We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room is ok but not the front desk manager” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americana Inn to your Saves list
Americana Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Garment District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #364 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Room is ok but not the front desk manager”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The review on Tripadvisor really help. Since I have a small budget and I did not expect much from the hotel, honestly, I was prepared for the small room and shared bath room, as it is stated in the hotel description. The hotel though is very old but thanks to the room chamber maids, they are cleaned in the afternoon and evening, to avoid the congestion in using the bathroom, please avoid the rush hours.

Due to the room chamber maids are not on 24 hours, so the toilets could be messy after the morning peak hours.

The services levels for the chamber maids and the housekeeping man are good but no the front desk person, he was so unfriendly, I think he worked with his mood, and response to the person he likes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    211
    112
    45
    40
See reviews for
36
134
85
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel advertisement on the website I used for finding it wasn't clear in regards of the shared bathroom, which was very annoying to me but I could cope with it since it was just an overnight stay. I wasn't satisfied at all, since they don't have Wi-Fi on the rooms, not even one of those you have to pay for.

The location is great, that it is. But you definetly don't get your money's worth for a $200 stay in something like that. It is definetly not worth it and if I knew it was so bad I would prefer paying more for a better hotel.

The room was very clean, though. You could smell it was very well kept and there was no dust around. I can't complain about that and even though I wasn't satisfied at all, I will remain fair.

The shared bathrooms were VERY clean, as well. I didn't feel too much of a discomfort to be honest and wasn't a hassle but for families, I don't advise it. It's better to pay more for privacy and comfort.

As far as I'm concerned they didn't provide breakfast.

The reception staff was quite distant and borderline rude. I didn't expect anything different, if you know...

The hallways had a noisy floor and you could clearly hear people walking and talking outside. The walls didn't seem to be very sound proof either.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the street on the 5th floor. The window was soundproof and worked very well at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My friend and I love NYC! For an affordable hotel stay, reminiscent of "room & board" the Americana Inn makes the grade. Friendly staff, central location, very clean. Though no en-suite bathrooms, there are several on each floor, and NEVER a line. Yes, there is street noise so ear plugs are a must. Remember to request extra towels and facecloths ahead of time. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Occasionally I stay at a hotel like this to check it out as a lower cost option; I was sadly disappointed! The rate was about $150/night, which is not a cheap date, even in NYC at different times, and there were other options at the same rate this trip.

The requirement to ring the doorbell should have been the first sign,lobby on the second floor the second - I still went forward; the third was the elevator - room for two with bags at best, good luck if you have checked bags as their size would make the thing problematic. Onto my room on the 4th floor - holy macanoli! VCT (that's one foot square vinyl tiles) covers the floor in the halls and the rooms - old, tired and cracked at best! The room was a 10 X 7 box with a full size bed with a rock hard mattress, a corner sink and a window facing 6th Avenue - a small 1st generation flat screen TV with basic cable. No phone, no food, no pool, no pets! Do worry though bring your cigarettes - lots of guests smoking even though against the law in NY! Did I tell you NO BATHROOM! It's down the hall and shared by all.

I checked out and found another hotel - the place is a real dum and not worth $150 on any night - this is a $30-$50 flop house. YOu did not want to touch the bed, I peeked at the sheets, they were transparent!

Skip this one folks find anything better and be sure to read the fine print - you don't always get what you pay for!

Room Tip: They are all loud,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The location could not be better, the prices are reasonable, staff polite and efficient and the bathroom (shared) was clean and the water nice and warm.
We did hear traffic noise and there was a bit of building work in progress down the road but you are within a hundred yards of Broadway so you get the lullaby

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel is the perfect location for visiting NY
Rather basic, but very clean, and only few meters from Times Square and Empire State building
if you can, ask for a quiet room, not facing the street

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Small hotel, small rooms, enough to come just to sleep after long walks and shopping. Conveniently located, all within walking distance, near a small shop where you can buy your morning coffee and something to eat. Clean, warm, sometimes heard as the doors slamming neighboring rooms.
No free wi-fi, one old computer in the lobby.
Enough for us to stay for a week, save money on shopping, theaters and museums.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Inn

Address: 69 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #364 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Americana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel New York City
Americana Inn New York
Americana Inn Ny City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.