We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in a great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Seton Hotel to your Saves list
Seton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 East 40th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off Advanced Booking
Ranked #147 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great little hotel in a great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here from Dec 20-23 2012, and were very impressed by this hotel. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly, our room was clean and quite spacious for NYC, the bathroom was clean and well stocked, and the location was perfect for walking to Times Square and other attractions.
This hotel was so comfortable and friendly that we felt quite comfortable leaving our laptop and ipods etc out, even though there is no room safe (we placed our passports in safety deposit at front desk).
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family, and I would definitely stay here again myself!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    136
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
52
133
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MD
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I will never book a room again with this hotel given their canellation policy. They refused to refund after I called over 24 hours in advance and told them about a medical emergency involving my toddler. I accept that their cancellation policy is 48 hours but I have never encountered a business refusing to make an exception for a child's health reason. Bad policy, Seton.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leslee60, Owner at Seton Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
I am so sorry that your child was too ill to make the trip to New York. We do our best to create policies that provide flexibility for our guests. Generally speaking our cancellation policy is consistent with the industry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a small impromptu Army buddy reunion. Everything about the Seton Hotel is excellent..the staff, the rooms and of course, location, location, location! I will be returning for a getaway with my husband.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great location for my annual Christmas visit to the city with my family. The room was nicely decorated and very quiet. The linens and towels were pleasantly fresh and the floors immaculate.
Overall enjoyable stay, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Hi there,
My girlfriend and I stayed at the Seton Hotel from the 30th of November to the 8th of December and then again from the 10th - 14th after a two night stint in D.C. We had a comfortable stay at the Seton and loved the locality...2 blocks from Grand Central Station and 42nd St Sub-way, a few blocks walk from beautiful Bryant Park and 5th Ave and the magnificent Chrysler Building.
Firstly we stayed in an unrenovated room with a private bathroom on the ground floor...Room 110 I believe which was nice and comfortable and when we arrived back from D.C. we stayed on the 3rd floor (311 from memory) in a renovated room. The renovated room was actually slightly smaller than the unrenovated room downstairs but the bathroom was larger and much nicer. The bed kept knocking the wall with the slightest of movement which was a little annoying but all in all we were comfortable. The service was excellent, including the front desk. The Irish guy was a little rude but everyone was very helpful....particularly the gentelman with glasses and the brunette lady at the front desk...they were really great. I actually ran into the owner when we checked-out and thanked her also. Free Tea/Coffee and little TV lounge were a nice addition.
We had a comfortable stay and the Hotel is a great launching pad from which to explore New York City.
All the best from Australia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leslee60, Owner at Seton Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. Letting us know that the headboard in 311 needs attention is very helpful. We will figure out a way to secure the headboard so that future guests will not be disturbed. Any time you have a problem consider letting us know during your stay and so that we can rectify the situation as soon as posible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint James, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have stayed at many reasonably priced hotels in Manhattan. Normally they have at least one negative aspect; whether it be poor location or extremely small rooms. The Seton Hotel has a great location provides great service. Overall, the hotel is very clean, well maintained, and nicely decorated, making for a very comfortable stay. It is walking distance to beautiful Bryant Park, a cozy little diner right up the block where we had breakfast, and Grand Central Station. I highly recommend it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A friend and I stayed for a week at The Seton. We went on the basis of another friends recommendation. It was fabulous. The advice I got - pay extra and just book a renovated room. So we did and it is more than worth it. We had a double twin room with bathroom - room 609 and it was lovely. Spacious, clean, hot showers and quiet for a good night sleep! The staff were fantastic, lovely little touches of free apples every day, room cleaned and beds made - everything was spotless. I would recommend - and will recommend - it to anyone! Excellent vlaue for money and in a fantastic location in midtown - local restaurant - Blooms - did a cracking breakfast with great service too. I literally cannot praise it enough.

Room Tip: Room 609 was lovely - pay extra for a renovated room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Seton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seton Hotel

Address: 144 East 40th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#103 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#132 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seton Hotel offers a variety of rooms catering to international, value concerned travelers. We offer beautifully restored accommodations at affordable prices, making us an ideal Midtown East hotel choice. We have brought unique style and comfort to each accommodation. A few Budget Sandard rooms remain available. The new lobby, fresh and unique in its design, presents a striking arrival experience. And our new guest lounge is perfect for enjoying complimentary beverages, reading, relaxing in comfort. Be close to the city's major shopping and entertainment, as well as Grand Central Terminal, the United Nations, Park Avenue's corporate headquarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seton Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.