We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun hotel experience in a central & hip location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard, High Line

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Standard, High Line to your Saves list
The Standard, High Line
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly The Standard New York) (West Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #268 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun hotel experience in a central & hip location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Based on location, hipness and fun criteria, this is probably one of the top hotels in NYC, deserving an "excellent" rating. Viewed from a quality of service and hotel amenities angle, then the hotel is just average for the price. Although this is not a family hotel, my wife and teenage kids thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The rooms are small but stylish/hip (may not be the most stylish of the hip hotels in town) but offer great views of NYC.

Some service issues: Our rooms were not ready when we checked in until 5pm (more than 90 minutes of wait) and room service was extremely slow (taking more than an hour). Offering the breakfast at no charge was a meagre consolation. On the other hand, the Top of the Standard is a great destination for high quality bites and drinks with a live jazz band and amazing views of NY skyline and sunset. The Standard Grill is a charming place for breakfast.

Overall a great choice for people who want to experience the buzz of this great city, less so for people who want to spend extended time in their hotel...

Room Tip: Avoid the top floors which are closer to the Top of the Standard and the nightclub Le Bain. Avoid th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, Managing Director at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your review! I am so pleased to hear you and your family had a pleasant stay with us. It sounds like you were able to enjoy the iconic New York City skyline views that are prominent in all of our guest rooms and in our lounge, The Top of the Standard. It truly can't be beat! We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    517
    249
    113
    112
See reviews for
86
802
165
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Location is so great - you can walk to a million different things! The rooms are cute - not huge - but have a full glass wall which helps in both night and day to make the room feel bigger. The area where the hotel falls down a bit is in the service. Whether asking for information or actually needing something you kind of feel like you are inconveniencing them.

Room Tip: Try to get a water view but even the city facing ones are not terrible - some look over a lot of con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, Managing Director at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear RJ
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback very seriously, specifically when it comes to our service. We pride ourselves on outstanding guest service and this attitude you reference is unacceptable and will certainly be discussed with the appropriate teams. Please reach out to Julie in our Executive Office (Jguerra@standardhotel.com) for your next stay and she will make sure you are well looked after. Thank you, again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

First the positive. Thought the staff couldn't have been nicer. They were friendly and extremely helpful. Location was awesome, right on the Highline, a few blocks from Chelsea Market, and some great shopping. The Biergarten was cute which was on street level . Could have used some German music to finish off the experience.

Now for the hotel. We got a deal on Jetsetter for an overnight for $375. To me if I'm spending that for a room I don't want my mattress on the floor . My poor husband has been in PT for three weeks with a bad back and had to sleep on a sofa/chair combination . I guess if you are under 45 it's ok but it wasn't the "standard," no pun intended, of what we are used to. The toilet was literally in a closet and it wasn't connected to the floor all that great. It shook when you sat on it. The floor to ceiling windows were very cool and loved the views from our corner room. The bathroom was all in one with an open shower, tub, and sink. Was cool looking but the floor would get soaked. The towels were yummy and soft.

Loved the bar on the eighth floor . Call ahead to reserve a table by the window.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, Managing Director at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear the design features in the guest room were not to your liking. We conduct regular maintenance on all of our guest rooms to ensure everything is secured properly and functioning well, and it appears this bathroom could use another check.
Thank you for acknowledging our staff, they work incredibly hard and I am so glad they were able to enhance your experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Standard, High Line again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 9 nights in October last year when we travelled to New York to elope. It's a cool hotel, but the service is awful. We found the staff had bad attitudes - on the night before we were being married in Central Park it rained heavily - so we were trying to make plans to marry upstairs in the hotel - no one returned our calls, or could help us - then we were told the manager wasn't there and we'd have to arrange in the morning - they'd call us first thing. No call. It was our wedding day and they couldn't have cared less.

One night we asked them to book us into a restaurant. They said they did - but gave us the wrong name of the restaurant. It was our wedding night!!!!!!

One redeeming feature - We stayed in the Liberty Suite for the 2 nights over our wedding which was stunning - with great spa in middle of room - and quite sizeable by New York standards.

My husband had stayed in the hotel a few times before. We won't be back.

Room Tip: Expect the rooms to be noisy - it's a New York hotel with a roof top bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, Managing Director at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
I am so sorry to hear about your experience last year. I’d like to introduce myself as the new Managing Director here at The Standard, High Line and let you know that guest service is of utmost importance to me. I believe that if you are willing to give us a second chance, you will see that we have made vast improvements in our level of service since your last visit. Please contact Julie in the Executive Office (Jguerra@standardhotel.com) to arrange your next stay and she will make sure you are well looked after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This place, bluntly, was very disappointing. There are lots of great design elements that should raise this hotel above chain hotels, but it falls way short on the basics. Somehow the designers of the hotel lost sight of the idea that the rooms have to work as living spaces and the owners of the hotel have lost sight of the idea that a luxury hotel needs to be in great condition.

