We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Manhattan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Milburn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Milburn Hotel to your Saves list
The Milburn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   242 West 76th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Yonkers, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We booked a single night here as we were meeting relatives to go to dinner and the theatre. What a pleasant surprise. As we had tickets for Top of the Rock, we arrived early and were pleasantly surprised to find our room was ready!!! The rooms are clean, have small kitchenettes and nice bathrooms. The beds are comfy and there are flatscreen tvs. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. There is a breakfast buffet on the first floor. Very conveniently located with stores, restaurants and only 3 blocks to the subway, what more could you ask for. Taxis are readily available on Broadway if you prefer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    352
    82
    29
    38
See reviews for
284
192
48
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We recently visited New York city over the holidays and found the Milburn to be a very comfortable and peaceful place to stay during such a busy time of year. The hotel rooms were very quiet and comfortable. The kitchenette was quite small, but had the necessities such as mini fridge, microwave and a few dishes. Ideal for reheating prepared food picked up at one of the many local gourmet grocery stores (one does not go to New York to cook meals!) The staff were extremely friendly and polite. The breakfast room tends to be very busy and there was a line up each morning we went. However the staff are quite accommodating and cleaned up tables as soon as people leave. The location is perfect if you want to escape the craziness of Times Square - just a few blocks walk to the subway, near many nice shops and restaurants, a nice stroll to Central Park. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I went in NY at the Milburn Hotel, at the end of October for the NY Marathon. The hotel was good, but it only offer breakfast, in a really small room that does not permit to find easily a table. If you go downstairs, in the breakfast room, very early in the morning you can found a table, otherwise you have to wait. Very often, outside the breakfast room, you can found a long queue of people that wait a table. The employees are very kind and the room are clean. The bathroom is very small ( I was in a triple room). I think that there is something to revisit for improve the quality of the hotel.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed at the Milburn as our usual spot had no vacancy. The suite was well-appointed and the staff were incredibly friendly and very efficient. The complimentary continental breakfast had everything that we were looking for. Although it is an older building, the room and common areas were very clean and everything was in great shape. It is obvious that the staff take pride in their hotel.
The hotel's location on the upper west side is great. It is three short blocks from an express subway stop, and there are several local markets in close vicinity. It is a very short jog to get to an entrance into Central park.
I would definitely stay at the Milburn again and highly recommend it to anyone looking for reasonably priced accommodation on the upper west side.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assisi, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Have been going back annually for close to THIRTy years,prices have gone up during this time but is still both a bargain and a gem.We stay there for a month each year,so either we are a bit " funny" or this is Truly the gem we think it is ! Perfectly located and no pretentioust.We always take an apartment above the tenth floor.Breakfast included.Do NOT book,we want the hotel for ourselves !

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, CT
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Good hotel with lots of amenities for the price. Rooms are spacious with a sitting area and a separate bedroom. Beds were very comfortable as were the pillows. Fitness center was very nice with both cardio equipment and dumbbells. Staff was friendly and courteous. Breakfast was decent with cold cereals, bagels, pastries, and yogurt. Bottom line is if you are looking for a clean, comfortable and reasonably priced hotel in this area then this is a solid choice...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I used to love the Milburn and stayed there numerous times over the years. Last time, I had to cancel my reservation which they would not let me do, even though I called in keeping with their stated cancellation policy. Person who answered the phone was rude, as was the "manager" I then spoke with. I had to go through my credit card to have them reverse the charge from the Milburn. Please avoid this hotel. There are many suites hotels in New York that respect their customers.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlburnhotel, Owner at The Milburn Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We try to accommodate all guests who have a cancellation problem, but were unaware until we read your post. Your reservation was for 14 nights, which required a 7 prior day cancellation. It was cancelled only 3 days prior by phone to a desk clerk, so the system automatically generated a one night charge. Had you contacted or asked to speak with the management office, especially as a returning guest,.they would have been pleased to arrange a credit towards your next stay, and we look forward to your doing so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Milburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milburn Hotel

Address: 242 West 76th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#126 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#137 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Milburn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious all-suite hotel with large rooms located on the picturesque Upper West Side on a quiet residential street, close to the center of Manhattan, local restaurants, shopping and theatres, with free continental breakfast, exercise room, free WIFI, kitchenettes in every suite - great for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Milburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milburn Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Milburn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.