We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My NY home away from home.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Milburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Milburn Hotel to your Saves list
The Milburn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   242 West 76th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“My NY home away from home.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I have been staying at the Milburn for over 25 years. It is my NY home away from home. I love the neighborhood, a curious mixture of working class and gentrified population, lots of good eateries, and above all, a cozy corner to sleep. Over the last years I have found the beds a bit uncomfortable (they could use changing) and some of the rooms a bit run down, but the hotel's location and warm staff balance this out. Prices are average for NY, still not in-expensive. Also you will undoubtedly meet interesting people here. Good for families, as well as solos and duos.

Room Tip: room overlooking courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    344
    82
    28
    38
See reviews for
275
187
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed for two nights during the first week in April. We were pleased with the accomodations. We are a family of four, and we booked a standard suite which consisted of a bedroom with king sized bed, and a sitting room with a pull out sleeper sofa. There was also a small kitchenette (closet-sized with microwave and sink) and an even tinier bathroom. Rooms had nice decor, and the access to wifi was a bonus. My only complaint was the bathroom size. The bathroom consisted of a shower/tub, a toilet, and a pedestal sink. There was no counter space whatsoever, so using things like a hair dryer and curling iron proved difficult, and there was no place to put a toiletry bag. The toilet itself was also so close to the shower, that your elbows would hit the sliding door of the shower. However, since we were to spend most of our time outside the hotel, we were fine with the cramped bathroom quarters. The staff was very attentive, and provided extra sheets and pillows when necessary. They also stored our luggage on our last day there, since we had a late night train out of the city, and we wanted to tour til the last minute.

The breakfast in the morning was a nice addition. Saving money on food is always a plus. The selections included bagels, pastries, cold cereal, yogurt, and some fruit. The gentleman running the breakfast room was efficient, and patient with children.

The location is great...........right on the #1 subway line. This provided easy access to wherever we needed to be. The area is interesting -- a mix of residential and commercial, but it was nice not to be right in the middle of the hub-bub of Times Square. We enjoyed walking through the quiet neighborhoods, and the hotel is located just blocks from Central Park. Definately go to Beard Papa's for a cream puff if you are in the area! We never felt unsafe, and we were often coming back to the hotel during the dusk hours.

We would stay here again, but we would definately ask for a suite with a bigger bathroom. Clean, comfortable, and all you really need for a quick trip in and out.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed here in a double room for one night this week. It had a small kitchenette. The beds were very comfortable. No view out of the window...an ugly courtyard. The bathroom was clean. Felt safe walking in the area. The room itself was clean just not spotless. The air conditioning was hard to regulate but it did work. The room could use a really thorough cleaning but it was not "dirty". Continental breakfast was bagels, juice, coffee(no cream-just milk), cereal, yogurt and some fruit. Nothing fancy but fine. The staff was very helpful and nice.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Germain en Laye
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed a week at the Milburn and enjoyed the large, well kept rooms, the huge bath room, the excellent location, the good and nourishing breakfast, and last but not least the friendly, welcoming and very helpfull staff. The Milburn definitely contributed to the success of our vacation and we warmly recommend the place!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed in the hotel as we wanted to be located in the upper west side. The rooms were large and the kitchen area proved useful for the kids. The breakfast was great and the two members of staff who worked in the breakfast area were great and very helpful as I was there with my two small children. The comp internet was very useful and the overall ambience of the hotel very charming. The only downside was that one of the lifts was broken with no sign of imminent repair, The access to the pool not possible as it was being renovated and the room was not completely spotless. However, good value for money and I would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlburnhotel, Owner at The Milburn Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thank you for favorable comments about our hotel and it's staff - we try very hard to provide the best service for our guests. The elevators are being completely modernized with new equipment and cabs, with one temporarily being shut down - perhaps the informational sign was not on its easel that moment. We think you will be very pleased with the new elevator service.
Pool access is a courtesy extended to Milburn guests by a modern community center a block away, but is not part of the hotel, and should be available again soon.
We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The price, location, and amenities are just right at the Milburn Hotel. Our family of four hopped on the subway to see the sights and came back to nice restaurants, stores, and nearby Central Park. We walked to and from the Guggenheim on the last morning. A one-bedroom was comfortable for us. Kids had access to play station, DVDs, and computers. Continental breakfast was CROWDED after 9:00, so get there early to get a table. They cooked excellent waffles on Friday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This past weekend, my wife and I stayed at The Milburn for our 4th time. The staff are very accomodating and were helpful the entire weekend. Nice size rooms at a moderate price and steps away from the Beacon Theatre, Zabar's and the world's best cream puffs at Beard Papa's. I highly recommend the Milburn when you want a safe neighborhood with many of New York's finest ammenities within walking distance.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Milburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milburn Hotel

Address: 242 West 76th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#138 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Milburn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious all-suite hotel with large rooms located on the picturesque Upper West Side on a quiet residential street, close to the center of Manhattan, local restaurants, shopping and theatres, with free continental breakfast, exercise room, free WIFI, kitchenettes in every suite - great for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Otel and Tingo so you can book your The Milburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milburn Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Milburn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.