We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so place with great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Inn

Save Saved
You added Americana Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americana Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Garment District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #351 of 452 hotels in New York City
Omsk, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So-so place with great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

What is really good in this hotel is location: many sightseeings are at a walking distance.
But when it comes to the place itself... Well, the room is too small, from my point of view. However, I would mention that it is very clean and nice there, there are enough bathrooms on the floor. One more - there is no REAL kitchen, unless you believe that a kitchen includes a tiny fridge and sink with no oven or microwave whatsoever.
Yet another problem is wi-fi.. They don't have any wi-fi at all, and you have to use the desktop at the reception with payable Internet...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    195
    104
    41
    37
See reviews for
32
122
76
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Expectations: this is not a 5 star hotel, so if that is what you are expecting, stay away!!! That being said, I would highly recommend this hotel and stay there again. We were looking for a clean place and good location and the Americana Inn met both of these with flying colors. The rooms were small and dated, but always cleaned, nothing turned up missing, and the staff were more than willing to help with whatever we needed. I was worried about the shared bathrooms, but like the other reviews stated, the were never crowded, always clean. We were in NYC during a heat wave, so the a/c unit had trouble keeping up during the day but was comfortable enough while sleeping. Our room was on the corner of 38th and 6 ave, so yes it was loud from 7am until 12am. If you are going to NYC to sleep or hang out in your room during these times save your money and stay home. If you are reading this and are like me, someone who is worried about a clean bed and clean bathrooms, you have no worries. Stay here!!!

Room Tip: I was nervous booking this room, but it turned out perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I spent almost one week in this hostel, as a word hotel does not fit hear at all, in June 2013. We were on our honeymoon trip with my husband. I must admit, that the location of the facility is great, but this is the only thing, which is advantageous. Rooms are small and noisy, bathrooms are shared (!). The air conditioning in our room was so loud, that when we started it, we could not hear our thoughts. Room service is OK, but the floor of the room was never clean and one of the bath tubs was stuffed for three days, before anyone fixed it. My overall opinion about this place is poor, it is my worst “hotel” experience ever.

Room Tip: There is no such thing, as a good room in this facility. Choose the one with the quiet AC, if you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

-Very good service !
-Best location !! 5 min. Walk to time square .
-Clean .
-noisy
-small rooms
-Best place to stay on a limited budget . ----
.................................................................................................................

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proctorville, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Americana Inn is in a great location on 38th street and Ave. of the Americas, it is easy to walk to shopping in Manhattan and to Times Square. Subway is close. The hotel is very basic, not fancy at all, just simple beds and sink and mirrow, with a small t.v. But you are in New York, You don't need that room for anything other than sleep.
The maid service was good, bathrooms were clean (not in the room, but it worked out fine), staff is friendly, place seems safe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taoal
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Found the Americana Inn in Priceline, goid price, if going in May or after during the summer, bring a fan, as there us ni A/C or ceiling fan, shared bathrooms are very clean.
They are walking dustance away from Broadway, Empire State Building etc, subway , taxi or bus for the rest.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

After booking the hotel i read the reviews and got scared.
How ever on arrival it seems like the place is in the final stages of a paint job and a bit of an over haul. Yes the amenities are very basic and yes you do share a bathroom but everything is fresh and clean. I had a single room which was very small with a sink and small flat screen tv but comeon your in the centre of manhatten you only need somewhere to sleep not spend time in. And for the price this is a bargain. Pretemanger next door for your healthy dinning options and i was able to pick up there free wifi in the room. Dont be scared this is a rare one.


  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Inn

Address: 69 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 452 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Americana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel New York City
Americana Inn New York
Americana Inn Ny City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.