We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ALTRO Sutton Place by Globe Quarters

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ALTRO Sutton Place by Globe Quarters
Save
You added ALTRO Sutton Place by Globe Quarters to your Saves list
310 East 55th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed in 2 bedroom apartment for 3 weeks and it was spacious and very comfortable. Excellent location and close to everything.

I have to say that staff especially the reservation staff (Svetlana) was very friendly and helpful, polite and very understanding to any request we had. I would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
12
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed 4 weeks at this appartment. The location is excellent, only a couple of blocks to 3 subway stations. Safe and quiet area to stay. D'agostino and Whole Foods Market and Duane Reade are within 5 minites-walk. The kitchen is equipped everything necessary (salt, pepper, honey, creamcheese, coffee), only I have to do is to buy delicious deli at the Whole Foods.
The room is perfectly clean and tidy, charming and spacious. (But I would be more happy if the bed is more comfortable and bathroom has a tab to be soaked in!)
Every staff is very warm and friendly. I hope someday I can stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

These apartments are in a great location in Midtown East, just a couple of blocks from the 53rd St./Lex Ave. subway stop. They are on quiet 55th St. just off Second Ave. with a bunch of restaurants, bars, supermarkets, and pharmacies all within a few blocks. The two apartments I stayed in were both very spacious and comfortable, and well furnished with a small but complete kitchen, free broadband, and cable TV. There's a doorman at most times of day and night, and a very thoughtful touch is the fruit basket, large bottle of juice, and bread and spreads left for you in the apartment. Best of all is the welcome from the wonderful staff, who are very friendly and went out of their way to help me, and kept the place spotless with a regular clean. I'd highly recommend these apartments to anyone, with the real bonus of the nightly rate being less than half the going rate in nearby hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed 16 nights at Altro Sutton Place and were very happy with it. Being ex-New Yorkers who live elsewhere now, we really appreciated how it made us immediately feel like we were living in NY again. Staff are helpful and courteous, even for odd requests like connecting Disney XD, and apartment had all the things we needed for a comfortable stay. We will definitely stay again.

The only negative, and for me it isn't a negative, is that this is New York apartment living and if someone is expecting a full hotel experience they may be disappointed. But, if you are interested in a comfortable, ideally located apartment that allows you to live like a local, this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed 8 nights at Altro Sutton on our busy sightseeing trip to NY. The apartment was a perfect location, near the subway and sights but far enough away from the busy city to be able to recharge our batteries each day and feel like we were going 'home'. The staff were incredibly kind and went out of their way to make our trip one of the best we've ever had as a family and the accommodation couldn't be faulted.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Positives: Good location & very helpful staff with nice welcoming touches - fruit , bread etc & well appointed kitchen

But if you are looking for modern comfortable apartment this is not it. Dated accommodation, (upstairs apartment noise could be heard late at night, lift noise & outside garbage trucks parked idling between 4-5am). Beds very hard & despite requesting 2 single beds in 2nd bedroom for 2 teenage sons given a queen bed in 2nd room. Poor linen and bed coverings(nylon!)

Unfortunately NYC does not offer much in way of self accommodating apartments compared to other major cities. We chose this option because of need for 2 bed apt - next time we will revert to Affinia apartments which are better quality and if necessary take 2 apartments

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobeQuartersMgmt, Manager at ALTRO Sutton Place by Globe Quarters, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Wallaby_tour,

Your comfort is our top priority, and we are incredibly thankful for your input!
Our property is a prewar art deco building with its own traditional charm, that we try to integrate through out the apartment decor to bring out the calm and cozy feeling of "home away from home" in the heart of non-stop moving Manhattan.

We are in constant improvement of our product and services, and will definitely look for ways to further succeed, taking into consideration important aspects of your valuable feedback.

Once again, thank you for your input and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at this property and we were not disappointed with any aspect of arranging and living here for five weeks. After a long 30 hour flight from Australia to New York direct it was great to have everything we required to start our holiday on hand. This included a welcome telephone call from Zebo the Chief Executive Officer to ensure that all we required was provided, this included fresh bread, milk, bread, tea & coffee. Fresh fruit on the dining room table was a nice touch.The location of this hotel is perfect for day to day convenient food shopping, restaurants within easy walking distance. The 57th street across town bus and uptown & down town buses on 2nd & 3rd Street enabled easy access to almost anywhere we wanted to go. The cleanliness and layout of the apartment was exceptional. All the staff were extremely helpful and readily willing to assist us. We highly recommend this apartment for short or long term stays.

Room Tip: On this occassion we were allocated an apartment at the back of the Hotel which proved to be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ALTRO Sutton Place by Globe Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALTRO Sutton Place by Globe Quarters

Address: 310 East 55th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 186 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALTRO Sutton Place is a pre-war, 24hr doorman, elevator building, that features generously sized studios and one-bedrooms. It's a great choice for those relocating to New York, Executives on long or short term assignment, families who desire extra space, or the travelers, who simply want to enjoy a home like atmosphere while being away from home. Guests are sure to find the accommodations cost effective, comfortable and spacious, with all the creature comforts of a home. The apartment amenities include, but not limited to, fully stocked kitchens, linens and towels, cable TV, DVD, telephone with answering machine and high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Altro Sutton Place By Globe Quarters Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ALTRO Sutton Place by Globe Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.