We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 West 35th Street,, New York City, NY 10001   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Jan - Apr 2015 Sale!
Ranked #61 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked two rooms-one for us and one for the children. The children had a view of the Empire State Building. The rooms were immaculate. Reception and concierge were very helpful. The location is fantastic. Overall the hotel is great value for money.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcio A, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to hear that we offered you nothing less than a 5 star stay!!!
We appreciate that you noticed our outstanding service, the cleanliness of our product and our favorable location. Your comments are very much appreciated. Please know that it will be shared with my staff.
We look forward to your future visit.
Our very best regards and thank you again,
Marcio Azevedo
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn / West 35th Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,778
    1,020
    181
    42
    29
See reviews for
708
1,023
235
519
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Most outsatnding breakfast team in a great atmosphere (with Chef Luis, Jakiya and Mahamed). Chef Luis is the most talented cook and chef I met these laste year while travelling from Europe (Paris, France) to alll parts of America. Thank you ever so much for making my business trip so pleasant and enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcio A, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to hear that we offered you nothing less than a 5 star stay!!!
We appreciate that you noticed our outstanding service, the cleanliness of our product and our favorable location. Your comments are very much appreciated. Please know that it will be shared with my staff.
We look forward to your future visit.
Our very best regards and thank you again,
Marcio Azevedo
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn / West 35th Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a "European style" hotel, in that the rooms, bathrooms, and closets-- are small---but that is the only accommodation one makes by staying here--and also is the primary reason why the rates are so reasonable. The rooms and bathrooms are very well-appointed, and comfortable.Our HD TV was not working at check-in, but a very pleasant service person showed up immediately and fixed the problem. There is a Euroopean style bar right in the lobby--with friendly bartenders and good selection of drinks. The concierge and staff were uniformly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcio A, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to hear that we offered you nothing less than a 5 star stay!!!
We appreciate that you noticed our outstanding service, the cleanliness of our product and our favorable location. Your comments are very much appreciated. Please know that it will be shared with my staff.
We look forward to your future visit.
Our very best regards and thank you again,
Marcio Azevedo
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn / West 35th Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife, daughter and I had planned an evening in New York, staying overnight at the Hilton Garden on 35th Street.. We all were looking forward to it and having read the reviews of the hotel on TripAdvisor, I was certain that our stay would be enjoyable.

Sadly, the weather forecast was not a good one. A mix of rain and snow was expected in the morning and afternoon, changing to all snow by evening. 6-12 inches in total was forecast in our area and in New York City. Knowing full well that we were required to cancel 1 day in advance to avoid a penalty, we held out until the morning of our arrival, hoping that the weather forecast we heard would change, as is often the case. Maybe the warnings would be lifted or the impending snow totals would be revised downward.

Unfortunately, the weather did not cooperate and the dangerous conditions that were forecast to exist had actually begun several hours earlier than expected. Once that became clear, I called the Hilton Honors 800# to cancel but was instructed to call the hotel directly. Apparently, many hotels in the Hilton family were allowing penalty-free cancellations via the 800 system but the Hilton Garden was not one of them. I called the hotel but I had no luck as the clerk (politely) refused to waive the penalty.
I called the Hilton Honors# again, and the agent offered to call the hotel on my behalf. After a few moments, the agent returned to the line with the same bad news; no waiver of the penalty. Regardless of the impending penalty, I canceled the reservation as of 8:20 am. I didn't want another traveler to potentially be denied a room that I wasn't going to occupy.

As the day wore on, states of emergency were declared in Connecticut and New York. Roads were officially closed in Connecticut by 4:00 pm. Amtrak and the local commuter railroad, Metro North, suspended service. 2+ feet of snow accumulated in Connecticut and New York recorded in excess of 11 inches. The Mayor of New York asked everyone to “stay home”.

While I do certainly understand the need to guarantee that guests do show when a reservation is made, the fact that we are experiencing an unusual weather event would seem to allow for some flexibility in hotel policy. Disturbingly, calls and emails to the Hotel Manager asking that he reconsider have been met with silence. It seems that he doesn't even have the common courtesy to address my inquiries so I offer this warning to prospective guests: If you run afoul of the rigid hotel policies, don’t expect any consideration and if you need reasonable assistance from hotel management, you will likely be on your own.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcio A, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with our hotel via TripAdvisor. We are sorry you were unable to visit our property and apologize that our cancellation policy did not meet your needs. We understand that weather conditions prevented your travel and welcome you to contact our offices directly to further discuss our policies and come to an agreeable solution. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time your family plans a trip to the city so we may show you the quality service and accommodations you expect from our brand.

