We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Sale! Book Now!
Ranked #62 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Delta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Celebrating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Having an amazing time. Greeted by Alex when we first arrived. Once we told him we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary He quickly upgraded us to a room on the thirtieth floor with an amazing view of the Empire State Building . The Room was very clean and comfortable. After a long day out we came back to the room to be pleasantly surprised with a small gift of chocolates and water from the staff! We look forward to returning to this hotel when we get back to New York. Great location midtown close to penn station walking distance to so much.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan B, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We really appreciate you taking the time to give such a positive review for our hotel! We're glad to hear that you recieved a FIVE STAR experience here with us, while you celebrated your 25th Wedding Anniversary! We truly value our guests and believe in making your stay with us special, for all occassions. We're glad to hear that you plan on returning to our hotel, so feel free to contact me directly beforehand, so that we may accomodate you with another perfect experience!

In Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,164
    1,199
    219
    49
    35
See reviews for
914
1,173
264
631
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is an outstanding hotel. Very comfortable, has a subway station within a few steps of the front door so accessing New York sites has been very easy. The staff were very helpful in understanding and working out the New York transportation system.
Breakfast in the restaurant was typical continental but good value.
Wifi in the rooms is outstanding- as fast as I find at home.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan B, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Katherine,

Thank you for writing a positive and detailed review for our hotel! We're glad that your visit at our location led to you having a FIVE STAR experience. We take pride in our accomodations and our friendly staff, so we're glad to hear that they were able to assist you with your transportation questions. Please feel free to contact me directly before your next visit, we would love to have the opportunity to provide you with another perfect experience. Hope to see you soon!

In Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel. This was my second time here. This time I went with my cousin for my birthday. Last time we had a city view and it has the better bathroom. It has a shower stall with glass doors and is larger. The shower curtain had black spots on it. I got a surprise dessert in the room for my birthday. Thank you. However after they removed the plate from our room the next morning the cleaning crew left it sitting in the hallway outside our room for 2 nights. The same time the linen cart was outside our door the whole entire stay. The gentlemen that held our luggage were great. Especially Phil:). The location is great!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan B, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Bridgette,

Thanks for taking the time to write a reivew of our property. I am happy you enjoyed your birthday celebration in NYC! I apologize for the fact that your tray was left outside the room, and will certainly look into why that occurred. I hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
236 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Spent a long weekend in NYC with sister and niece. This hotel's location couldn't have been better - one block from Herald Square, a Herald Sq subway entrance 30 feet from the front door. And we booked a city view room - what a view. We were on the 28th floor and had the Empire State Bldg practically in our laps when you looked out. Room was large by NY standards - 2 double beds, nice bathroom, flat screen TV, refrig and microwave. Nice and new looking. Small lobby, with a small bar area and restaurant (breakfast and lunch only, not included) but plenty of nearby options for coffee/bagels/lunch, etc. Quiet. Nice and friendly staff. 24 hour fitness center in LL. A very good deal.

Room Tip: City view room, especially at higher floors, offers spectacular view of Empire State Bldg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan B, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a positive and detailed review about our hotel! We're glad to hear that our location was convenient for your trip and that our rooms were to your liking. We take pride in that our guests can enjoy such a great city view while staying here with us. My staff and I are glad to hear that you had a FIVE STAR experience with us, and would love to have you again, so please feel free to contact me directly before your next visit for another perfect experience. Hope to see you soon!

In Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Back on June 14, 2014, we had a last minute opportunity for a family visit to New York City. We arrived with hotel reservations, but with no plan.

Luckily, we found Dwayne Wilson at the concierge desk. He was incredibly helpful planning out all of the nearby attractions. He also spent quite a bit of time helping us find last minute Broadway tickets that would be appealing to the entire family, including our two young daughters ages 9 & 11.

We saw Cinderella and it was every bit as entertaining and delightful as Dwayne promised. He even accurately predicted their reactions to the costuming and knew which songs they would be singing in the lobby the next morning.

Many hotels, once you get past the basic requirements, are fairly interchangeable. The people make the difference. Dwayne Wilson certainly made a four-star facility shine like a five-star hotel.

Thank you, Dwayne.

Room Tip: Can see the Empire State Building from some of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan B, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Scot,

We are thrilled to hear that one of our wonderful staff members made such a great impression on you and your family! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive and detailed review about it. It seems that for a last minute trip, your family enjoyed some of the great things New York City has to offer, and we're happy to hear that Dwayne contributed to that. Please feel free to contact me directly before any future visits; we would all love to have you back as guests.

In Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

If you are going to an event at Madison Square Garden and want a hotel where you can walk from the train station, want to be near shopping, etc. the location is perfect. Staff are friendly and helpful. Avoid driving into Manhattan if you can - parking in Manhattan is premium and costly. The garage the hotel is affiliated with is a bit more expensive than another one up the block, so research before you arrive. Keep in mind that this is in a busy (noisy) location and the hotel is an older building, so not all outside noise gets muffled.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan B, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We appreciate that you took the time to write a review about our hotel! We agree that our location makes it convenient for guest who attend events at Madison Square Garden and who come to shop! We're glad to hear that you found are staff friendly and helpful. That being said, we would love you have you back in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly before any future visits, so that we may assist you in having a perfect experience next time. We value all of our guests and are here to make your stay here as enjoyable as possible!

In Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US OF A
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great location. Better for accessing Times Square than the Hilton Garden Inn - Times Square. Easy access to Penn Station. Across from Macy's and steps from Broadway Ave.

Rooms were clean and roomy (for Manhattan). Same with bathroom.


Staff was excellent.


Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan B, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We're glad to hear that you were satisfied with the location of our wonderful hotel! And we agree that it's great for access to the many sights and transportation methods, that New York City has to offer. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about us and for the positive things you had to say about our staf and rooms. We would love to have you back, so please feel free to contact me directly before any future visits, so that we may assist you in having a perfect experience.

In Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#96 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,166 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#107 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan / Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan / H...
#84 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#113 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,838 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#73 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street

Address: 63 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in New York City
#36 Family Hotel in New York City
#67 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal Midtown location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street was built in 2009 and is perfectly located in Midtown Manhattan just steps from some of New York's best attractions including the Empire State Building, world-famous Macy's at Herald Square, Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping and Madison Square Garden/Penn Station. Located on West 35th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues, this ultra-modern hotel is close to many restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and New York City’s best shopping. The hotel is walking distance to all major subway lines and is convenient to Jacob Javits Convention Center, Port Authority Bus Terminal, Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.The hotel features 298 newly built, contemporary guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include The Great American Grill (located in the hotel lobby and open daily for breakfast), lobby lounge with flat-screen television, evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.