We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Incentra Village House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Incentra Village House to your Saves list
Incentra Village House
32 Eighth Ave., New York City, NY 10014 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 96 New York City B&B and Inns
atlanta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great location, price ok, rooms ok, staff very nice and helpful. Would stay again. Bathroom was small but updated and you are in NYC so how much time are you really going to be staying in the room anyways.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    28
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
29
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Just OK place where the location is in fact everything. Apart from that and the staff niceness, rooms are what you would expect for the value, packed with useless stuff, a bit noisy (depending on the room) but spacious and clean. If one can put that aside, location for the value is amazing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is a very rustic property with lots of charm. The rooms are fine and feels like staying at grandmas! The kitchenettes and bathrooms are fine too.
The positives are the location. West Village is amazing and there is so much on your doorstep. It has such a nice feel compared to midtown. It is also good value when you compare to the rest of New York.
The negatives are the noise from the street, the stairs to get up to the rooms (we were on the top floor) and small rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

On a recent vacation we made a quick two night side trip into the big city and stayed at Incentra Village House. My last visit was 12 years ago-- Many of the same staff operate the house. The staff went out of there way to be friendly and accommodating. I noticed many upgrades since our last visit and it is apparent that they are taking good care of this Gem. Incentra is in a great location close to 14th St. Subway. We stayed in the Garden Room and were very pleased. The room was clean, well laid out, and equipped with a kitchen, nice bathroom, and a charming outdoor garden area. We really enjoyed being able to walk the neighborhood to many great restaurants, shops, and theaters. We look forward to a future stay at Incentra.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times a year for about 10 years. I love this place! The rooms are clean, comfortable and safe. The fully equipped kitchenette is a lovely perk. The location is surrounded by wonderful restaurants and charming streets. You can stroll to the Meatpacking District and Highline or hop on the bus to Central Park and Theatre District. The best perk of all is the weekend manager Vincent. He welcomes you as a dear friend who makes your visit more enjoyable. He is a font of information and keeps the 150 year old building humming along. Incentra has a new owner and my fear is that he will raise the prices to more than I can afford.

Room Tip: Tv reception is limited. I prefer the rooms on the second and third floors of the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If you want a power shower, marble floors and a king size bed then its probably not for you but if you want rickety, dusty and quaint then its the place to stay at the centre of the place to be. A great team and great location near 8th/14th St subway.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem then go for one of the lower rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I had meetings in Chelsea and couldn't bring myself to pay $400/night for an impersonal hotel experience. However I didn't want to end up in a space that was run down. Incentra Village House was the perfect place for me! Very friendly and efficient staff - from booking all the way through my stay. I had the Dakota room at the back which was quiet and so comfortable. The room had a microwave, sink and fridge. It had an AC unit which worked great. The TV was small - really a computer monitor - but I don't watch TV so that was fine. Great area with tons of coffee shops, restaurants and stores. I was initially worried about it being on busy 8th Ave but it felt like walking into a sanctuary each evening. This will be my goto lodging every time I come to NY.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Incentra Village House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Incentra Village House

Address: 32 Eighth Ave., New York City, NY 10014
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Incentra Village House, an Historic Inn, was built in 1841, and occupies two brick landmark townhouses in New York City's Greenwich Village Historic District. As an attractive alternative to Midtown's steel and glass, the Village House offers our guests a warm welcome in our cozy double Victorian parlor which boasts two fireplaces, antique furnishings and artwork, and a 1930's baby grand piano. All of our guests are welcome to relax in our parlor with our supply of newspapers, magazines, and books. To get to your room you'll wander down narrow halls and up charming old stairways to one of 11 unique rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Incentra Village House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Incentra Village House Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Incentra Village House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.