We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheeky Pre Christmas weekend away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard High Line

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Standard High Line to your Saves list
The Standard High Line
848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly The Standard New York) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay "4" Longer
Ranked #250 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cheeky Pre Christmas weekend away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We thought we'd try a different area of NYC, for our weekend break. The hotel itself is beautifully trendy. As we were there in December, they have an ice skating rink outside, a German style Bier Garden next door, and an amazing lounge and club upstairs. The lounge and club are very exclusive, so even as hotel guests we were unable to enter, as there was a private party going on. Check in was quite manic, a very busy area, and after a long haul flight not very welcoming, however during the course of the weekend we found the reception staff very helpful. A modern room with a great view over the Hudson, rain-style shower-head and all glass walls that gave a view of the bedroom, and the river beyond. Only problem the walls were thin. We ate at the grill room twice, the food and service was great, good wine selection, great steaks! Beautiful hotel, right on the Highline, we enjoyed walking there, despite the freezing cold. Close to Chelsea market, which was a delight for foodies like us. In fact the area had some great restaurants, and shops, and was convenient to access other NY neighbourhoods, we would definitely go back to this hotel and area.

Room Tip: Opt for river view, and pay for higher category room, and bring earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    443
    213
    95
    94
See reviews for
68
691
148
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed at this hotel right after New Years and it was great! The floor to ceiling windows and the view of the river was excellent. The tip I have is that to go to the club upstairs you have to exit the hotel and walk around the side to enter the club and make sure you stay on floors 10-14 otherwise you will hear the music from the club.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Everyone told me I had to stay at the Standard Highline, so I stayed.

The hotel itself is beautifully modern and très chic. For winter they have an ice skating rink outside, a German style Bier Garden (think mini-hofbrauhaus) next door, and an incredible lounge and club upstairs. These are all things I've experienced as a non-hotel guest.

As a hotel guest you get no real perks to any of the above (except free vouchers to the ice skating rink if you ask). The lounge and club are still very exclusive and I wouldn't be surprised if hotel guests found themselves unable to enter.

The room itself was straight out of the 1930s - 40s. A sleek old-world modern room that reminded me of the era of Raymond Loewy. The shower had a rain-style shower-head and all glass walls that gave a view of the bedroom. The room itself had fixed "window-walls" that gave a beautiful view of the city. All-in-all the modern style of the hotel and the "old world modern" style of the rooms didn't match.

When I went to use the bathroom in my room the light died immediately. To change the bulb required a screwdriver and I had checked in late. I was also woken up by the room below me, since the bed is next to the windows, which sound travels through quite well. This is most likely why the room came with earplugs.

All in all - Beautiful hotel and the all glass bathroom was an experience. I'll be back for the lounge, but at that price-point I'd most likely stay at a different location.

My recommendation: If you're looking to party and don't care about money than I'd highly recommend this hotel, but stay in one of the highest tier rooms. Also make sure to have non-sneaker dress shoes and pants other than jeans if you hope to enter the lounge.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

It was Valentine's Day, we were flying out from the west coast and were met head on by the east coast's polar vortex. We had flight delays, cancellations, and crazy weather. Despite everything that stood in our way, all stress and worry was shed the second we stepped into the Standard Hotel. Special mention must be made to Tim Markman - after years of travelling the world, I have never met such a fine concierge. The bellman were also deserving of mention - we want to thank Weezer for his kind smile and exceptional service. My girlfriend and I hope to see you all again soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Came to The Standard High Line for a late valentines day/Presidents' Day "staycation" and could not have been more pleased. Upon arrival we learned that we had been given an about magic upgrade to the next room category, which included a deep soaking tub for two (perfect for the romance factor for valentines day). The room was a beautiful south facing room (overlooking the Hudson and downtown manhattan). We had a small issue wight the television but a quick call to the front desk and the tv was up and running within 5 minutes. The lighting and decor are modern and sleek and offered the perfect backdrop to the floor to ceiling windows' view. Room service in the morning came a bit cold, however, the pancakes and French toast were delicious. All-in-all a great stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just loved The Standard during my recent visit to New York. Great service provided by frendly staff & innovative installations.
The top roof bar is amazing and provide great views of Manhatan and New Jersey as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stunning view! Downtown to the statue of liberty and Hudson river & on the other side, uptown towards the Empire State Building…just amazing. All the facilities and service were great. Location is perfect, near the meatpacking district and lots of restaurants in the area. Modern design & cool atmosphere. The Grill restaurant at the hotel is a great choice, cosy & charming with delicious menu. We had a great stay!

Room Tip: if possible choose a room with view at the Hudson river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Standard High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard High Line

Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Business Hotel in New York City
#195 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#252 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manhattan's thriving Meatpacking District, the latest in hotelier Andre Balazs' collection of Standard Hotels stands commandingly above The High Line, the former elevated railroad undergoing redevelopment as a public park. 338 guest rooms on 18 floors, The Standard, High Line boasts unparalleled views of the Hudson River and Lower Manhattan, full business amenities, extensive event space and a state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your The Standard High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard High Line, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.