We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views, a few extra touches would make it 5*” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard High Line

Save Saved
You added The Standard High Line to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Standard High Line
848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly The Standard New York) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay "4" Longer
Ranked #232 of 449 hotels in New York City
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing views, a few extra touches would make it 5*”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Having read a few reviews before my trip I had a good idea of what to expect from the Standard, High Line.

Major selling points for me were:
- Having emailed ahead to request a mid level floor (for a view without the club noise) and a 'tub with a view', when I arrived after a long and delayed Amtrak ride, I was greeted warmly by Irina who happily accommodated my request by allocating me a corner room on the 12th floor, with stunning views of both the Hudson River and the Empire State Building.
- The view was just as good from the shower and tub, and really is worth every penny.
- The hotel enjoys a great location above the Highline Park, a stones throw from Chelsea Market, well served by the A,C, E and L trains and a pleasant walk from Greenwich Village, SoHo, Tribeca and LES.
- There were always cabs available outside.
- The room is well stocked with essential toiletries, a varied minibar, radio, TV, good linens and bath robes.
- Complimentary Wifi throughout the hotel
- Everything was perfectly clean; the heating A/C is easy to use and despite the high floor you can open the windows (safely).
- On floor 12 I experienced no street noise and minimal noise (a very feint thump thump of bass) only on one evening.
- Room service was quick, friendly and efficient

Where I felt the hotel falls short is
- I wasn't surprised to hear that the rooftop bars were closed, which was a bit disappointing, but there's plenty else to do in the area; and the view is equally good from the room. (I'd expect a top class hotel to keep this space open to guests at all times)
- No complimentary bottled water - such a basic thing, which doesn't cost a lot but makes guests feel looked after (particularly for Brits who are used to tea and coffee making facilities in room)
- Speaking of which, a coffee maker/ Nespresso machine wouldn't go amiss
- No turn down service (far from essential, but does make you feel looked after on holiday)
- A moot point - but the TV was slightly mistuned and could have greatly benefitted from a listings function. Plus the selection of on demand movies was poor. I guess New York is entertainment enough though!

In summary - would I stay again? Absolutely yes - the Standard Highline is in a great location with unbeatable views, and nicely appointed rooms. As a 4* it is very cool and comfortable, so it's achieving what it sets out to do. I just think perhaps they are missing a trick, as with a few little extra touches it could be a really great guest experience. I'd love to see them take a leaf out of the Andaz's book and offer complimentary coffee and soft drinks in room, and a wine hour in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a mid-high level floor. Above 10 for a good view, but no higher than 15, to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    584
    381
    177
    78
    80
See reviews for
59
592
137
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Excellent concierge services, great hotel, very comfortable room, easy temperature control in room, super comfy bed and soft pillows, very cool vibe in the hotel and restaurants and love the The Line walk that goes through the Standard -just perfect! Gym is good too. And of course, the Boom Room is spectacular!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel, not because of the tiny rooms at $600 a night as there are far better rooms in NYC for that price, but for the cool top floor bar and roof top called 'le Bain'.

Le Bain is the main feature of the hotel, prominent on the website and all advertised heavily - it was closed for private functions, not for one night, but for the entire 7 night stay.

No one said anything at booking, checkin or during the stay. The management of the hotel could care less and offered nothing. Over half the amenity space (the principle attraction) of this hotel is closed to paying guests.

We are asking for a part refund and won't be returning.

Rude!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan A, Manager at The Standard High Line, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Greetings Nicholas,

Thank you for taking the time to send this review. Our venues at The Standard, High Line are in high demand during the Holiday Season with private events, many of which are booked on short notice. We always keep a few of our wonderful amenities available for hotel guests to enjoy including our Biergarten, Ice Skating Rink and The Standard Grill. I am very sorry that your trip was shortened due to Le Bain not being available. We take this feedback seriously and will work diligently to ensure guests are given advanced notice on venue closures.

