We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 West 35th Street,, New York City, NY 10001   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off Our Best Rate
Ranked #73 of 449 hotels in New York City
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best location great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

West 35th is a great central location with easy walking distance from Bryant Park, Times Square and a subway station just outside the door.

This is a modern hotel so don't stay here if you want classic Midtown Manhattan architecture (if you do, stay a few steps up the street at The Metro or Comfort Inn). The rooms are very well sound-proofed and the beds very comfortable. I was on a low (floor 5) and there was very little street noise either. Rooms have a fridge, coffee maker, microwave and the usual other stuff. There is also a small bar and a store where you can buy drinks, nibbles and microwave meals but with hundreds of shops and eateries in the area why would you? Useful for the late arriver though.

Don't be put off by the fact that it's a Garden Inn variety and not a "full" Hilton Hotel. It's of the standard of a normal Hilton in the UK so perfectly good for the average traveller who wants a superb location for a reasonable price

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan B, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Rufus,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed our great location in Herald Square right by Macy's and many other great shops. We recognize that you have a choice when visiting NYC and greatly appreciate you choosing HGI35. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,859 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,668
    955
    164
    41
    31
See reviews for
605
936
209
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just after checking our after 3 night stay here. Really can't give this hotel a high enough rating. Very reasonably priced and such a great location. Within 15 minutes of Times Square, 5 minutes from Empire and right across the street from Macy's.

Staff very friendly, got a gift from the hotel for our wedding anniversary. Room was a good size and very well kept. Didn't eat here so can't comment on food.

Really looking forward to coming back here again and will be recommending this hotel to anyone staying in NYC.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan B, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Lorfey,

Wow! Thanks for the amazing review! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed the gift we sent you. We are very grateful that you chose to spend such a special occasion with us at HGI35. I look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit with us and making sure you have another amazing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The hotel is very well located (if you have midtown meetings). Walking distance from Empire State, Times Sq. and Penn Station. Rooms are smallish but clean, with Free wi-fi and a very nice view of the city (at least from the high floors).
Fitness center is small but adequate - Open all day. Showers are clean and staff is super friendly and efficient.
Only drawback I could find - Elevators are a bit slow and at morning rush hour could take a while to get down...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan B, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Yariv,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of our property. It's great to hear that you found our hotel to be perfectly located for all of your business meetings. We hope that you choose to return to HGI35 in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

If you don't know where to stay, pick this hotel.

A great location that is close to to just about everything … Penn Station, Broadway, Times Square, & Macy's. If you are flying into JFK, take LIRR to Penn and walk you can be there in 30 mins; much faster than the Subway by 30 mins. About 10 minutes walking distance to Times Square OR 1 minute to the entrance to the Subway. Close to it all, but away from the hustle and bustle and noise. (While mostly quiet, you will hear some street noise and sirens, the nature of being in a big city.)

Staff are superb, everyone one is friendly and welcoming from the moment your step in to the minute you leave. Very knowledge able about the area. Hot breakfast with cooked to order omelettes in the morning, Luis makes them perfectly.

Recent renovations of the lobby have it upgraded with flowing drapes and more relaxed atmosphere. They also built a larger luggage storage area. Where you can leave your bags on check-out day whilst you enjoy the City until your departure.

Enjoy the standard amenities in the room: Kuerig, fridge, hairdryer. Rooms ARE a bit larger than other hotels. The extra space is quite nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan B, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Lee,

Thanks for the AMAZING review! We are delighted to hear that you had such a GREAT stay with us at HGI35. We're also happy to hear that you enjoyed our new and improved Lobby. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Great service, Great Location, Great view, Great Gym, Great breakfast!!! The entire staff was awesome - Check in was a breeze and check out even quicker! Had a nice warm breakfast each morning at the restaurant. The office was awesome as I was able to print out tickets to shows and tours at no additional cost. I loved the location - walking distance to Times Square and steps away from the subway which makes it easy to explorer the city. I will come back to this hotel - Thanks Hilton for making my stay awesome!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Empire State building and 18th Floor views were great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan B, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear evelyna,

Wow!!! Thanks for the unbelivably amazing review. We are so happy to hear that you found our staff to be so great along with the rest of our hotel. We recognize that you have a choice when visiting NYC and we greatly appreciate you choosing HGI35. We hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hotel has a great location! Close enough to everything you want to be near, but not right in the middle of all the noise. The room was clean and was equipped with a mini fridge which was a bonus. The shower was nice!! The staff was pleasant. Would definitely stay in again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan B, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Kristen,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our property. I'm delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy all that NYC has to offer while being able to relax at our hotel. Sounds like you had an amazing trip to New York. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Simple but excellent hotel in a great location. The entire staff was very helpful. The service at this hotel was similar to the service you would get at a four seasons hotel, it was that good. My room had a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker and hair dryer...all were helpful additions. Room was clean and neat. Heating and AC both worked really well. When I come back to NY, I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan B, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thanks for the amazing review! We greatly appreciate the kind words about our excellent customer service. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed all of the amenities that our hotel has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to HGI35 in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th

Address: 63 West 35th Street,, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in New York City
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal Midtown location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street was built in 2009 and is perfectly located in Midtown Manhattan just steps from some of New York's best attractions including the Empire State Building, world-famous Macy's at Herald Square, Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping and Madison Square Garden/Penn Station. Located on West 35th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues, this ultra-modern hotel is close to many restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and New York City’s best shopping. The hotel is walking distance to all major subway lines and is convenient to Jacob Javits Convention Center, Port Authority Bus Terminal, Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.The hotel features 298 newly built, contemporary guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include The Great American Grill (located in the hotel lobby and open daily for breakfast), lobby lounge with flat-screen television, evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.