We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$90 Thanksgiving Weekend ... Midtown Manhattan ... Clean. You Really Can't Ask For More.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Inn

Save Saved
You added Americana Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Americana Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Garment District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #346 of 446 hotels in New York City
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“$90 Thanksgiving Weekend ... Midtown Manhattan ... Clean. You Really Can't Ask For More.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Uhhh ... "Kelly R" from New Jersey, your fiance lied to you. "[A]lmost $300 for one night" is more than the rack rate for this establishment. Maybe something you want to keep in mind before you walk down the aisle with Mr. Moneybags.

We stayed Fri and Sat night after Thanksgiving and FOR THE PRICE, this place cannot be beaten. It's clean and mere blocks from Times Square, Herald Square, The Empire State Building, & Rockefeller Center. And if you want to go elsewhere, multiple subway lines are nearby.

Something that wasn't clear to my wife -- yes, you'll be sharing a bathroom with other guests but the bathrooms themselves are private baths. It's not like a gym or your college dorm. There are a number of full, private baths with locking doors on each floor. The hotel was fully booked the weekend we were there. Nonetheless, the bathroom a few short steps from our room (#515) was always available (and spotlessly clean). Also, you'll have a sink in your room ... which brings me to my only complaint about our entire stay, the water pressure on the 5th (i.e., top) floor is poor.

Three different people worked the front desk during our stay and we had a short conversation with our housekeeper. All were very nice. Yes, the walls are thin so if you're unlucky enough to stay near loud people ... put in the ear plugs you were smart enough to bring with you!

If you've read this far, you'll likely be surprised to hear that we'll most likely choose a hotel with bathrooms en suite for our next stay. This place is honestly a great deal but now that we're in our 30s ... errr ... 40s, my wife and I realize that paying the extra freight for your own bathroom is worth it. For you whipper-snappers, go for it!

Final thought, I've read in other reviews that the front desk is sometimes slow to buzz you through the front door. That wasn't our experience, although we returned after 1 a.m. Friday night and after midnight Saturday night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the quiet side of the building. We stayed in #515. Zero view but don't forge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    233
    119
    41
    37
See reviews for
27
117
73
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Brunswick, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Me and my fiancée stayed one night and we couldn't have checked out faster.....They have communal bathrooms which no where on their website indicates this! My fiancée paid almost $300 for one night. If you are okay with 80 square foot room with paper thin walls, a full size bed, a lavy, a roll of toilet paper, 2 plastic cups, 1 towel, a noisey a/c, a 19" flat screen tv that only get 3 channels, then I would say "by all means book". WORST EXPERIENCE EVER. Def gives of the "hostel" vibe.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Americana Inn is a great find. We have never stayed where we had to share bathrooms but it was not problem at all. There seem to be quite a few bathrooms dotted around each floor. The location is fantastic and about 20 minutes walk to Time Square which you don't notice as there is so much to see along the way. There are a few subway stations near by too.

the hotel also has an extensive room service menu with local places that you can order 24 hours. If you want to be in the heart of Manhattan you can't go wrong with this place for value.

Room Tip: If you are light sleeper you may find it hard to sleep, the air conditioner is a whole in the wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Avoid if you can.
1. It's cheap but I wouldn't say it's a hotel. More like a youth hostel.
2. It has very small rooms with thin walls. Our neighbors were very amorous the night we stayed there.
3. The lobby and rooms are clean.
4. I think it has permanent residents because a homeless looking man staying there leered at me like I moved into the wrong neighborhood.
5. The air conditioner is bolted to the window which blocks the exit to the fire escape. Very safe.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a hostel not a hotel that feels like it used to be a hospital. THERE ARE NO PRIVATE BATHROOMS. when we booked online it didn't indicate anywhere that there was shared bathrooms. The rooms are small but no big deal. Location is fantastic. They SHUT OFF THE WATER during our stay an hour before check in without telling us. It is extremely loud, if your a light sleeper forget about it. Everything is of poor quality. Poorly maintained but they do a decent cleaning job. All the employees seem unhappy. Worst thing is I think I found a CAMERA inside the tv that was carved in and installed. I had to hang a jacket over the TV. I am not 100% sure if it was recording but the place is so sketchy so who knows. Worst experience I ever had, I cancelled my other two nights and went up the street to a 4 star hotel for $40 more per night

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Location is really good and that's just about it. The hotel is not well-maintained as the windows are dirty, some of the tiles are cracked/peeling, etc. They sometimes forget to clean the area under the bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The location of the hotel is great, easy to walk for all Times Square, Broadway, 5th Avenue and other attractions. It felt safe and friendly and the rooms and bathrooms were clean (but not spotless).
I was under the impression that I booked a room with a bathroom, but there was none. However, there were enough bathrooms available, it was not a major problem for us.
The major problem was that the rooms are extremely noisy, there is no isolation at all, it feels like sleeping on a highway!
Price-wise I simply wonder who makes the millions with such a property. Very few employees, and surely not well paid, and the prices you pay are just outrageous! Value for money very poor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Inn

Also Known As:
Americana Hotel New York City
Americana Hotel New York
Americana Inn New York
Americana Inn Ny City
Americana Hotel
Address: 69 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 446 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Americana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.