Thank you and safe travels,

Marcio Azevedo
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn / West 35th Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We chose to stay in Hilton Garden Inn West 35th on our virgin trip to New York City. Took a taxi (from memory USD62-65 including tips) from JFK airport and taxi driver did not have any issues driving to/finding the hotel.

Unfortunately rooms were not ready for an early check-in. The restaurant/cafe area was turned into a makeshift luggage storage area for us to leave our luggages, which was a little strange, but I'm not complaining. Concierge and staff were always friendly and helpful.

When we finally got into the room a few hours later, I rushed straight for the window (as I had requested an Empire State Building view room beforehand) and was blown away. The Empire State building is spectacular. What other way to kick off our first day in the city that never sleeps? I found myself constantly admiring the view throughout our 4 days stay there.

There is a subway station just outside of the hotel entrance which was very convenient (though I recall this only services 1-2 specific lines). For all other lines, we took the subway an easy 2-3 blocks walk down.

The infamous Macy's departmental store, numerous branded stores (Victoria Secret, American Apparel, etc) and souvenir shops are all just a stone's throw away from the hotel.

Pros - adequate rooms with amazing view, reasonable rates for that period (USD900+ for 4 nights), good service (helpful concierge and complimentary hot drinks/paper at the lobby), wifi connection worked well, very good location, taxi usually always available (parked right outside hotel entrance) - there was ONE occasion when we wanted to go out for dinner (Friday 6-7pm) and there weren't any taxis there!

Cons - some construction happening at the 35th St/6th Ave so watch your step, lobby is ABIT small (it almost felt abit claustrophobic with just 2-3 groups in the lobby).

Tips - Dont bother going up Empire State Building (especially if you see a queue outside) as I thought the views from Top of the Rock were far superior. From the queue outside, you had to go through another 4-5 queues inside the building. It took us 3 hours to get in and out of ESB in peak time. Go early morning or late evening if you must.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south at the Empire State Building, preferably high floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcio A, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you kindly for your review. I am truly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we delivered the friendly, attentive service that we are known for. Be kindly advised that your comments will be shared with the staff and know that comments such as yours propel us to become even better customer service providers.
I/we look forward to welcoming you back.
My very best regards,
Marcio Azevedo
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn / West 35th Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I travel regularly for work and keep coming back to this hotel. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The location of the hotel is great for food, shopping and close to Penn Station. This hotel gives you the best value for your money!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcio A, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to hear that we offered you nothing less than a 5 star stay!!!
We look forward to your future visit (once again)!
Our very best regards,
Marcio Azevedo
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn / West 35th Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great location near the flower markets - breakfast good for the chain and freindly staff; just a shame that check in is so late at 3 pm - especially after staggering off the red eye from South America.

The rooms were well appointed although as with many of the Hilton chain it was the bathroom which was a bit of a let down - still a bit dated.

Check in was fast and friendly - apart from the delay in getting into the room - my fault i should have booked for the previous night - the sitting area at the front of the hotel was a bit sparce though - maybe there is a bit of face lifting going on.

Room Tip: The lower floors on street side were noisy and as the hotel was non smoking the cigarette fumes waft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcio A, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you kindly for your review. From our location to our staff who delivered friendly, attentive service.
Your comments will be used to enhance our services, product and amenities.
I/we look forward to welcoming you back.
My very best regards,
Marcio Azevedo
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn / West 35th Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th

Address: 63 West 35th Street,, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in New York City
#55 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal Midtown location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street was built in 2009 and is perfectly located in Midtown Manhattan just steps from some of New York's best attractions including the Empire State Building, world-famous Macy's at Herald Square, Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping and Madison Square Garden/Penn Station. Located on West 35th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues, this ultra-modern hotel is close to many restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and New York City’s best shopping. The hotel is walking distance to all major subway lines and is convenient to Jacob Javits Convention Center, Port Authority Bus Terminal, Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.The hotel features 298 newly built, contemporary guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include The Great American Grill (located in the hotel lobby and open daily for breakfast), lobby lounge with flat-screen television, evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.