We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misinformation upon booking” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Americana Inn to your Saves list
Americana Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #364 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Tel-aviv
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Misinformation upon booking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I was looking for a moderately priced accommodation In Manhattan not too far from Times Square. After browsing the web for a while, I decided to book a room at Americana Inn, which was advertised at the Expedia website. The price for what they claimed was a ‘standard twin room (w/o breakfast)’ was ‘only’ 176.79$ per night. When I checked in, I was surprised to learn that the “standard rooms” in this hotel did not have bathroom. At this point it was too late to find another hotel and I stayed in the hotel. The lack of in-room bathroom turned to be a major discomfort for me, since I needed to use it in the middle of the night. The other problem was with the A/c, which was old and malfunctioning.

Room Tip: Close to the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    242
    132
    50
    42
See reviews for
45
152
103
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
383 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,248 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Not flash or modern. Smallish rooms. But it was a good deal and convenient to walk to everywhere we wanted to go and see. Staff efficient, rooms clean. Neither impressive nor disappointing. Would not seek it out but wouldn't avoid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I saw some reviews here before going there. When I saw many people did not give positive reviews to it, i did not give any expectation for it. For the reason that we are poor students, we cannot afford hotels. BUT!! When we moved in, it was not that bad! everything is very clean!! especially the restroom! Though as other people mentioned that the windows there could not lock, it was a little noisy at night, we still could fall asleep bcuz we were so exhausted. We were so close to times square!! it is so convenient for us to go everywhere! we can walk to many spots. All in all, I am satisfied with this inn. good location, affordable price, clean facilities though some noise. lol good for poor students, friends! recommend!

Room Tip: for an inn, just dont bring too high expectation. it's different from hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at the Americana Inn on our first trip to New York. The prices were amazingly low for being in Times Square, but we quickly discovered it was due to the heavy construction going on across the street (jack-hammers going at 3:00am, not the prettiest view, etc). We didn't mind too much as we were out and about quite a bit and expected the city that never sleeps to be loud even at night. The bellhops and front desk were very accomodating; we went with no real plans in hopes to see the best of the city, and they certainly gave excellent recommendations. We would defintely go back and stay at the Americana!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George's, Grenada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I came to New York, arriving at 3 AM in the morning. My room was very small, thank God, I did not have a lot of luggage. Bad, chair, drawer, little closet,face basin, that"s it. But what more do you need. The shared bathroom was just on the other side of the corridor and was clean and always available when in need. I liked the location, because it means short distance for me. If you need a room to sleep, I would recommend the Americana Inn. If you go to New York for a wonderful experience, choose something else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Americana Inn for 4 nights, the staff were helpful, friendly and knowledgable about the surrounding area and attractions.
The rooms were very basic with only a small 'chest of drawers', wardrobe, tv and a sink in the corner.
Every room had a shared bathroom but don't be put off by this cause it was always clean and you never had to wait.
Location was amazing, only minutes from Time Square, Bryants Park, Empire State Building, Macy's etc
If you want a clean, cheap, affordable, friendly hotel in the middle of the NYC I strongly recommend you check out the 'Americana Inn'

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It is an old building that has not been maintained. The "passenger" elevator says it is a freight elevator and should NOT be used as a passenger elevator. It smells terrible, the rooms are small and dirty. Shared bathrooms that do not seem to be cleaned regularly. The bed was awful and the noise unbearable. I didn't get more than 1 hour of sleep at a time. I was booked for 2 nights but I changed hotels after the first night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#297 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#374 of 468 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#263 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#343 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#380 of 468 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Comfort Inn Sunset Park / Park S...
#365 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Inn

Address: 69 West 38th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #364 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Americana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel New York City
Americana Inn New York
Americana Inn Ny City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.