Cheers
Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I live in New York and just wanted to get away for the weekend. Look up this hotel and was in the perfect location. However the best part was I didn't have to leave the hotel. All of the delicious food, night clubs and bars were all there in the hotel plaza. Even an ice skating rink. The staff were so accommodating anything we needed was received promptly. I would like to thank Paul Kashman for all the professionalism and his endearing personality. He made our stay that much better. Adam the concierge was also amazing. I would stay there any time I decide for a get away. Beautiful views of the Freedom tower, Empire State Building and East River. Rooms modern and spacious. This was an impeccable experiences.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The best part about staying at the Standard is the location. You're right next to the Highline, the Chelsea Market, great restaurants and within walking distance to Union Square, SOHO, Chelsea and many other great neighborhoods in New York. The biergarden is the other highlight - it's adjacent to the hotel and $12 will buy you a pint of beer and a pretzel (not bad for New York). There's a gym on the 17th floor, but only 2 of the treadmills were working. It's very clean and overlooks the Hudson.

The downside to the hotel is that the rooms are small and the hotel is loud (there's a club on the 18th floor and I could hear music in my room until 4am and I was on the 10th floor). Also, I stayed here with a friend and the bathroom offers little privacy. There's a glass wall between the shower and the bedroom area (the hotel will put a curtain up for you upon request); however, there's no door to the bathroom (only for the toilet). The other thing I noticed is that the tub was not super clean (there was a ring of dirt around the tub when showering) and the bathroom didn't have a fan.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We booked this hotel on a friend's recommendation for a five night stay in NYC. It is right on the edge of the peninsula, so has great (in fact, stunning) views over the Hudson in one direction and midtown Manhattan in the other.

We were on the 14th foor in a superior king room with direct views to the Empire State Building - it was a sight you would just not tire of seeing. The room was well configured to make use of the space, and had a separate seating area which was nice for a longer stay. There was not much in the way of storage space but this didn't bother us (we could hang up the odd item of clothing that really needed it; we tend not to fully unpack when we travel anyway). The bed was big and very confortable. The bathroom was also generous but I can imagine some people would be put off the glass wall between the bath/shower and bedroom which meant you could still enjoy the view whilst you were in the bathroom (the toilet itself was behind a door mind you - that might have been one step too far!).

The location of the hotel was great for us, a few blocks from 14th Street subway which gave us great (quick and easy) transport links but away from the main tourist areas which might have become overwhelming if you didn't have a hotel elsewhere to escape from it all. It is also on the edge of the Village which was my favourite area to just wander around - that felt like real New York to me.

The only downside we found was the fact that in the evening the lift (elevator) area is reconfigured to allow two of the four of the lifts to service the queue for the nightclub and bar at the top of the hotel, whilst the other two were left for hotel guests returning in the evening. The lifts themselves are quite large, so apart from the one night when the lifts appeared to stop recognising the guests' room keys to allow them to access the bedroom floors we did not have to queue. It was only that the reconfiguration was confusuing to guests who were not expecting it and every night there were, without fail, a handful of people who were trying to get to the bar / club through the hotel itself and being redirected to the queue outside and in the process clogging up the narrow corridor to the lifts.

This is though a minor point and I would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Lobby, lounge and club are fantastic to watch people, fashion is king in this upscale and trendy place, Definitely a pretty person place fashion is important for the right look here, although I found every other guest very friendly
I had room service breakfast with a NY strip steak and egg whites. My steak was marinated perfectly roasted potatoes were firm and seasoned quality the of food outstanding
My bed was awesome with a square very firm relaxing mattress
My room faced the empire state building with an amazing views from the 12th floor
Top-of-the-line hotel gym with new weights, machines, cardio equipment with stunning views from the workout room across the Hdson river to NJ and lower Manahttan
Very friendly professional staff
Amenities in the room were upscale, the bathroom was glass enclosed with a very deep soaking tub
The glass and the mirrors make the room a lot larger than it is in contribute to that hip chic boutique feel
Two things keep this from being a 5 star rating, first I could not get the TV to work. Secondly I found the elevators with smudges on shiney surfaces and not up to par with the rest of the property, and there were cleaning supplies left in the rest rooms by the gym

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Standard High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard High Line

Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#172 Business Hotel in New York City
#215 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manhattan's thriving Meatpacking District, the latest in hotelier Andre Balazs' collection of Standard Hotels stands commandingly above The High Line, the former elevated railroad undergoing redevelopment as a public park. 338 guest rooms on 18 floors, The Standard, High Line boasts unparalleled views of the Hudson River and Lower Manhattan, full business amenities, extensive event space and a state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter, Splendia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your The Standard High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard High Line, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.