The room was not in great condition. The adjustable height table was scratched, probably because people had dumped their suitcases there because there weren’t any other practical places to put suitcases. The otherwise comfortable king-size bed had threadbare sheets and a worn-out quilt, prompting a request for replacements. The shower head wasn’t properly attached to the wall and the toilet was reluctant to flush properly.

As a living space the hotel was works badly. It starts in the lifts where it’s so dark that every guest has to grovel around in front of the button panel to find their floor. In the room, the light switches were baffling – it took thirty minutes to find them and understand how they all worked. The light in the shower room was so dim that you could barely see what you were doing – you needed to open the louvres between the shower room and living area to let just enough light in, which isn’t good if you want privacy. There wasn’t sensible closet space to store clothes – it’s a curtained off space behind the wash basin. There were no practical places to hang a towel and no place for a bathmat other than on the carpet just behind the room’s door.

You also want to feel you’re welcome in a great hotel. Having to pay extra for a high-speed speed upgrade to the just-adequate Wi-Fi doesn’t say you’re welcome here. In the evening when the uber-fashionable nightclub on the rooftop takes over half of the hotel’s lifts and the hotel guests' lift lobby is reconfigured into a mirrored maze leading to an unfriendly, oversized bouncer who demands to see your room card before you can enter the lifts is even less welcoming.

For the premium price you get less than a premium experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, Managing Director at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
I am so sorry to hear about your poor experience here at The Standard, High Line. We do regular maintenance on all of our rooms to ensure everything is working properly, and it appears we dropped the ball on this one. Should you decide to give us a second chance, please reach out to Julie in the Executive Office (Jguerra@standardhotel.com) and she will make sure you are well taken care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Very cool boutique hotel unlike any Marriott you have ever stayed at. Young cool, model attractive staff is VERY pleasant and attentive. When you call for room service, luggage help etc. they will be there promptly. Was there for 2 nights on business and will always remember this property. I went for a very memorable run up the Hudson, to Battery Park and the Freedom Tower. About 5 or 6 total miles to & from The Standard.

The room had 1 wall of complete floor to ceiling glass with an amazing view of the Hudson. The showers and bathrooms are like no others and would be a great “relationship accelerator”….. I don’t want to spoil your surprise but you will love this place. The Sliders in the Boom Boom

Room with a truffle finish where the best I ever had.

Room cost & parking are what you would expect for the city but room service & Mini bar costs were very fair. Super cool, friendly, & great culture.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, Managing Director at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hi Jay,
Thank you so much for your great review! Sounds like you had a wonderful stay and were able to enjoy our views and location. Guest service is of utmost importance, so I especially love hearing your positive feedback about our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in March during our wedding. I wrote a review on another website in which I complained about a few things that just weren't right. We really wanted to like the place, but it just wasn't the experience we wanted or felt like we had paid for. Shortly thereafter, I was contacted by the manager who invited us back and offered a discount and an upgrade. We took him up on the offer during our next visit to NY, and this time, they got it right. We were put in a big, corner room with a gorgeous view of the Hudson and lower Manhattan. A bottle of prosecco was waiting for us in the room. We stayed for 5 days and didn't want to leave. This is a popular hotel, with lots of people coming and going, and I doubt they have any difficulty selling rooms. But they were willing to make an effort to win us back, and that impressed me.

Room Tip: It's pricey, but the corner king is worth it. Nice sized, comfortable room with a gorgeous view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin R, Managing Director at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hi there! Thank you for your review. I am so glad we were able to win you back after your not so perfect stay earlier this year. Our main focus is the guest experience, and generally we are able to rectify any issues that arise once we are aware of them. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#195 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,242 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#176 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#52 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#104 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#191 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#148 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, High Line

Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Business Hotel in New York City
#163 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#197 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, High Line 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manhattan's thriving Meatpacking District, the latest in hotelier Andre Balazs' collection of Standard Hotels stands commandingly above The High Line, the former elevated railroad undergoing redevelopment as a public park. 338 guest rooms on 18 floors, The Standard, High Line boasts unparalleled views of the Hudson River and Lower Manhattan, full business amenities, extensive event space and a state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Standard, High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard, High Line, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.