We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 West 35th Street,, New York City, NY 10001   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Jan - Apr 2015 Sale!
Ranked #62 of 458 Hotels in New York City
St Catharines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“NYC Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Great location! Shower was excellent. Bed was average. TV, hard to use (maybe battery low) & would have liked local channels not just cable specialty channels. May have had local channels but hard to find when flipping channels. Wanted local news weather etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan B, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Shane,

Thanks for your review. I'm glad you found our location to be convenient and that you were able to enjoy our awesome showers. I'm sorry you had issues with the television. During your next visit, let us know and we will fix it right away. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,774
    1,019
    179
    42
    29
See reviews for
705
1,022
235
519
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were on the 30th floor with a stunning view of the Empire State Building. The room was not spacious but efficiently compact with everything you might need including a little fridge and microwave. There was a nice bathroom with walk-in shower and excellent water pressure. Comfortable and clean. Very pleasant staff at front desk as well as housekeeping.

This hotel has an extremely central location right off Herald Square. We could see Macy's from our window. So, it makes getting to a lot of places pretty easy.
If you choose to drive into New York City, as we did, this is an especially good choice. The hotel's garage is one block north (on 36th street). It's run by a very competent staff and is a good value for New York at $35 per day including taxes.

Room Tip: rooms in front and on higher floors will have Empire State Building views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan B, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear thenutkin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I agree with you in regards to the view of the Empire State Building; it never gets old! I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen County, NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The rooms are very clean, have a fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, and safe. There is free coffee and tea in the lobby, but breakfast will set you back $16.95! They have a nice spread, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, waffles, pancakes, pastries, breads, and made to order eggs. However, you could shop, and serve yourself in your room! Most of the rooms face an elevator, the elevators are very quiet, but not the people, and we were awoken in the morning by a cruise ship whistle! If you're a sound sleeper, this is not a problem! On the plus size, it is very centrally located, near Penn Station and not far from Port Authority. Very close to Macy's and the Empire State building. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 3, 4, 5, 6, are across from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan B, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Kateeka,

Thank you for your review. I'm happy to hear that you found our property to be conveniently located and that you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry you were awoken by a cruise whistle! I hope you were able to get a good night sleep despite it. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location and the rate we received was well worth it for the room with the view of the Empire State Building and the staff knew all great restaurants to go to andhow to get us in for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan B, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Lynda,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff to be helpful. We recognize that you have a choice when visiting NYC and greatly appreciate you choosing to stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn/ West 35th Street. I look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Having read some negative reviews on here about the hotel, I don't understand what some people moan about!

My girlfriend and I stayed in room 2305 for 4 nights from 13th November and this was a city view room, right outside the elevators yet they weren't loud and never woke us up. Secondly the view of the ESB from our window was amazing, I never thought it would be good as it was!

The bed was super comfy and big, could have slept in it longer if we didn't have so many things to do on our trip! Some people on here have said the rooms are small but ours was fine, enough for 2 cases, bags and shoppign bags, there is an airing cupboard anyway where you have the ironing board and iron so we shoved one of the cases in there. As for being outdated, I thought it was modern and the shower was superb - very powerful.

As for location, couldn't be any better really. Literally a 5 min walk into Times Square, subway is only a minute away and there are Starbucks and Andrwews Coffee Shop very close by for breakfast along with others we didn't try out.

I think the only negative about the hotel was that when we checked in we never got asked if we needed any help with anything as in itinerary and when I asked about the best way to get to Jamaica Station on the subway again so we could get to JFK airport early hours on the Sunday moprning, we were never told there were construction works on the line at the weekend, causing an extra 1.5hrs onto the journey and causign us to miss our flight and wait 11 hours in JFK for the next one! You'd have though someone would have advised on this so we could have allowed for the extra time.

Room Tip: I'd definitely choose a city view room, that little extra is worth the view and you won't be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan B, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Stephen,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and that you were able to enjoy our stunning view of the Empire State Building! I would like to personally apologize about the fact that we did not notify you about the construction on the AirTrain to JFK, and that you missed your flight. I know that nobody wants to spend that much time in an airport! I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the near future, and that your trip home goes as perfectly as your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We've stayed here before and always find it a pleasant experience. Close to Macy's, theaters, Times Square and the subway. The staff is wonderfully accommodating an friendly. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan B, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed our convenient location. I am also delighted to hear that you found our staff to be so helpful and friendly. We try our best to make sure each of our guests have a perfect stay, and it looks like we suceeded! I look foward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was the first time we stayed at this Hilton Inn. We were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary. Great location near Macy's, the check in was smooth , extremely friendly & helpful staff, the room was cozy and spotless. The parking was around the corner on 36th street so we left our luggage at the hotel, parked, and then retrieved our bags. The fee was $35.00 for 24 hour parking, which is a bargain, and the price of the room was very reasonable. Make sure you inquire about AAA discounts or specials they offer. Short 15 minute walk to Times Square & Theater District. Nice lobby to relax in. Just a very nice, stress free experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elan B, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Gary,

Thanks for taking the time to post such an excellent review. I'm truly delighted that you had such a great experience at our hotel and that the location was convenient. I'm also happy you chose to spend your 35th Wedding Anniversary with us at the Hilton Garden Inn/ West 35th Street. I look foward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th

Address: 63 West 35th Street,, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in New York City
#55 Family Hotel in New York City
#56 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal Midtown location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street was built in 2009 and is perfectly located in Midtown Manhattan just steps from some of New York's best attractions including the Empire State Building, world-famous Macy's at Herald Square, Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping and Madison Square Garden/Penn Station. Located on West 35th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues, this ultra-modern hotel is close to many restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and New York City’s best shopping. The hotel is walking distance to all major subway lines and is convenient to Jacob Javits Convention Center, Port Authority Bus Terminal, Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.The hotel features 298 newly built, contemporary guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include The Great American Grill (located in the hotel lobby and open daily for breakfast), lobby lounge with flat-screen television, evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.