room was nicely decorated and very quiet. The linens and towels were pleasantly fresh and the floors immaculate.
Overall enjoyable stay, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,986 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#264 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,316 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#173 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#305 of 466 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,155 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#35 of 466 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,110 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#155 of 466 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seton Hotel

Address: 144 East 40th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#120 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#146 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Seton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seton Hotel offers a variety of rooms catering to international and value conscious travelers. We offer beautifully restored accommodations at affordable prices, making us an ideal Midtown East choice. We have brought unique style and comfort to every guest room. There are several different room types including an economy option with shared bathrooms. The new lobby, fresh and unique in its design, presents a striking arrival experience. Our guest lounge is perfect for enjoying complimentary hot beverages, reading or relaxing in comfort and style. Close to the city's major shopping and entertainment venues, as well as Grand Central Station, the United Nations and many Park Avenue's corporate headquarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Seton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seton Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing