We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Americana Inn to your Saves list
Americana Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #357 of 461 Hotels in New York City
Sooke, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The rooms in this place are very, very small. But this is New York, where one should spend little time sitting in your room anyways. There are shared bathrooms that were kept clean. I never had to wait to get in them. Outside was a little noisy. Great location -next to Times Square- and a reasonable price for Manhatten. Never had to use parking - good thing traffic is crazy. A short walk to the subways.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    222
    113
    46
    41
See reviews for
40
140
88
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in September 2012. We left it late to book a hotel for our 3 nights in ny & found it difficult to get a reasonable price hotel in and around Times Square.
Service was fine, had very little dealings with reception, but they were fine, no complaints. We had a double room with shared bathroom. I was very nervous about shared bathroom but it was very clean and I didn't see any1 else use it whilst I was in hotel. From looking around it seemed to be 1 bathroom to 2-3 rooms. The room was small, it had a tv, chest of drawers , wardrobe and a sink. For all the time you spend in it it's fine.
You can hear a lot of outside noise (mainly traffic ) I had no issues with it, but it maybe an idea to bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper .
Location was fantastic. Just a 5 minute walk to Times Square where you are in the middle of it all!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a very clean and comfortable place to stay. It is more like an apartment building than a hotel. The rooms are very small but comfortable. Just a sink in each room, but they supply you with towels and soap. There are several large bathrooms on each floor that have a tub/shower and toilet combination. It is usually no problem getting a bathroom at any time of the day/night. If you don't mind a few steps to a bathroom down the hall, or maybe even right next to your room, this is a great place to stay. Have stayed here many times and would recommend if you don't need parking. Parking is right across the street but expensive. You will save enough to be glad you stayed here, even if you are unfamiliar with the shared bathroom thing. Try it...it's much better than you think and not really an inconvenience. Great location right down from Bryant Park, which is a wonderful place to take a seat, grab a beverage and watch the city unfold before you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from 6th Ave to reduce the possible traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed in Americana Inn in December (holidays period), the overall experience was OK, with the following comments:
small and average-to-clean rooms, expect Shared restrooms (1 for each 3-4 rooms), helpful staff (especially Dan), bit noisy (street noise) on the lower floors (2nd and 3rd), perfect location 10 minutes walking distance from Times square, penn station/madison square garden & grand central.
If you are picky and you want a 5* service don't book here, if you're used to hostel backpacking accommodation type then this is a good place!

Room Tip: choose 4th to 5th floor if available, and bargain for price if you need to extend few more days!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-aviv
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I was looking for a moderately priced accommodation In Manhattan not too far from Times Square. After browsing the web for a while, I decided to book a room at Americana Inn, which was advertised at the Expedia website. The price for what they claimed was a ‘standard twin room (w/o breakfast)’ was ‘only’ 176.79$ per night. When I checked in, I was surprised to learn that the “standard rooms” in this hotel did not have bathroom. At this point it was too late to find another hotel and I stayed in the hotel. The lack of in-room bathroom turned to be a major discomfort for me, since I needed to use it in the middle of the night. The other problem was with the A/c, which was old and malfunctioning.

Room Tip: Close to the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
368 reviews 368 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
2,488 helpful votes 2,488 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Not flash or modern. Smallish rooms. But it was a good deal and convenient to walk to everywhere we wanted to go and see. Staff efficient, rooms clean. Neither impressive nor disappointing. Would not seek it out but wouldn't avoid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I saw some reviews here before going there. When I saw many people did not give positive reviews to it, i did not give any expectation for it. For the reason that we are poor students, we cannot afford hotels. BUT!! When we moved in, it was not that bad! everything is very clean!! especially the restroom! Though as other people mentioned that the windows there could not lock, it was a little noisy at night, we still could fall asleep bcuz we were so exhausted. We were so close to times square!! it is so convenient for us to go everywhere! we can walk to many spots. All in all, I am satisfied with this inn. good location, affordable price, clean facilities though some noise. lol good for poor students, friends! recommend!

Room Tip: for an inn, just dont bring too high expectation. it's different from hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Inn

Address: 69 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 461 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel New York City
Americana Inn New York
Americana Inn Ny City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.