We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the Location and Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Milburn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Milburn Hotel to your Saves list
The Milburn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   242 West 76th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 457 Hotels in New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't beat the Location and Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As other travelers have noted this hotel is in a wonderful location - especially nice when you want to retreat from the hubbub of midtown. It's nestled among the wider residential Upper West side streets and very convenient to restaurants (new French restaurant Keyser Maison directly across from the hotel is excellent) and grocery stores /delis and subway. Our room was on the 13th floor and a good size for two - bathroom was not particularly small. Kingsize bed was extremely comfortable, much needed after a full day of sight-seeing. Kitchenette a bonus. The hotel definitely has an older feel but in a classy way - lobby is clean and well-kept. In our room, you could see signs of scuffed paint or carpet that's a bit worn. Cabinets in bathroom also on the "economical" side in terms of fit an finish. We had a floodlight in our bathroom that didn't work and we inquired twice to get it fixed but it never was addressed so we gave up, figuring maybe it was more than just the light that needed repair (electrical?). In all, staff were very helpful, attentive and friendly. Continental breakfast gives you just the basics (cereal, pastries, fruit, bagels, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs) - on weekend they break out the waffle makers. If you need a bigger breakfast you'll need to frequent the nearby restaurants. We can easily see ourselves returning and we'd recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    351
    82
    28
    38
See reviews for
279
191
47
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The main reason for 4 stars is the value: for the price, this place is a bargain on the upper West side. (76th between West End and Broadway).
But, not a fancy or luxury property at all. Probably hasn't been renovated or remodeled in many years. Rooms are no nonsense, but clean and comfortable. Most rooms have small "kitchens," but nothing elaborate. Bathroom was very (Very) small, but everything clean and in good working order.
Breakfast included (good waffles!) But very there early because the dining room is very small and fills up quickly.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Looking for someplace that feels like the traditional upper west side apartment - stay here. Updated to be comfortable it keeps the feeling of a pre-war building. Good size closets, comfortable bed and great location near subway and buses. Easy to get cabs, great food in the neighborhood, etc. Would stay again. However, don't expect much from the continental breakfast. On the weekend it was very crowded, only plastic plates, etc. No protein for miles and overwhelming white food. Go elsewhere and get great bagels, eggs, etc. Can't give good ratings for value given that it's in NY and in December EVERYWHERE is expensive.

Room Tip: The king suite was very roomy. Tea kettle, microwave, refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is in a great location (easy walk to subway and Central Park) and is reasonably priced. The lobby has an older, classic feel to it, and it is nice. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was a bit small, which is to be expected in Manhattan. Very nice to have the fridge and microwave. The linens were only changed out if you requested it and the room did not always appear particularly clean. The room was straightened, trash emptied and towels renewed each day. We were there 4 nights. The view left much to be desired (looked onto another building). It is on a nice quiet street and is within walking distance to markets, shops and restaurants. The complimentary breakfast was great in terms of selection and for budget considerations. The breakfast staff were wonderful. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If available, get one of the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Genuinely friendly, efficient service, comfortable room, great neighbourhood, easy access to central Manhattan, reasonably priced. What more could you ask for? Well, there is also the advantage of having a fridge, microwave, cutlery etc. tucked away in a small side room, and no problem obtaining supplies in local shops.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was recommended by a friend. It is in a great location (you walk almost everywhere), the staff are helpful and friendly. I liked having a small kitchenette for snacking. I recommend it and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: a room not facing the inner courtyard would probably be better though I left my window open at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had an excellent experience at this hotel. Our room was large, immaculately clean, quiet, and comfortable. Staff is pleasant and helpful. The decor is a little "tired"--chipped Formica and a faucet that made strange noises--but we had no major complaints. We love that neighborhood. I will stay there again.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Milburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milburn Hotel

Address: 242 West 76th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#136 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Milburn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious all-suite hotel with large rooms located on the picturesque Upper West Side on a quiet residential street, close to the center of Manhattan, local restaurants, shopping and theatres, with free continental breakfast, exercise room, free WIFI, kitchenettes in every suite - great for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Milburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milburn Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Milburn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.