We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sub-Standard.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard High Line

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Standard High Line to your Saves list
The Standard High Line
848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly The Standard New York) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay "4" Longer
Ranked #250 of 459 Hotels in New York City
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sub-Standard.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

This hotel looked great on the surface, good location, great views and nice amenities but once you dive deeper you'll find the appeal is only skin deep.

A variety of issues meant our stay was cut short, we lost a night's sleep, a day out of our vacation and soon we were force to find a suitable hotel for the rest of our trip during a very booked week.

Poor craftsmanship and maintenance meant scalding water came out of the bathtub, hot water out of the shower caused the smoke alarm to activate (with a disheartening lack of response to the alarm or our safety from the front desk) and bathroom design that causes shower water to wet the entire floor making it very slippery.

Surprisingly for a newish hotel, the rugs were already filthy with stains, the weatherstripping around the wood wall feature was peeling off in the 3 rooms I was in, tiles were chipped and curtain rods broke... no insulation between rooms means you hear your neighbor moving their drapes. Hope you didn't bring a lot of clothes because there's virtually no closet space and about 3-4 hangers, make sure you get one at least with the four 8"x8" shelves.

WC has no storage, no lock and a huge gap in the hinge side... meaning make sure there's toilet paper in there first since housekeeping doesn't replace it, and expect no privacy since the design and construction telegraphs every sound.

Speaking of sound, don't stay on the "Superior" side if you want any rest, you'll be right above this gem of a noise maker called the "Brass Monkey" that's open till 4am. Yes that wonderful build quality I told you about before means you'll hear every hoot, holler and bass note that comes out of their outdoor section. You might get lucky with the noise in the "Deluxe" rooms further down on the other wing but don't bet on it, I could hear the racket from a 17th floor "Superior" room. Watch out for rooms near the elevator and ice machine, you'll hear them all night long as well.

They have a restaurant and a bar but I never got to try either, we got turned away because it was booked for a private event and filled with overspill respectively. Note to hotel, tell your guests when it's booked so they don't rely on coming back for a bite.

The staff tried to help but honestly, they don't have the tools to fix what's fundamentally wrong with this hotel. If you can deal with all of the headaches of this hotel, and there is A LOT OF THEM, about the only redeeming quality is the view.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    443
    213
    95
    94
See reviews for
68
691
148
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

It was impossible to get a good night sleep at the standard: early morning hammering and drilling and vacuuming in the hall at 7 am.... Construction work going on past mid night and resumes at 7 in the morning. Constant activity loud conversations by staff in hallway by the room door - at 8 am without any consideration for the guest.
Management seem to care less of the clients - of course, NYC law allows construction to begin at 7 am - at the expense of the guest's rest - just unacceptable.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

First impressions are good, the hotel is constructed on massive concrete stilts so it looks quite impressive. The bell boy was quick to get to us and take our bags, and walking in to reception you realise this hotel is brand new... cutting edge design and an uber cool feel to the whole place. The elevator has got to be the best elevator i have ever been in, cannot explain here, just go in it!
Got into the room and was impressed again with the design and layout, room size is not massive, however the bath certainly is! A glass wall which seperates the bathroom from the living room enables you to watch the flatscreen whilst soaking....
It was dark when we arrived and we were on the 14th so an impressive nightscape of New York and the Empire state building meant it just felt wrong to close the curtains.
Go downstairs and there is a very cool bar, full of smiley faces and generally very good atmosphere.
Would recommend to anyone visiting NY.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Was excited to be staying at this new hotel. The first impression of check in and bellman were good. Arrived at my room, took off my shoes and noticed the carpet was wet. I don't mean slightly damp, but wet. I called down to receiption and was told they were 100%. They offered to bring a fan to help dry it out. I was grossed out by having to walk on wet carpet. I couldn't wear socks as they got soaked. This definately put a damper on my stay.
There was no clock in the room, so had to utilize my cell phone to see the time.
There were several spots on the carpet which was surpising for a new hotel and especially since I thought they had just steamed the carpets.
Room service and food were very good.
Bellman throughout the stay were super friendly and helpful.
There was construction near my room. The noise wasn't too bad, but definately heard workers early in the morning.
Street noise was at a minimum.
Location was good and views (especially from the gym) were amazing.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iannicholson, Managing Director at The Standard High Line, responded to this review, October 12, 2009
Dear Xscape,
Thank you for your feedback on The Standard, New York. I want to apologize for having entered you into a room with wet carpeting. We have a regular program of steam-cleaning the carpets to ensure they are pristine and we unfortunately checked you in before the carpet had time to dry. Please accept our sincere apologies and we do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Best-
Ian Nicholson
Managing Director
The Standard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

The Standard was recommended to me by a friend before it even opened its front doors. I booked online- and got the most amazing rate. My first impression of the hotel was of the doorman who had a smile and a helping hand. The receptionist was efficient and helpful. And the rooms....were the best I have ever stayed in in the Big Apple- the view was typically New York. At night the hotel rocked with the hippest bar and restaurant in town, with that in mind- there was no disturbance in hte main hotel rooms at all.
All in all- the best experience in NY.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

Hip, classy, totally the place to stay in Manhattan right now. You will be greeted with unpretentious smiles and the best customer service (IMHO) anywhere in North America, right now. (BTW, The bellman are all handsome and have the best uniforms in the city)

The food is good and a surprising value, and is delivered to your room in actual food service time - as long as it takes to cook, not an hour after you dial. The elevator must be experienced and the guest rooms are cool, uniquely designed and of course feature floor to ceiling, exhibitionist-friendly windows that are the talk of the High Line visitors. Stay, even for one night and you simply must agree.

Loved the most? Everything. The least? Having to check out.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

The only good thing I can say about Standard are the visitors. I met many intersting people during my stay. But most of them were saying the same. The Standard is overrated: The price for assmall room is too high, the service is bad, the aircondiotion too loud and so on. I would recommend everyone to stay at a more etablished hotel like Bowery.(where people are also interesting people, but the service and the rooms are much better)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Standard High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard High Line

Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#157 Business Hotel in New York City
#196 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#252 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manhattan's thriving Meatpacking District, the latest in hotelier Andre Balazs' collection of Standard Hotels stands commandingly above The High Line, the former elevated railroad undergoing redevelopment as a public park. 338 guest rooms on 18 floors, The Standard, High Line boasts unparalleled views of the Hudson River and Lower Manhattan, full business amenities, extensive event space and a state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your The Standard High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard High Line, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.