We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a great price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Americana Inn to your Saves list
Americana Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #364 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Burgum, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great hotel for a great price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 4 days, and were very satisfied. The staff was friendly and helpful, room was comfortable,clean and with plenty of space for New York standard. The room had everything we needed just like the (shared) bathrooms which at first we were a little nervous about but we didn't have to wait a single time to use it and it was clean at all times. Location was wonderful as well, we could reach most touristic places by foot and there are multiple subway stations very close to the hotel. Don't worry about the noise either, of course you're in the most noisy borough of the city but we didn't have a single problem with it and slept great. Only little disappointment was that there was no free wifi available. We had to pay 6 dollars a day which is a bit ridiculous considering it's 2015 and you're in one of the most modern cities of the world, if you do pay for it you'll get good working wifi though.We checked out at about 10 am but since our flight didn't leave until 6.30 pm we were able to store our luggage for free in a secured room so we didn't have to carry it with us all day. Besides the wifi we had a wonderful stay and will definitely stay here again when visiting New York.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    216
    113
    46
    41
See reviews for
38
134
88
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

It was our first and exciting trip to NYC. My daughter and I wanted to spend New Year in Times Square NYC. Everything was fine until we arrived at the hotel room and discovered there are only shared bathrooms :( which is very uncomfortable. We tried to cancel our hotel reservation and they will not give us any reimbursement. Then, the next morning we tried to take a shower and there was no hot water, only freezing water. Also what was very uncomfortable that the hotel room was not very clean. This was our first bad experience at a hotel :(

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

I should better prepared for when I was walking into it. Until I arrived, I did not realize that there are only shared bathrooms. However, just as a plAce to sleep for a night it wasn't bad. I also felt at the hotel had excellent customer service. When I arrived at the hotel manager allow me to upgrade to three beds instead of one for no charge. I was only staying for 8 hours. The location was perfect for our walk to Madison Square Gardens.

The noise level was pretty terrible. All night long you could hear cabs honking horns and everything else outside the window.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Stayed one night, a couple blocks away from Times square and so on. Its a basic hotel with shared bathrooms were very clean and quiet when i was there, rooms are small and basic. bed was comfortable, sheets clean. Can't complain. Bathroom on third floor needed a bit of maintenance. Wifi in lobby if you need it, otherwise use your phone as a hotspot. If your looking for more luxurious places, right around the corner there's a couple hotels selling rooms at +$300 a night.... This place is fine for the price considering the location.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

It was our first trip to NYC. We were going for two weeks, and two weeks in NYC does stretch your budget. We had to decide early on with comfort vs location, and quickly settled that we do really want to stay in Midtown with much of the sightings reachable on feet. So we ended up with Americana Inn.

The rooms are tiny, have washing basin and AC. The bathrooms and showers are shared, there are about 5 on each floor. In practice we never had to queue up, there was one readily available.

The first few days we were issued a 2nd floor street facing room, with a fine view onto 6th avenue, there was even classic New York fire escape stairs out of the window. As enjoyable as it is, it was too noisy for my wife to sleep comfortably so we asked the staff for a quieter room. No view at all there and another 3 floors up, but it was quiet.

The rooms are clean, the staff was helpful and friendly. WiFi is provided courtesy nearby hotel, but the coverage can be spotty.

The location, though.. you ARE there, a 5 minute walk from the 5th ave shopping, the Broadway and Times Square, a 10-15 minute from the Grand Central, Rockefeller Center, MoMA or the Empire State. A 15-20 minutes to the Central Park or to Flatiron.. and so on. Beats hours of commute from NJ or outskirts of Brooklyn, and made the trade-off worthy for us.

There is a very affordable, Michelin star (!) restaurant (Cafe China) in the same block with the hotel, you don't even have to cross the road. We dined there much of our evenings. There's a deli across the road and a couple coffee shop chains.

All in all I would recommend it, if the idea of shared bathroom doesn't terrify you.

Room Tip: Yard facing rooms on the upper floors are fairly quiet. Street facing rooms on low floors are noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014 via mobile

i needed a cheap hotel near Penn Station for one night. It turned out to be not cheap in comparison with other hotels. I was amazed that I did not have a bathroom. The room was like a prison cell. The bed was hard and uncomfortable. It was noisy. There was nothing good about this hotel. The best part of my stay was leaving. You can do much better for the same money.

Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

i don't understand how people can critize this place i mean this is not a luxury hotel but when you consider the value ,price and location this little place is among the best in town period. the area is very safe within blocks of everything the rooms are clean and the staff is friendly in my experience, me and my honey we go to new York every summer for a getaway no kids just the two of us and we always have a good time,in new york is all about the location,you don't go there to stay in your room lock up, all the fun is outside so you just need a place convient that is clean so you can crash after a long night out,you get my point so stay at the more expensive hotel if you like but for me i can't wait for next summer most likely this is were I'll stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Inn

Address: 69 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #364 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Americana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel New York City
Americana Inn New York
Americana Inn Ny City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.