We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for longer stays in NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ALTRO Sutton Place by Globe Quarters

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ALTRO Sutton Place by Globe Quarters
Save Saved
You added ALTRO Sutton Place by Globe Quarters to your Saves list
310 East 55th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great place for longer stays in NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Rented it for a month for my whole family. centrally located and very convenient. All things are very close by. Restaurants, grocery stores, delis, bars all within 5 minutes. The doormen are helpful and very pleasant. one feels secure with 24 hour doormen, although it is a very safe area. Good residents. The cleaning staff is also very good. Always ready to help and Svetlana at the office, what can I say, she is a wonderful person who is so nice and always helping the residents feel at home. The apartment was very comfortable, spacious bedrooms, good fully equipped kitchen, lots of cupboard and storage space. Bathroom small but good. The building is old made prewar period but is good enough. Furniture, carpets and curtains needs revamping a little. Wish they would rent by the week too.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
12
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I rented the apartment for my daughter who was going to be in NY for 2 months to perfect her English. It became in fact an apartment for whole family who visited her twice with Friends. The hospitality is outstanding, attention to details, location is fantastic. The building as others in the region are old from the 40's, however once you get inside you get surprised on how good and clean they are, enough for a better than hotel long stay (and cheaper). Security is very good since there is a doorman 24 h day. I plan to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you plan a long stay in NY be for studying or enjoying a true NY style living you must be an apar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Work booked me in here while on an assignment, apartment was lovely, in a really good location with lots around to keep you entertained (but you are in Manhattan so to be expected!). Bedrooms were nice, both a good size and bigger than you'd get from a hotel. Kitchen had everything you could possibly need. Great shower in the bathroom and plenty of closet space. If I had a similar assignment I wouldn't hesitate to book again as it represents good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I made the right choice in staying at the Globe Quarters for 30 days . There are a lot of restaurants , pubs, pharmacies, delis and grocery stores very close to the building. Metro stations are within a 5-10 minutes by walking . It is so easy to get anywhere in the city. Has a "Citi Bike station" , where you can rent bicycles, at the corner almost opposite the building.
Svetalana and all the staff are very kind and professionals . I was quickly answered at everything I needed. The doormen are always willing to help you in times when the office is closed.
Several channels are available on cable TV. The bed is very good for a excelent sleep night. The wi - fi is perfect. Everything in the apartment where I stayed too.
The Globe Quarters is perfect for who will stay long time in the city and want to feel at home . The apartment is great , the air conditioning always worked well , heating water system too. Surely you will be greeted with mineral water , juice, bread , butter, jam , cream cheese and some fruit . Enough for the first two or three days . After that , refill the fridge will be on your own.
I recommend Globe Quarters to everyone and will definitely stay there again when we return to NYC to stay for a long period of time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great apartment, very spacious, lounge suite and TV room plus separate bathroom and storage area. Extra items provided such as tea, coffee, butter sugar, etc. Extremely helpful staff, couldn't do enough for us.
Many thanks to Svetlana and her team for making our stay so special. Would love to come back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed at the Globe Quarters in Midtown east for two times on month this year. The apartment is very nice, the location is perfect and the staff of Globe Quarters very nice. Especially in my summer stay, the price was quite reasonable (for Manhattan).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed for a month and it was excellent in all respects. Our studio was comfortable, quiet and very clean. Wi-Fi and, most importantly, air conditioning worked without fail. Management was very helpful - nothing was too hard. Finally, location is perfect: 15 minutes to teh Central Park and plenty of everything. We are happy to recommend Mangeoire (nice French restaurant), WholeFoods (superb supermarket), Ambassador (excellent wine store) and and Le Pain Quotirien (superb cafe). All of these are within 10 minutes walk, at most. Finally, there are plenty of street vendors, selling excellent fruits. We cannot recommend the place too highly and - if back in New York - will certainly return.

Room Tip: Our studio was on a smaller side, but perfect for the two of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ALTRO Sutton Place by Globe Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALTRO Sutton Place by Globe Quarters

Address: 310 East 55th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALTRO Sutton Place is a pre-war, 24hr doorman, elevator building, that features generously sized studios and one-bedrooms. It's a great choice for those relocating to New York, Executives on long or short term assignment, families who desire extra space, or the travelers, who simply want to enjoy a home like atmosphere while being away from home. Guests are sure to find the accommodations cost effective, comfortable and spacious, with all the creature comforts of a home. The apartment amenities include, but not limited to, fully stocked kitchens, linens and towels, cable TV, DVD, telephone with answering machine and high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Altro Sutton Place By Globe Quarters Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ALTRO Sutton Place by Globe Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.